We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cosiest heritage place in ooty”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Small, cosy and a typically heritage property. The staff was courteous and accommodating. We got our own private fireplace. Dinner in the drawing room next to the fireplace, it was awesome. The road to the place looks a bit gloomy, but when u get there its awe inspiring. The best view possible.
Most recommended and way better than its brother kings Cliff.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saurabhpach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 540 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had our honeymoon trip to ooty in Feb. Had a 3 days 3 night stay at the Sherlock Hotel in tiger hills. It was an amazing experience for me and my wife. The stay at the hotel was just superb. We had booked for delux room but for some reason we had to reschedule our trip and adjust the dates. Due to this we were told that we will get delux rooms for 2 days and will have to shift to the luxury room on the last day at an extra cost. But on reaching there they informed us that only semi-delux room was available on that day. But as this was a minor error on their part the manager Mr.Shiva assured that they would shift us to the delux room the next day and to the luxury room on the last at no extra cost. That was a very nice way of satisfying a customer.

The location of the hotel is the most amazing thing.Situated atop a hill, the view from the hotel is just Awesome. Rooms are very neat and with fire place in every room. Fortunately as we went in the peak winter time there was no extra cost for the logs.(Usually they charge for extra firewood) All the staff are extremely courteous and helpful..anytime of the night you call them for lighting the fire they willingly do it without any hesitation.

The Semi-delux and Delux rooms are very nice But the Luxury room is Amazing with large wooden floorings and a nice sit-out facing the garden in front....

Our sincere appreciation to Mr.Shiva the manager of this property.He was so helpful and also guides us to plan our trips. Also Mr.Peter, Mr.Vinod, and two other young fellows(dont remember their names) were exceptionally good in their service.We give a 100/100 for all the staff there for their service.

And the complimentary breakfast they arrange is also very good with a variety of choices. the food they serve is very tasty, thanks to the cooks.

We would definitely recommend this place to others because its worth every Rupee we spent, though the food is a bit costly. The only thing we found negative is that reaching the hotel from the town will be a bit difficult without a car or a cab.

Room Tip: the delux and semi-delux room opens directly into the dining area. OPt for the luxury ones You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drpjvarier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Pros

Beautiful location
Very good service
Good food

Cons
Transportation is a problem if u dont have a vehicle here.
Food is expensive
Everything is charged and no discount is given.

Overall, a good place to relax away from the city..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GauravDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

at the top of a small cliff overlooking the valleys, the evenings and morning spent sipping tea in their beautiful garden itself makes up for many things. I spent quite a few moments every day with my infant son showing him around the beau Victorian style garden. Evenings are meant for the great dinners that their cook creates. I tried 3 different dishes on 3 nights and each one turned out great. Likewise for the soups. Post dinner, we spent a nice time in our room in front of the fireplace. Their staff was kind enough to supply extra wood at NO cost. All in all, a must for someone looking to have a nice stay with a difference in their lodging and food.

Room Tip: rooms on the outer side offer a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShantanuJamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was one of the best places we've stayed in - quiet, beautiful and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and nice. The food was very good and we got what we wanted. The atmosphere was really pleasing and dinner was too good. And it was on our anniversary and we had a great experience there. Sherlock hotel is an awesome place to spend one's vacation with family and friend too. It's such a beautiful place and you can't just keep your hands off the camera once you reach there. Had a very great experience and hoping to have yet another soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eunbi0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel Sherlock is a Heritage Bungalow converted into a hotel located at 2.5 km from Ooty Town center, isolated from the hustle-bustle down hill. It has got nice ambeince from the lawn as it located on the hill top, one could enjoy the nature exremly from the Bangalow itself.

The good part of Shelaock Holmes is its heritage, royal ambeince, luxury etc....... Also the breakfast and food was amazing, more options & varities of food to suite individual tastes etc.
We enjoyed the stay over there and still we have it our sweet memories....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sai23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had one night stay in Shelock, Ooty on our return from the Nilgiris. It s quite a nice place away from the crowd and noise ooty has acquired now a days.
This is a old property on top of a hill converted into a hotel .
we had booked a luxury room which had a sit out with a lovely view of the Nilgiris.The rooms were good with a very nice fireplace which gave it a touch of old world charm. As it was very windy and raining in the night we had to keep the fireplace on throughout the night. The staff were very accommodating in fulfilling all our requirements like providing extra wood for the fireplace etc. The monsoon was starting and the view of mist covered picks were really breathtaking!!! The garden in the front is worth spending some time just for the views . We could have our tea/ coffee there. The food in the restaurant was good , we tried Indian and it was decent . The desert we ordered was not up to mark and could have been avoided.

Overall a nice place with a old world charm away from the crowded area.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms facing the garden, other rooms were opening to restaurant area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#13 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,045 reviews
2 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $52 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing