We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly not #1” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Certainly not #1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We are a family of four and we stayed here for 3 nights. We had great expectations since this hotel was ranked #1 on trip advisor and in that sense we were disappointed. Only 5 of the 9 rooms are designated "luxury" rooms and have a decent view, the rest open into the interior of the house and have no windows. So we stayed in the luxury room and it was small for all 4 of us. Even in the month of April, it can get chilly in the evening and the rooms had inadequate heating. There are fireplaces in the rooms but they don't provide adequate heating and when we asked for a heater, we were told it could not be provided. The food was good but expensive. The staff were warm and courteous but the same was not true for the front desk staff who could do with some more training. The place is quaint and is at a great location but certainly does not deserve the #1 ranking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    187
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
226
176
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Sherlock is a small hotel- more like a guest house. Nothing spectacular that should make it #1 on Tripadvisor. they have some 10 rooms. Only 4-5 have good sitouts that open in the garden. The rest are pretty pathetically placed- opening straight in the dining area. The garden is small- not like a sprawling lawn that it is made out to be. The staff it courteous and very very nice. The food is good too.

If you decide to stay here, but make sure you get the right room. Its is overpriced for what it offers though.

The fireplace in the rooms is quite novel though. However be careful since it smoked our room one night and we had a hard time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junior_rp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

we took 6 rooms in this colonial house a little away from Ooty. a splendid view of the landscape of the Blue hills, very scenic and a superb property.
The rooms were very well maintained but the only point was the windows had no grills or a net , so the same could not be opened to get/feel the fresh air. and to avoid the invasion of flies in the room.
the Indian food is par excellent and the staff very cooperative.
toilets are very well maintained and clean. Suggest the hotel guys to install a generator as there are power cuts during this month in OOty.
we were 24 of us including children and the kids and us made full use of the lavish lawn this property had.
we were joined by two more families who stayed in King Cliff.
the hotel need to equip them selves with extra beds and pillows which were in shortage inspite of us requesting earlier.

Room Tip: take the super luxury rooms the lawn facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GopalChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place is full of character, but is looking a bit tired now.
Sockets in the room didn't work, had to boil the kettle in the bathroom, only one hairdryer available from reception, but was being repaired when we wanted it.
Big old fashioned rooms with the whole emphasis on Sherlock Holmes.
Fireplace in every room, which can be lit nightly on request, but didn't throw out a lot of heat, which is needed at night as the temperature does drop at night.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful though, and the food at lunch and dinner was very good quality.

Room Tip: Ask for one that opens out onto the lawn. The others open into the dining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in Sherlock hotel for couple of days. I had done a fair bit of research before selecting this hotel and we both did not repent the decision we took.

We drove down from Bangalore and it took us around 6 hrs to reach Sherlock. The drive through the forest is something that we enjoyed a lot. Having taken the Masinagudi route, encountered the famous 36 hairpins. The drive through them was exciting and quite challenging.

We had booked a luxury room. The hotel is basically an old bungalow and has around 8 rooms. 4 luxury rooms are located outside the main building and opens up to the lawn. The other rooms are located in the main building.

PROS:
a. The food: Though expensive, one wont get better tasting food in Ooty. We tried out lunch outside once and were quite disappointed. Breakfast is included in the package and the range that they serve is very good
b. The staff: Anything that we requested was addressed in not more than 5 mins. Be it the extra firewood that we had request, or the geyser not working properly, there was someone who looked at the problem immediately.
c. The location: The hotel is located on top of a hill and it far away from the buzzing city. Even though it is hardly 4 kms from the Charring cross (Important Landmark) it is located far away from the honking and rattling of the city traffic.

CONS:
I would not like them to be termed as Cons, but points that the hotel management can think about to make the experience even better

a. The rooms are not insulated. When the firewood runs out, the rooms cool down dramatically (Thanks to the staff we had extra firewood). Since the windows are ventilated in the rest rooms, the cool breeze overnight make the rest rooms like a freezer in the morning. It would be great if the rest rooms are properly insulated (Atleast prevent the breeze from coming in)

b. Please pave the 200m approach road. When one takes the left turn and enters into the non-existent approach road, one wonders what is in store at the hotel. A good approach road and proper board highlighting the hotel's name would be of immense help


This is an excellent place to stay and we both enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this place anytime. Would definitely revisit this place

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Planet_trekker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Excellent expereince staying at this place....awesome view, cozy setting, away from city....and on top of it all, food is amazing!! stayed at this place 3 times by now and love to come back again and again!

Room Tip: stay at outside rooms which have the awesome valley view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anil2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Loved this place for the views and the peace and quiet. Delightful staff. Good varied menu. Breakfast was good one day and not so good the next! At dinner asked for lamb steak and got beef! Restaurant staff might need to improve their understanding of the menu.
Enjoyed wood fire in our little luxury bungalow. Main hotel - really nice with antique furniture and very much along the lines of the old hill station bungalows. Shiva (Manager) and his delightful assistant were absolutely excellent in making travel and other arrangements for us but we were disappointed not to get refund from Clear Trip over mix up on dates. Clear Trip promised refund if hotel confirmed in writing.............hasn't happened!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoaVicarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing