We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Ok” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
pune
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Rooms are not very impressive. Has asbestos sheet as roof.
Water was leaking in the bathroom at one small place.

Food: Breakfast spread was good. Quality was also good.
However, the food prices are very high.
150 Rs for plain rice is not reasonable for me.

Location: Hard to locate. Roads are narrower on the slopes.
They have not even put their Name-Board at the entrance !
You need to have your own cab. There is no way you can connect.

Service: Service is good. Prompt on room services and cleanliness.
They have a small collection of books and magazines too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raj04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    187
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
226
177
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Probably the best food you will find in that class. Very good staff and really friendly. Best suited for a lazy vacation. Ideal place to sit n relax, do nothing n njoi d nature while reading books. Rooms are clean and service is fast. Suggested to go for luxury rooms which are facing lawns. Rest of the delux rooms are inside the mansion. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msrichand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is a lovely place with excellent, friendly service and lovely rooms, in the beautiful hills above Ooty. Manager Shiva is most helpful and offers personal sunrise treks in the mountains. We stayed two nights in a "de luxe" room and the last night in a more spacious "luxury room" with its own porch. Both rooms were nicely decorated and well kept, with hot water in the bathroom (a must in Ooty). Unfortunately the house has no insulation so it gets freezing cold at night (in Jan/Feb at least), bring warm underwear! Every room has a fireplace which the staff kindly lights upon request, however the wood won't burn so the fire in our room died every time, even though the boys came back in to light it again.

The restaurant is good apart from the continental part of the breakfast which is rather boring (could do with better bread and jams). Go for the Indian stuff instead!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Let me first start from Traveling towards Sherlock and then proceeding with Sherlock
Reviews.

We family of 5 and 1 Infant were on Vacation and already visited Bangalore and Mysore and were heading towards Ooty which was out last destination to Relax. After having wonderful stay @ both places and pleased with my research and planning for the trip. I was having huge expectation from SHERLOCK too...I ZEROED down this property after having many reviews and research on other properties of Ooty. Intension was simple..should be Nice, Hygenic , Good Food and Parents should be HAPPY.

We enjoyed stay from Jan 31st - Feb 3rd 2012.

Reaching Hotel :

On Reaching Ooty main Charring Cross Signal, Driving directions provided by Mr. Rohit was perfect and no trouble in identifying route towards SHERLOCK.
Small Patch of Muddy road and Fork Turns to reach SHERLOCK can be bit of trouble for NOVICE Car Driver. While taking this turn you might feel were are you heading..as Roads are not good...But as soon as you reach the Entrance you will forget everything about trouble you / your driver had to reach here.

Natural Air, Scenic Beauty, Awesome weather to welcome you...and Offcourse Best people to give you WARM Welcome.

Con: Small patch of muddy road and sharp fork turn can lead to trouble.

Regarding Property :

Best of Best in Ooty, Nice maintained Lawn, Nice Cozy Rooms, Fireplace, Nice Dinning area and main factor 24x7 HOT WATER. Just wait for 2 Minutes and you get HOT Water.

Con : Electrical Socket Points , Door Handles need to be replaced / repaired @ least for 2 Luxury Rooms were we stayed

Regarding Staff :

This all people starting from Guard, Chef, Staff and Managers all are very down to earth and makes you feel as if you are @ home. Everyone with smiling and caring nature. No fake behavior.

I would like to give special THANKS to Mr. Rohit, Mr. Felix, Mr. Vinod and all the staff @ Sherlock who made my Parents and mainly my Infant very comfortable. I would really thanks to Manager who allowed us to cook for our infant which is very rare in any other property.

Special thanks for each and every staff of Sherlock who made me pleased with my decision of getting parents to your property.

Regarding FOOD :

Bit expensive but yes truly worth for your spend. You can surely try any Indian dishes @least in Dinner were both Food and Night Ambiance makes you special.

Breakfast : Complimentary and got gud options.

Con: If you reach by 3PM, Kitchen is closed so better you get something with you for LUNCH.

VIEW :

Awesome view from Lawn and best if you stay @ Luxury Rooms which has Direct view to Nature ..Nice Fireplace inside the room which makes you more cozy and comfortable in chilly weather.

Overall, I would recommend to visit this property if you really want to enjoy Nature, Food and Nice Stay.

Recommendation to Sherlock Team : Need improvement in following areas

Recommendation to Readers : Confirm your accommodation in LUXURY Rooms. You wont repent on my advise
1. Road towards Sherlock
2. Electrical points , Door Handles, Bulb Replacement -> Few maintenance check required.
3. WIFI - Hardly any range from inside the room

Best of Luck all of you and Thanks for making our Trip Memorable.

- Manish V

Room Tip: "Luxury Rooms facing lawns , will get gud scenic beauty" Also away from Dinning and Living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manish7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

A beautiful place unique place. The place is secluded and has well maintained lawns. Its beautiful at night, with the chilling weather and the city lights at a distance. The breakfast can be improved though. The service is good and the food tasty. Don't believe any stories about Sherlock actually having been stayed there.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is value fro money. Also the semi deluxe "Gloria Scott" is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murlidhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hi,

This beautiful and pristine Hotel is located on a hill top and must say what a place to be. The staff is very courteous and helpful. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The hotel has all the amenities you would need 24 hr hot water, clean bathrooms, elegantly made beds etc. The highlight of the room is the fireplace which gives it an exotic feel and ofcourse keeps you warm and cozy in the chilly nights of Ooty. The breakfast served in the morning is just amazing, you can enjoy every bite of it in the lush green lawn basking the warm winter sun.
Though I have seen most of the Ooty along with the nearby destinations Pykara, Coonor but I might as well go back to Ooty again just to spend a couple of nights at Sherlock.
Well done Sherlock!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prashant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Sherlock's End is an interesting place in a spectacular location. Having stayed earlier at Wallwood Gardens in Coonoor, Sherlock's End shows how to make an old colonial building into a warm welcoming place, something that Wallwood singularly failed to do.

The place is well set up, with some of the cabins offering a private porch with loungers to sit, read, enjoy the views. The staff light a fire in your room in the evening to ward off the cold. The rooms are clean and airy.

There are many good things here: an extensive mixed menu, a good breakfast selection, immaculately laid out lawns with great views. The staff are welcoming. There's a fire in the room to ward off the cold. There's (intermitent) wifi. Staff are welcoming and courteous. There's a great deal to like.

In terms of practicalities, the Hotel is a little way outside of Ooty - it will be an auto ride in and out of Ooty if you don't have your own transport.

I was unlucky, staying there when Cyclone Thane blew inland and spent 24 hours watching the wind batter the trees and listening to the rain pound down. visibility was zero and the prospects of enjoying the local walks negligible. This was not of course the hotels fault.

My other problem was the way that other guests were 'managed.' There was a large group travelling together with several children. This resulted in quite a degree of noise. Now some people have come here for time to enjoy peace and solitude. Others have come to have family time with children. The skilled hotel balances this tension, ensuring that families enjoy themselves as do people who want  a more restful time. Unfortunately, staff at Sherlock's End didn't manage this balancing act and so the Hotel was far from a quiet restful place.
If you stay here you will of course be lucky and have neither large groups nor cyclones to contend with. 

Room Tip: stay in one of the cabins, to avoid disruption as rooms in the main building open in to the lounge o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MollyZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing