We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Quality of Rooms”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor Quality of Rooms”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I went to Sherlock with high expectations after reading good reviews but the stay was dissapointing. There was no hot water on the first day due to some issue in the room and second day staff claimed that transformer burst so we ended up with no hot water in freezing weather. The room has no heater and though they provide fire wood it hardly burns and you would shiver in the room. The rooms are noisy as they open directly to the dining hall. Also, they don't let you know that tax is not included in thr oom rent so be ready to sheel out 600 odd per night extra then claimed room rent. Onlky positives were high qaulity food (though expensive) and the service attitude of Manager.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Srinivasa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    191
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
237
182
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Amazing location and view is world class. It is the most beautiful location i stayed ever in ooty and view is breathtaking.

Book the suite and you will have a private balcony facing the valley. Morning and evenings are most beautiful.

Service and food is amazing.

Room Tip: Take the Suite to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nilotpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We originally tried booking at King's Cliff, but didn't find 2 rooms for 3 nights at a stretch even in the middle of the week - so we settled for their sister property called Sherlock. Overall, we loved our stay at Sherlock, but didn't think rooms here were worth the same. Here's what worked best for us:
1. The staff - absolutely wonderful. Very warm and hospitable, provided personal attention (including having the restaurant open till after closing time to wait for us to arrive)
2. The gardens - a well manicured lawn, perfect for lazing around, reading a book, and whiling away a day with loved ones
3. The location - it is slightly off the way, but still not far from town; the view is not of the town but the valley on the other side, so it is a less cluttered view
4. The breakfast - excellent spread covering Continental, North Indian and South Indian - everything that we tasted was very good, freshly prepared and warm.

Overall, however, I would still prefer King's Cliff - which is simply classier. It is a much more authentic English bungalow with the right furniture, the food is as good, the view is less obstructed (and the shimmering lights make for a much nicer view at night). The furniture at Sherlock was a bit of a let down - the common drawing room was a mish-mash of Victorian furniture (badly restored - the settee was missing the central piece and was replaced with a locally carved wooden piece), Franco-Tamil (straight out of a Pondicherry antique shop or a Chettinad mansion); chairs were unmathced in the living as well as dining spaces; the breakfast counters were in a Spanish courtyard with a glass roof - which didn't go too well with the English bungalow; the Missionary-style bedroom furniture was much more basic than I had expected. King's Cliff has much better furnished rooms, much nicer sit-outs, and a very well-appointed lounge.

However much I loved the staff at Sherlock, I would still prefer King's Cliff any day.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms are larger, have a better fireplace, have a sit-out overlooking the lawn. The delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arigho57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We started little early around 5:00 in the morning. We generally prefer early morning drive because we enjoy watching the rising sun. We reached Ooty around 11:00 and checked in to Sherlock at 11:30 even though our check-in was supossed to be at 12:00. The employees were courteous enough to greet us, we just took 10 min to check-in. They served us break fast despite the counter being closed. The room was simply superb! There was a fire place in the room and free wood logs are given once everyday. The garden around the rooms were just mind blowing… The hotel is little away from the crowd, make sure you ask someone if you don’t know the route. Each room has different Sherlock Holmes theme and that’s unique about this place.

Sherlock takes the credit for our vacation to Ooty being wonderful.

Rooms can be rated 5 out of 5

Food was good and it can be rated 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SayShu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and me went to Ooty to celebrate our wedding Anniversary. There couldn't have been a better place to celebrate. The place had the most amazing view tucked away from the city. The hospitality was immpecable.,, rooms clean, food was amazing (totally worth the prize u pay). We have been on a couple of vacations before but nothing could beat this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divyanavaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The only reason going to ooty in December is to stay at either of the 3 properties of the little earth group. Obviously Sherlock stands out due to the lovely view of the hills, the greenery, the isolation and quiet and the food. Nothing disappoints especially if you stay in the luxury rooms. If you want to do absolutely nothing but enjoy a quiet holiday then this is the place. The whole theme is Sherlock holmes so that makes the place more interesting. Winter is the best time to go with the lovely Xmas decorations and the warm fire place. Having your own transport is an added advantage in accessing the place and the climb to the hotel is quite steep. If you don't have your own transport or you want to do sightseeing, the hotel is far off from the town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammukutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

date:23 jan 2010
realy it was my frst exp and it was very nice. me and my spouse,we r decided nd booked this resort. it was our first hooneymoon. stafs r too good and frndly nature. we r reached early at 5 am in ooty bus stop and it was so cold weather but they were picked up from bus stop. Sherlock is a very great place to stay, and lawn is amazing. we r stayed in deluxe room and room quality is very good.this resort is top of hill and sunrise is so beatuiful. food quality is very good and taste is awasme but little bit costly.lawn is very clean and nicely decorated........

Room Tip: deluxe rooms r very good but costly..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mounita-BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing