We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neatly maintained, moderate service.”
Review of The Golden Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Park
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Neatly maintained, moderate service.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is located in the lane where most of the hotels of Madurai are located. Its close to the temple (walkable). We went to the hotel directly without a reservation but the rooms were available. We were provided with just one towel though we checked in as a couple. Hot water was available in the morning, thankfully, we could refresh without any trouble. Drinking Water supplied in the room tasted stale, they might have changed at least a week before we checked it.

If its raining, then avoid this hotel because you will get your feet and clothes dirty due to water logging.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuruSudhirKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
12
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We found this hotel to be the best option in Madurai. We checked out all of them(we actually saw rooms in each hotel) and this was the best standard and price. The hotel was in a good location and easy to get to the main attractions. We ate at the restaurant(we were the only ones there) it had a great view but a somewhat limited menu as most of the items we asked for were not available. Breakfast was ok and did the job.
The staff and the service in the hotel was fabulous and we found everyone to be very friendly and helpful.
Our room was clean and toiletries,towels, toilet paper were supplied. The bathroom is quite small but perfectly functional. The room was spacious and the aircon worked well even when running off the generator. It does state on the website there is wifi in the rooms however you actually need to go down to the lobby to get it.
We also hired a taxi from the hotel which we though was reasonably priced but we were disappointed when he wanted money to pay for tolls when we were told this was all included. The taxi also did not have working seat belts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one day. This is one of the cheap but good hotel just located very near to Railway station and Bus stand. If you commute lot in Madurai and look for a good sleep at the night, i suggest this hotel. The food is not that great and there is not much to choose. But there is a hotel called "Kumar" for Non vegetraian and "Sabhari" for veg. They serve mouth watering food for your taste. I didn't try any north indain food but there are plenty to choose on the same road....

Room Tip: I took the room on the road side so that i can watch the fun on the road at madurai. Yes, it is amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmuthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

After looking at rooms in several hotels in Madurais hotel street I ended up here and was very happy. It is a modern hotel with nice, comfortable rooms including desk, chairs and table, tv , filtered water, big bathroom... Hot water only in the morning.The non-AC rooms are on the backside with views of the temple and are very quiet. A small breakfast (Indian style) was included. Service was good, a small problem with the water in my room was fixed immediately. The hotel has a relaxed roof top restaurant that is mainly used by hotel guests and is very cheap. The familiar atmosphere was pleasant. On a rainy afternoon this was the only roof top restaurant on West Periyar Street that stayed open. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. I paid 990 Rp. for a non-AC room including breakfast, most hotels in this category in Madurai charge at least double. Highly recommendable! It is across from Hotel Supreme.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalpakkam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room was neat and clean as were the toilets. As the room in which I stayed was on the opposite side of the road it was peaceful to have a good sleep. The rooms have centralised A/c with controls at the reception.With back up power supply available there was no interuption in the A/c. But the room lightings can be better. Hot water was available both in the evening and morning. The room service is costly, almost twice the outside rate. But as the hotel is situated nearby lot of good eateries one can opt to have food outside. But the complimentary breakfast spread at 7:30 a.m was really good with lot of varieties. Car parking is just a couple of shops away in an open area. For Rs 1800/- (including Breakfast and taxes) it was a good option.
Landmark: Just behind Hotel Supreme.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPRML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Only have very modest expectations, if u choose to stay in this hotel.

Positives - Location is a plus, as its located just adjacent to the Railway station on the busy W.Perumal Maistry street, and the Meenakshi temple is just a short walk away. Its got 24-hour power backup as well, and a 24-hour check in/check out option.

Negatives - Food quality is really pathetic. Some tems were under cooked. Would suggest to opt for the continental option(corn flakes/ toast and butter) in the breakfast spread rather than dip into the Idlis and dosas.

Given a choice i would keep this hotel as a alterative option only if i have to travel to madurai again.

Note - If u are using google maps to locate the place, kindly note that the hotel pointer is mistakenly shown in the adjacent street. Watch out for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veepy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

During checking charges and discounts was discussed and commited by the hotel and while checkout charged more than the commited.On questioning spoke in a rude language and tried to man handle.Unparlamentry language used ny the hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MVVS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#22 of 54 in Madurai
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#26 of 54 in Madurai
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Saratha Rajans
Hotel Saratha Rajans
#46 of 54 in Madurai
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rathna Residency Hotel
Rathna Residency Hotel
#35 of 54 in Madurai
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#34 of 54 in Madurai
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Park

Property: The Golden Park
Address: 28 West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Golden Park 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Park Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing