We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charged excess money than committed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golden Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Park
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charged excess money than committed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

charged excess money,AC not working,worst staff.bed bugs in the room.worst service...indecent deheviour.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ravilalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
12
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
StPetersbourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

+++
1. Nice looking rooms
2. Clean (even if they exagerate with insecticide)
3. 1 km from the Temple
- - -
1. You book at a price 1200 Rs, you are charged 1800 Rs (tariff changed, taxes changed etc)
2. Hot water 6-8 pm (best time to all other activities)
3. Noise outside (street, trains) and inside (TV-s, guest's picnics)
4. Stuff - not caring at all, bad (or selective) knowlege of English
5.No facilities in the room, even not toilet paper, 1 towel for double room

Bad value for money

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at this place after looking at a few other hotels in the tourist area. It is across the road from the Hotel Chentoor. Be warned if you use google maps to look up the address of this place it will come up in the wrong place, it shows it as east masi st, not west masi st. That's why we didn't see it till we stumbled on to it. That aside it is in the tourist area, not far from the train station. We arrived by bus so that is outside of town a couple of kms.

The rooms are basic but clean enough for India. They have the standard wet room bathroom (like most Indian hotels) with shower wetting everything but it's still fair size bathroom from memory. Our room was on the backside of the hotel, not the road side. It was very quiet, from our window we could see the temple. There was also a massive vacant lot behind the hotel so I think that helped by not blocking the view.

They have a nice rooftop restaurant with pretty tasty food and great view of the temples. The best part was a buffet breakfast is included in the price. We had only a fan (no AC) as it was storming at the time and cool enough with the window open during the day and fan at night. The hotel staff are very friendly, family run business I think. The room was very reasonable for Madurai with most hotels charging a hefty luxury tax. We payed 850rs/night.

I would definately recommend this hotel for Madurai.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from roadside so you can get temple view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We found that Tamil Nadu hotels generally seem to be a bit below par so we paid more than we usually would to stay here & had no regrets. It's in a good location & our room was very clean & comfortable. Comfy beds, lovely bathroom & great hot shower. The reception staff don't speak much English & we usually had to ask more than once each day before our room was cleaned but their English was a whole lot better than my Tamil & the room always got cleaned eventually. The rooftop restaurant's got a great view but it was always deserted so we never ate there. It was a good clean comfortable hotel & we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joebloggs12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trichur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

I had a good stay at this hotel. You will never regret the choice you made when you experience the service provided by this hotel. Breakfast provided by them was extremely good. Like many other hotels in the city, Golden Park also has a roof top restaurant. They serve food there in the evening. I think a hotel without a rooftop restaurant is not considered as a hotel in Madurai.. Every hotels I see in the road has one...

The attitude and the behavior of the boys in the hotel is extremely appreciable. I am happy with Golden Park..........

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ganrekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#23 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#7 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Northgate
Hotel Northgate
#14 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#34 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#24 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Park

Property: The Golden Park
Address: 28 West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Golden Park 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Park Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing