We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Price with Breakfast Included”
Review of The Golden Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madurai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Golden Park
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at this place after looking at a few other hotels in the tourist area. It is across the road from the Hotel Chentoor. Be warned if you use google maps to look up the address of this place it will come up in the wrong place, it shows it as east masi st, not west masi st. That's why we didn't see it till we stumbled on to it. That aside it is in the tourist area, not far from the train station. We arrived by bus so that is outside of town a couple of kms.

The rooms are basic but clean enough for India. They have the standard wet room bathroom (like most Indian hotels) with shower wetting everything but it's still fair size bathroom from memory. Our room was on the backside of the hotel, not the road side. It was very quiet, from our window we could see the temple. There was also a massive vacant lot behind the hotel so I think that helped by not blocking the view.

They have a nice rooftop restaurant with pretty tasty food and great view of the temples. The best part was a buffet breakfast is included in the price. We had only a fan (no AC) as it was storming at the time and cool enough with the window open during the day and fan at night. The hotel staff are very friendly, family run business I think. The room was very reasonable for Madurai with most hotels charging a hefty luxury tax. We payed 850rs/night.

I would definately recommend this hotel for Madurai.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from roadside so you can get temple view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

We found that Tamil Nadu hotels generally seem to be a bit below par so we paid more than we usually would to stay here & had no regrets. It's in a good location & our room was very clean & comfortable. Comfy beds, lovely bathroom & great hot shower. The reception staff don't speak much English & we usually had to ask more than once each day before our room was cleaned but their English was a whole lot better than my Tamil & the room always got cleaned eventually. The rooftop restaurant's got a great view but it was always deserted so we never ate there. It was a good clean comfortable hotel & we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joebloggs12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I had a good stay at this hotel. You will never regret the choice you made when you experience the service provided by this hotel. Breakfast provided by them was extremely good. Like many other hotels in the city, Golden Park also has a roof top restaurant. They serve food there in the evening. I think a hotel without a rooftop restaurant is not considered as a hotel in Madurai.. Every hotels I see in the road has one...

The attitude and the behavior of the boys in the hotel is extremely appreciable. I am happy with Golden Park..........

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ganrekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2015
Google Translation

Thank alineno
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 12, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudeTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank pestiole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zelthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#28 of 57 in Madurai
127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Saratha Rajans
Hotel Saratha Rajans
#47 of 57 in Madurai
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moskva Hotel
Moskva Hotel
#13 of 57 in Madurai
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sree Devi
Hotel Sree Devi
#22 of 57 in Madurai
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#40 of 57 in Madurai
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 57 in Madurai
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Park

Address: 28 West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $21 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Golden Park 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
The Golden Park Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing