We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy tourists”
Review of Madurai Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madurai Residency
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy tourists”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights at the Madurai Residency towards the end of November. The location was perfect, in walking distance to Sri Meenakshi Temple which we walked tobboth during the day and at night and we felt very comfortable at both times. We also visited the Gandhi museum, jumped in tuk tuk's and explored one of India's oldest cities and the train station was in walking distance. Our room was clean and comfortable with cable on our Sony flat screen. Wi if was in the lobby, but hey who needs it 24/7. Roof top restaurant had a great view, food was absolutely beautiful, the first night was a little slow and we pointed that out to the manager and on the second night was efficient and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Black outs do occur, usually for a few minutes but so what. Mosquitoes are around but guys use your repellant and stop complaining, this is India and for all the 1.2 billion people living here, they do a fantastic job and should be applauded.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    310
    176
    64
    52
See reviews for
293
180
44
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The reception area was ultra modern. We were deceived by that and decided to stay there during our short trip to Madurai. The rates are filthy expensive and only a very few rooms looked nice. Rest of the rooms looked very aged and clearly shows this is an old lodge or mansion, refurbished very minimally.

The closet flush button was very hard to used. Only a muscular person can press it had. None of the ladies and elderly gents in the family could make it work. I complained about it to housekeeping and they said it is easy to operate and there were no issues. We asked them to change room and they had the same flush mechanism in all the other rooms they showed us.

When we asked for extra bed, they just gave us a thin mattress. Pillow was nothing but a bedspread folded and stuffed into pillow cover. They could have atleast provided a proper pillow.

The aircon in one of the rooms we booked was not effective at all.

Don't be cheated by pictures posted on Internet and looks of reception area. Inspect the room thoroughly before deciding.

Buffet style breakfast was very good. No complaints about that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karthik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here one night in late November 2013. Our only reason for stopping in Madurai was to see the Temple. The room was lovely - clean and luxurious and the bathroom was good, with hot water. We paid about £20 for this place, Inc breakfast. No WiFi in the room, only in the lobby. There is also a fixed computer in the lobby, but there are lots of mozzies flying around. Breakfast was awful - in a dark room, buffet style. Either Indian or continental. Continental is stale cereal and cold toast. We used the travel desk, which was fairly helpful, although they try to push you into a taxi option, and probably cheaper in travel office across the road. We also tried dinner on the rooftop, but the services was v slow and the food unremarkable. Electricity went off regularly. Room service was poor though food was good. Overall, a good room, but the other hotel facilities not great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndseyCrook1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

They said that check in would be available 24 hours as well as check out. But the real thing is that they make you check out exactly 24 hours after your check in. So we had to check out at 5 am in the morning. Can you belive this?
Not any possibility to pay half day or ours or that they let you stay a couple of hours more. No. We have to wake upvery early just to check out.

The room was very old. No WIFI there. Just in the lobby.

I think they make a new web page before the had every thing that they say on it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank MavilaTrujillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I've already been to this hotel a few years back. It was among the best properties in Madurai at that time, Clean & Well maintained. But now, I guess they have contracted the Madurai Corporation to handle the house keeping. Very Dirty. Very Unprofessional Manager Operations & Manager EDP. I had booked the Royal Suite Room through Agoda & they were clueless about the booking. No pick & drop service as they don't have a travel desk. Their roof top restaurant is full of mosquitoes. This one ranks the best among the Worst hotels in Madurai.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank indianesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for 1 night as wanted to visit Meenakshi temple before carring on with my munnar holiday trip. Nice and clean room, good food and close to market as well as temple. Staff is very courteous, thank you for making my stay pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 797Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Yesterday i went to madurai residency to check in. I did booking through travelguru. Hotel guy asked me the marriage proof.I said right now I dont have marriage certificate or marriage photo with me.I tried to show him the voter cards of me and my wife.He is not accepting to check in. I tried to show him our Medical Insurance Cards provided by My office,in my wife card,it is mentioned as wife of me.They didnot accept that also. Third proof I wanted to show them is my family photo..they are saying then..they are no rooms available and asking me to talk to travelguru guys.I even asked them to give their mail id so that my brother can send marriage certificate or photo.But they are not giving that also. I even asked them to recharge my mobile battery and I can show them marriage certificate in my mobile. Even I asked them to give me access to internet and I can show the proof.They are saying then ..no rooms available...Room is already confirmed . I dont know they know the hotel rules..how can they say rooms not available for confirmed room..It is horrible experience in my life yesterday night..the time was around 9pm,when I entered that worst hotel...finally I came out of that hotel around 10:15 pm...almost more than 1hr, I requested..but no use....Dont go to this hotel...They are uneducated people at reception..They dont know how to talk to customers...rude behavior..Hotel managemte did not recruit professional guys..aAt reception the guy named MUNNESH is very rude...Hotem nanament should remove him and recruit professional guys..I think he doesnot know ABCDs of professionalism...rude customer service....

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank ysunreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.4 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#5 of 54 in Madurai
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#25 of 54 in Madurai
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madurai Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madurai Residency

Property: Madurai Residency
Address: 14 - 15 Madurai Residency S Marret Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Madurai Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MADURAI RESIDENCYHaving won the hearts of many Indian and International guests, The Madurai Residency has earned a reputation providing the finest Quality of Hospitality in this region. Established in 1997, The Madurai Residency (formerly known as Classic Residency) attracts regular business class customers, pilgrims to the Meenakshi Amman Temple and International Tourists. The property is owned and managed by Hotel Agasthiya P Ltd., Madurai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madurai Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madurai Residency Hotel Madurai
Residency Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing