We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVERAGE HOTEL NOT WORTH”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Madurai Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Madurai Residency
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AVERAGE HOTEL NOT WORTH”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

i really disappointed after check in room. i booked super classic room and the room was not of that quality. upholstery and room furniture is too old. staff talks rudely even for a simple question as they are doing job forcefully. painting work was going even at night in adjacent room and my room was full with bad intolerable smell .over all i don't want to write more but would not like to stay in this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Don't trust about the pics of rooms shown. they will show pics of top category room for all cate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashok_jainestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    303
    169
    64
    52
See reviews for
285
174
44
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The room was comfortable, with good A/C, an excellent bed and a decent bathroom. Grand hotel building, with a large, comfortable lobby, an A/C restaurant on the ground floor OK for lunch, and a rooftop restaurant perfect for dinner; food was quite good, and not expensive. Breakfast was rather limited on the Western side (toasts and omelet), but there were plenty of good South Indian dishes. Service was excellent, i.e. quick and friendly, from room cleaning, laundry and room service to travel (they arranged a car to Rameshwaram in next to no time, with an excellent driver). So overall I highly recommend this place; it provides great value for money.

Only drawbacks: (i) the free wifi is available only in the lobby, not in the rooms; (ii) more seriously, the windows provide little protection from street noise, while the hotel is situated close to a bus stand and a major crossing, not to mention the odd drums band or loudspeakers screaming out music until 11 pm... They are renovating some of the rooms: It would be great if they could change the windows! Meanwhile, bring earplugs, just in case.

Room Tip: Room tip: ask for a room on the upper floors (there are six). They are renovating some rooms which c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A reasonably clean hotel, 15mins walk from the Meenakshi temple. The rooms are comfortable and the rooftop restaurant (beer available) cool and good. We complained about drilling in the power-plant room next to our room (it went on all day) while one of us nursed a sick stomach. The management response was initially that there was no plant room near, and then, when this was disproved, that no drilling had taken place. We had the feeling that if we had booked with a large tour group the surly response would have been different. We got a 10% discount.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjerringbro, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Conveniently located a few hundred meters from the railway station and one km from the temple area. We needed a 2-bed room and could only get a small suite with a queen beed plus a narrow bed in a seperate room. This was OK, but the price of 3600 rupees was on the high side. Our first action was to flush around 15 stinking mothballs placed in drawers and garderobe, but the smell lingered on. The rooftop restaurant is great, but the prices very high. They backed out of the promised 10% discount, but let us wait in the lobby for our late evening train

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soren1572417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I recently stayed overnight here and found it a very clean and comfortable hotel. Our room was small but well appointed. We ate at the roof top restaurant which was very good the views added to our enjoyment. My only criticism was that when I tried to get some naan bread for lunch they wouldn't do it as there was a set buffet. But that's not a deal breaker. Overall I would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay. It is close to the station and attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheatbix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great location. Superb food n but management need to look into cleanliness of cups plate and cutlery set. Some of it very dirty n stained. Bed is clean n comfortable. Was not too please when was told hot water in shower only available in mornings. Would be good if they could extend wifi in rooms. Overal stay is good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Premyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is located near the temple, fairly clean.we paid for a standard Rs 1500 but probably cost around 2000. excellent breakfast one of the best I've found in South India. Reception is the poorer they are rude and do not care about the customer. but the strength of this hotel is the restaurant the best food I've found in 3 weeks between Kerala and Tamil nadu good service and dishes cooked with delight. compliments
Roberto

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robu6216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.4 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#7 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#23 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madurai Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madurai Residency

Property: Madurai Residency
Address: 14 - 15 Madurai Residency S Marret Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Madurai Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MADURAI RESIDENCYHaving won the hearts of many Indian and International guests, The Madurai Residency has earned a reputation providing the finest Quality of Hospitality in this region. Established in 1997, The Madurai Residency (formerly known as Classic Residency) attracts regular business class customers, pilgrims to the Meenakshi Amman Temple and International Tourists. The property is owned and managed by Hotel Agasthiya P Ltd., Madurai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Madurai Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madurai Residency Hotel Madurai
Residency Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing