We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comyf beds in Madurai...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Comyf beds in Madurai...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hotel is a good hotel choice in Madurai. As we arrived we were invited to participate in Pongal festivities/ displays, which was really nice. Rooms are very nice and clean, with kettle and complimentary tea/coffee.
We had the dinner buffet one night, which was good, and also the breakfast was good and varied.
There is a "business center" with 2 computers free of charge, but the WiFi was steep at 120 Rs for 1hr, or 400 Rs for 24hrs.
There is also a shopping center in about 5min walking distance (turn right and right, cross the road and then you see it).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Son_UK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice through Trip Advisor platform.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to exceed customer expectations.

In this instance, I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to you for the support and cooperation. We are glad to have such a reliable and reputable partners as you are.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your team again.

Warm Regards,


C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    151
    75
    24
    24
See reviews for
161
76
34
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have to stay being a club ITC member and regular at fortune hotels around the country this is probably my worst experience at any fortune property. The hotel is dated and food is not what you expect from fortune. It seems fortune is just running this hotel for namesake . They have taken over this old hotel from someone. However i dont think there are many options in Madurai

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBAK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice. I am indeed distressed to know of your recent experience at
Fortune Pandiyan Madurai.

While I regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may I assure you that this matter is receiving my urgent personal attention and that the same will not occur again. I would additionally request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services.

It would be greatful if you could advice us in specific where we should improve in terms of food and service so that we can demonstrate the improvement on your next visit to Fortune Pandiyan.

At Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, it is our constant endeavour to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.

Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Well, starting with the pros - the beds were lovely & comfy and the room was clean and had a bath, kettle etc.
We were in a front room which was very noisy, it had a kind of balcony but the door to it was locked - a good thing because the balcony was inches deep in pigeon crap which must have been piling up for years! Bad design had put a handy perch just above the window.
We had high hopes for this hotel as it looked quite 'posh' on arrival and we were treated to a Pongal display (it was mid-way through Pongal Festival). However the hotel really lost marks for it's staff, they were useless! At first we put it down to the Festival (rather like expecting good service in England on New Years Day when everyone's flakey) but seeing as there was no drinking allowed, they had no excuse!
Evening meal was a buffet only and despite having an a la carte menu, they would not serve us from it. We went back to the room to order food from the room service menu. 90% of the dishes on it 'were not available', even the ones we'd seen set out on the buffet downstairs! Our food (when it finally arrived) bared little resemblance to what we had ordered, but by then we didn't dare send it back in case we got nothing.
Breakfast - there were no clean tables ready and the staff were not attempting to tidy any up. We sat at a dirty one & cleaned it ourselves, no one came with any cutlery so I had to take serving spoons from the buffet to eat with. The 'hot' dishes were cold, the tea & coffee machine was dreadful.
I'm not a demanding person and by this time in our tour I was quite used to the slow service common to many Indian hotel restaurants, but here i was quite stunned at how bad the service was, it wasn't slow, it was like you didn't even exist!

Room Tip: Front rooms noisy with pigeon-poo covered balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Madam,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice. I am indeed distressed to know of your recent experience at
Fortune Pandiyan Madurai.

While I regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may I assure you that this matter is receiving my urgent personal attention and that the same will not occur again. I would additionally request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services.

Please note, during Pongal festival service of liquor is being pohibited in the city hence, we could not srve liquor.


At Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, it is our constant endeavour to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.

Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore india
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Very good property of itc with very good staff will apreciate their dinner and even breakfast too will suggest to take club rooms as they r newly renowated
Mr gopal from travel desk did a very good job for us will recommended everyone to take his services and a special thanx to the manager too

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice through Trip Advisor platform.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to exceed customer expectations.

In this instance, I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to you for the support and cooperation. We are glad to have such a reliable and reputable partners as you are.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your team again.

Warm Regards,


C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Been there last Christmas vacations with family. Booked through the agent at last moment and didn't expect that it would be so well located. Just a few km from the meenakshi temple. And day trip away from rameshwaram. Rooms were tidy and staff attended to promptly. The complimentary breakfast had plenty choice. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice through Trip Advisor platform.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to exceed customer expectations.

In this instance, I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to you for the support and cooperation. We are glad to have such a reliable and reputable partners as you are.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your team again.

Warm Regards,


C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Comfort and cleanniness are the hall mark of this hotel.
Rooms are simple but comfortable,toilets are spacious.Necessary amenities are provided.
Overall ,provides good value for money.
The atmosphere in lobby remais serene and most befitting to the temple town.

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice through Trip Advisor platform.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to exceed customer expectations.

In this instance, I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to you for the support and cooperation. We are glad to have such a reliable and reputable partners as you are.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your team again.

Warm Regards,


C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

the entrance is nicely made, the rooms are clean and nice. hot water heater, tea, coffee a minibar but no water with compliments. some english tv program are available free. the hotel is located in madurai city and it seems like a safe surrounding.

the restaurant serves good food as well.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sujith c, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice through Trip Advisor platform.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to exceed customer expectations.

In this instance, I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to you for the support and cooperation. We are glad to have such a reliable and reputable partners as you are.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your team again.

Warm Regards,


C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.5 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.7 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#6 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.3 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Pandiyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Pandiyan Hotel

Property: Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Address: Race Course, Madurai 625002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune Pandiyan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 57 spacious, well-appointed and beautifully furnished guest rooms comprising of 1 Presidential Suite, 2 Fortune Suites, 5 Fortune Exclusive Club Rooms, 26 Fortune Club Rooms and 11 Standard Rooms,12 Deluxe Room. Each room has been meticulously designed, with a careful blend of contemporary and traditional elements to provide elegant and premium accommodation for the guests. Multi Cuisine Restaurant- Orchid, having 64 covers seating capacity, Bar - The Ranch, with 32 seating capacity, One Bar-Be-Q restaurant by the pool side, serves ethnic Indian cuisine, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian, cooked on charcoal in a traditional way in the evenings. The Fortune Pandiyan Hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and events for 10 to 500 guests. The facilities include small to large function rooms and an outdoor lawn area that can accommodate up to 1500 guests for weddings and parties. The conference facilities are fully air-conditioned and equipped with all modern audio visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortune Pandiyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing