We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Chettinad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I must be pretty frank while reviewing a hotel. I put different yardsticks for judging different hotels. As our India is a country of diversity so one has to be clear what to expect other than good room,toilet and all other trappings which go with star hotels. So when i am in any hotel in South India then my focus becomes dosa,idly ,sambar with South Indian coffeee as breakfast and Chettinad chicken during dinner. I must admit that Pandiyan met my expectations to the T on may yardstick of food.
Though the first night i had dinner in Muruggan Idly but then last 2 days i decided against that and opted for hotel dinner. I found the people serving were taking personal care and when i bungled with one order particularly then the steward promptly helped to get yellow daal to go with the roti which we had ordered. My mistake that i did not ask the name.
All the staff from reception ,room service, housekeeping and finally the restaurant were very helpful. It was like home away from home.Could see many foreigners patronising this hotel
Will definitely stay again here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 562 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great property, wonderful rooms, great food...what more can one ask for...all in all, tremendous value for money! Given the fact that it is well within the city limits and close to the busy Matudhavani bus station is an added bonus....and you get to stay in a star hotel at the rates of a C-grade hotel that any Metro would offer today!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capri67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandiyan, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Sir,,

Greetings from Fortune Pandiyan Madurai !

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Madurai.

I am delighted to know of your recent experience at Fortune Pandiyan Madurai.

At Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

We value your feedback and do look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last week, i went to madurai and i stayed there for two days and the experience was very nice. This Hotel is situated in heart of the city, and the staffs was very courtageous. The resturant was also very good and the service was excellent. The access to meenakshi temple is also very easy from this place. I really enjoyed my trip and will recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nishant336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandiyan, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Sir,,

Greetings from Fortune Pandiyan Madurai !

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Madurai.

I am delighted to know of your recent experience at Fortune Pandiyan Madurai.

At Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

We value your feedback and do look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Being originally from this area, I know that Pandiyan hotel is the iconic hotel of Madurai. Even after 40 years it remains the Iconic hotel in the minds of Madurai citizens...but staying here will force you to think is the staus correct?
the positives about the hotel
1. Located in a uncongested area of madurai
2. If you are making short trips to nearby towns this hotel is well located
3.Amneties likeSwimming pool are well located
4. Enterance has Ganesh temple, ganesh statue at the lobby and Vaastu items at the Lobby
5. Clean rooms...amenties are refilled on daily basis
6.happy to see B/F served at 6.30 a.m as one group was checking out
The negatives about the hotel are
1. Very uncaring staff...As soon as I entered I saw the coffeee maker lid was broken. Complained to recetion, house keeping...every body promised immediate replacement. But till i left nothing happened
2.Check in procedure ... cold.
3.Hot water in the shower takes very long........real problem.
4.Mosquitoes at the lobby... very difficult to sit for 5 min.
5. Only one resturant...not at all good food....dinner buffet doesn't have south indian dishes
Over all it is difficult to see the iconic status continues for a longer time

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandiyan, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Sir,,

Greetings from Fortune Pandiyan Madurai !

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Madurai.

I am delighted to know of your recent experience at Fortune Pandiyan Madurai.

At Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

We value your feedback and do look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My last trip to Madurai I booked room for three days, first ambience are excellent and place is renovated but looks very new. People are also very good and helpfull. I had very nice stay. Rooms are maintained well. Value for t money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvelango79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandiyan, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Fortune Pandiyan Madurai !

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Madurai.

I am delighted to know of your recent experience at Fortune Pandiyan Madurai.

At Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

We value your feedback and do look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
Genaral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Supporting Experiences for Review title

1. Not located centrally to city / temple

2. Property is very old, i think morethan 15 years, and looks like more than 50 years due to improper maintainance.

3. only one restaurant operational and that too with improper service.

4. Not value for money, over priced.

5. You have better options like GRT regency (centre of city) or Gateway pasumali (heart of nature) than this hotel

6. front office staff are rude and not courteous

7. very slow life and with bad smell

8. they dont even recognise or allow atleast 2 hours delayed checkout for club itc members.

9. food is not at all of good quality and i ordered simple curd rice and that has all black grams (as per staff, spilled accidentally) and contains half boiled rice

i dont suggest this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raghav1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandiyan, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Sir,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback through Trip Advisor and thank you for bringing these points to my notice. I am indeed distressed to know of your recent experience at Fortune Pandiyan Madurai.

It was pleasure speaking to you early today and as discussed, we have conducted a point wise investigation based on your feedback and have initiated corrective actions to bring in the desired efficiency levels and ensure that there is no recurrence of the same.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to improve our services and exceed customer expectations.

While once again regretting on behalf of all at Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, for the inconvenience you have faced, may I request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services.

I do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when my colleagues and I can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.


Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It is situated in an important and very calm area. It is one of the leading and oldest star Hotels in Madurai. Their traditionally welcome is the hall mark of this Hotel. Since, it is construced a very long back, the rooms are very big and cleanly maintained in the olden culture method. It is well supported by foreigners ande leading business men for getting good accomadations. If anybody wants to stay in madurai, do try for this hotel and enjoy.

1  Thank ThangamRegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.5 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,341 reviews
3.7 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
4.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#5 of 54 in Madurai
349 reviews
2.7 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#7 of 54 in Madurai
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Pandiyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Pandiyan Hotel

Address: Race Course, Madurai 625002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $61 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune Pandiyan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 57 spacious, well-appointed and beautifully furnished guest rooms comprising of 1 Presidential Suite, 2 Fortune Suites, 5 Fortune Exclusive Club Rooms, 26 Fortune Club Rooms and 11 Standard Rooms,12 Deluxe Room. Each room has been meticulously designed, with a careful blend of contemporary and traditional elements to provide elegant and premium accommodation for the guests. Multi Cuisine Restaurant- Orchid, having 64 covers seating capacity, Bar - The Ranch, with 32 seating capacity, One Bar-Be-Q restaurant by the pool side, serves ethnic Indian cuisine, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian, cooked on charcoal in a traditional way in the evenings. The Fortune Pandiyan Hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and events for 10 to 500 guests. The facilities include small to large function rooms and an outdoor lawn area that can accommodate up to 1500 guests for weddings and parties. The conference facilities are fully air-conditioned and equipped with all modern audio visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortune Pandiyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing