We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A BAD BREAKFAST EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A BAD BREAKFAST EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Madurai, the overall hotel and rooms are OK, the reception service is poor and there are mosquitos and flies in every part of the hotel. The real problem is the restaurant. The breakfast room is pleasant and could be fantastic if it was ever cleaned, there are flies and mosquitos everywhere on the food, on the tables and lying dead on the floor by the fly killer machine. The food is absolutely disgusting - there are two fruit juices - one bright green, the other bright orange - they are from cartons and taste like chemicals - they made us ill. The coffee is in a very dirty brown jug that was once a glass jug, it is undrinkable.The food is equally low quality, there is stale sliced white bread, some cooked items and fruit which is covered in fles and only a few tiny scraps left on a plate. We witnessed the waiter come from the kitchen and scoop up some fragments of fruit from the counter with his hand and chuck them back on the plate, he was very embarassed when he realised we had seen him do this. The tables are all dirty, never wiped, none of the cups or plates are cleared away just left on the side encouraging more flies. the mats on the table have old food on them, the tables are never cleared, cleaned or made up for new guests. One waiter was stood hidden behind a column making mobile phone calls while we were there - they make no effort to clear or assist guests. We had no breakfast on both days and felt really sick. We complained to the food and beverage manager who said he would make some changes and improvements.

Room Tip: The club rooms are 'refurbished' and are quite good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    151
    75
    24
    24
See reviews for
161
76
34
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

indeed during this hour of power shortage , the hotel maintained very good power management and unintrupted power through Mega Power plants. Moreover whenever i n mi family approached the front office desk for assistance , they behaved nicely and cooperative.

Helpful?
1 Thank nirmala ben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed couple of nights at this hotel,It was an amazing experience , Staffs were very friendly ,, Food at the restaurant was delicious, We enquired about city local sight seeing the front office staffs immediately gave bunch of details.Hospitality with heritage

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times. This time though...the stay really "sucked"...for a weird reason. I heard a Hotel official asking an employee to switch off the AC in the restaurant to save electricity. All good...but when guests are around?? In a Fortune horel?? And then in the night...they switch off the AC!!! How weird can it get??? But the room tariff remains at Rs.4500 plus taxes. What got my gut was this supposedly austerity measures being done at the same tariffs. When I decided to walk out of the hotel...then everyone reacts and wants to set things right. I am the first one to admit it had always been a decent hotel...but off late...if travelling with family...I suggest you check others hotels too. This review comes from a person who has travelled extensively for 10 years...and this is the first hotel where they have started taxing guest by creating uncomfy situations in the name of saving electricity etc. Certainly not expexted from Fortune!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerManojM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

On a visit to Madurai Meenakshi temple we decided to stay at this hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent, being very close (3.3 km) to the temple. The front office staff though needs some training to improve the customer experience. Other staff, especially the room service was excellent. The rooms are well appointed and will make your stay comfortable, though for the price asked for one could have got a better hotel. Food was excellent and needs mention, overall experience was very good as there is room for improvement in all aspects.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeshchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The property is pretty old and under renovation now, the management is professional and the hotel standards are up to the mark. The swimming pool is nice and the service super good in madurai standards.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhupeshrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandiyan, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Fortune Pandiyan Madurai !!!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Madurai.

I am delighted to know of your recent experience at Fortune Pandiyan Madurai.

At Fortune Pandiyan , it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

We value your feedback and do look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,


C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel yesterday 28 th sep for one day room number 311
Terrible experiene .First renovation work is going on ,banging noise from 8AM to 8PM
second NO AC in the room ,from 11AM to 5PM due to central unit problem
I had to sweate it out aftr paying 4800 for a day .To get a Air cooler I made to wait for 2 hours
It did not end there I ordered DInner room service at 9PM it came after 10 PM after repeated calls.Room service is horrible
I donot understandhow anybody can stay without AC after paying so much
They could have got the portable AC ,anyway there are 15 or 20 guestes on that day
Very Bad managment Irresponsible people
please change the name to MISFORTUNE PANDIYAN HOTEL

Room Tip: Never ever stay in this hotel Pandiyan era is over
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suksal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandiyan, General Manager at Fortune Pandiyan Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Fortune Pandiyan Madurai !!!

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback through Trip Advisor and thank you for bringing these points to our notice. I am indeed distressed to know of your recent experience at Fortune Pandiyan Madurai. we have conducted a point wise investigation based on your feedback and have initiated corrective actions to bring in the desired efficiency levels and ensure that there is no recurrence of the same.

It is through valueable feedback like yours that we strive to improve our services and exceed customer expectations.

While I regret on behalf of all at Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, the inconvenience you have faced, may I request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services.

At Fortune Pandiyan Madurai, it is our constant endeavour to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

Please do give us an opportunity to welcome you back, when my colleagues and I can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.

Warm Regards,

C.Sujith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.5 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
1,246 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.7 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
190 reviews
2.3 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
706 reviews
1.9 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#6 of 55 in Madurai
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Pandiyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Pandiyan Hotel

Property: Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Address: Race Course, Madurai 625002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune Pandiyan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 57 spacious, well-appointed and beautifully furnished guest rooms comprising of 1 Presidential Suite, 2 Fortune Suites, 5 Fortune Exclusive Club Rooms, 26 Fortune Club Rooms and 11 Standard Rooms,12 Deluxe Room. Each room has been meticulously designed, with a careful blend of contemporary and traditional elements to provide elegant and premium accommodation for the guests. Multi Cuisine Restaurant- Orchid, having 64 covers seating capacity, Bar - The Ranch, with 32 seating capacity, One Bar-Be-Q restaurant by the pool side, serves ethnic Indian cuisine, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian, cooked on charcoal in a traditional way in the evenings. The Fortune Pandiyan Hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and events for 10 to 500 guests. The facilities include small to large function rooms and an outdoor lawn area that can accommodate up to 1500 guests for weddings and parties. The conference facilities are fully air-conditioned and equipped with all modern audio visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortune Pandiyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing