We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about renovations - could be excellent......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“shame about renovations - could be excellent......”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Have stayed here previously, and it was better than this time when renovations were going on.
Its an ok hotel, costly for India, reasonable restaurant with good food. Rip off sales of wi fi tickets (Rs.400 about £6 for 24 hours) that do not work and mucked my lap top up afterwards.
Good points - away from bustle of city - but there are better and cheaper hotels there.

Room Tip: ask to see before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveswitzerland0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    161
    76
    24
    27
See reviews for
170
79
37
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed here two nights as part of a small group tour. The hotel was fine - rooms slightly faded but everything worked OK. The rooms are currently being upgraded - the first one was used by one of our party - and they look very swish and stylish. A bit of traffic noise, but not too bad between 11pm and 6am. Getting an odd numbered room would put you overlooking the garden, which would be quieter. Fairly small swimming pool, but a pleasant area surrounding it for relaxing. Restaurant OK - a bit limited at breakfast, but excellent evening buffet.

Room Tip: Odd number to overlook garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on tour, so can’t comment on the price/value. The hotel is away from the center of town and set back from the road, which decreases the traffic noise, but that makes it unhandy for sightseeing. The room we had on the 2nd floor toward the rear was large, comfortable and quiet (except for remodeling noise during the day and early evening). Everything was in good repair. Nice flat-screen TV. The beds were very good, with duvets (which I hate, but that’s a personal preference). Safe in the room. There’s wi-fi available in the rooms, but the fee of Rs. 400 per day is rather steep. There are computers you can use in the business center for free. Food at breakfast was good, with a variety of Indian items, cereal, toast and prepared omelets. We had a room-service pizza for lunch that was good. However, for the two nights that we were at the hotel there was no hot water. The hot water would barely get lukewarm. This is a great hotel except for that, but a hotel of this caliber should be able to provide hot water 24/7, hence the low rating.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I booked this hotel for a day's stay in order to visit the Meenaxi Temple. The hotel is undergoing renovation and the work begins from 8.00am and ends at 8.00am. If you are in the hotel room during this time you will hear every nail being hammered in the wall, electric saw cutting the wood...the works. Arriving after a long drive, this comes as a rude shock. On requesting for a change of room at the reception, I was told by the desk officer that construction sound will come in all rooms and that I need to wait till 8.00pm for some much deserved silence. The restaurant staff are not trained and very clumsy. Lack of work ethic shows in the service and leaves you bitter and frustrated. Look for better options in Madurai, than this one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pushkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I have been to Madurai for one night stay. The hotel is quite old and we had a very bad service.
We booked for a triple room, when we checked-in there was no third bed, they promised to put it later (there was also the agency representative) but when we came back after dinner the room was not ready! We broke a glass by accident and we have been told we had to pay for it!
Next day we had to leave early at 6 am and they could not open the restaurant for a quick breakfast that was already paid. They have only prepared some packed breakfast (asked from the driver) and given a coffee while seated on the sofa at the reception.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BebeMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

rooms dirty, bed had hair on it, hotel rooms especially bathrooms need urgent attention - not good enough for price you pay and quality of rooms to match, houskeeping boys when they cleaned room you knew as they left an odour behind. Breakfast poor - quality of offerings and south indian coffee terrible

Room Tip: Don;t believe images you see on website
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyChin_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The place requires some serious revamp and good management. The rooms smell terrible- smelt worse after the housekeeping finished their rounds! The bed linen looks aged, the furniture old and the chairs stained. We had to ask for the linen on the bed to be changed as there were hairs all over. The bathroom is bad- no bath tub in one of the two rooms we booked. One room had a shower recess and had dark patches in the corner (uugh) and the other with the bathtub had cracked sealant all around the tub and the sink. The paint on the walls is cracked and peeling at places. The buffet breakfast was horrible- was really looking forward to some good south Indian breakfast and coffee but they can't even make a decent cup of coffee! The coffee is served in thermos and was revolting! Vada and paniyaram served as part of the buffet were dry, tough and inedible. V. poor value considering the brand - wasted money

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.5 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,328 reviews
3.7 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
4.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#5 of 54 in Madurai
335 reviews
2.7 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#7 of 54 in Madurai
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Pandiyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Pandiyan Hotel

Property: Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Address: Race Course, Madurai 625002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune Pandiyan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 57 spacious, well-appointed and beautifully furnished guest rooms comprising of 1 Presidential Suite, 2 Fortune Suites, 5 Fortune Exclusive Club Rooms, 26 Fortune Club Rooms and 11 Standard Rooms,12 Deluxe Room. Each room has been meticulously designed, with a careful blend of contemporary and traditional elements to provide elegant and premium accommodation for the guests. Multi Cuisine Restaurant- Orchid, having 64 covers seating capacity, Bar - The Ranch, with 32 seating capacity, One Bar-Be-Q restaurant by the pool side, serves ethnic Indian cuisine, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian, cooked on charcoal in a traditional way in the evenings. The Fortune Pandiyan Hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and events for 10 to 500 guests. The facilities include small to large function rooms and an outdoor lawn area that can accommodate up to 1500 guests for weddings and parties. The conference facilities are fully air-conditioned and equipped with all modern audio visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fortune Pandiyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing