We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too Noisy - Not a great place to stay - Very good breakfast though”
Review of Hotel Park Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Park Plaza
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Way too Noisy - Not a great place to stay - Very good breakfast though”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were passing by Madurai and spent a night here.

Despite having rooms on the 3rd floor, the street noise was disturbing. Due to the constant power outages, the generator noise was a bigger annoyance.

The breakfast was excellent though.

I would advise a place about 10-15 minutes away from the city centre.

Room Tip: Prefer a hotel away from the City Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopal-Venkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    80
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
55
29
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Very close to the famous Meenanakshi temple you´ll find this hotel.
The restaurant is really good.
The room and bathroom is okay, but never before and after in South India I had to sleep in such a noisy surrounding - day and night it was soooo loud!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibe_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We came to know about this hotel thru internet and decided to stay here during our madurai trip. It was close to Meenakshi temple and even the shopping place plus the hotel was superb..Cleanliness well maintained, rooms were neat and tidy, buffet dinner n breakfast at hotel plaza was delicious.place worth staying...hope to visit again...

Room Tip: Take the room facing the Meenakshi temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetoSeeplaces_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is ideal for business travellers. Great value for money. Breakfast and dinner were inclusive and the food was quite good! Lot of european tourists stay in this hotel. Neat tidy and no frill hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madras_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Came to know about this hotel through a friend. Hotel seemed to be old and waters were leaking out of the roof. Rooms & bathrooms also had old furniture & fixtures. Cleanliness was also average. so if you are expecting a modern look hotel with latest furnishings pls look for other options. For a tariff of approx 3k for double occupancy i was expecting a lot more than the hotel has to offer. so i was definitely disappointed. Service was ok. However it has a few positives and good things to offer also like, free pick up(only...no free drop), walking distance from railway station(not really from temple, if you do not believe that any distance can be walked), complementary breakfast and dinner in the in house ground floor restaurant which serves excellent & wide choice of food. Overall if i go back to Madurai will try some other option, there are many in the same streets, most of them were better looking and new ones.

Room Tip: Check for the water leaking roofs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajesh_kushyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed in this hotel along with my extended family for 2 days and to be really frank, it exceeded my expectations. I am not looking at it from a business trip and more of a comfortable pilgrimage trip (as I was traveling with elders), so from that point of view this was a very pleasant experience, which I was not expecting from a small town hotel. Although the locality where it is present may appear congested, but its very near to railway station and of course Meenakshi Temple. This made it an ideal hotel for such trips.
Food quality was good, and breakfast and dinner was complimentary. I would say breakfast was really good. Restaurant ambiance was very nice. Dint use much of room service though. But the rooms were neat & clean and properly arranged. Spacious bathroom was a very big plus point for me :) . Bed was cosy and comfortable.
Staff was very friendly and polite and always helped when we asked about something. This hotel also has a roof top restaurant and the view of the city and temple is really cool.
Overall a very good and satisfying experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SujitR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Room is clean and tidy. Furniture a bit old. You need to turn on the tap and wait for 10mins before the hot water comes. Food in the hotel is very good.

The hotel does not have internet connection at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.5 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#5 of 54 in Madurai
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#25 of 54 in Madurai
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Plaza

Property: Hotel Park Plaza
Address: 114'th West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Park Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Madurai
Madurai Park Plaza
Park Plaza Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing