We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money. ”
Review of Royal Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Court
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money. ”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

It's near railway station, may be for that reason they have kept the price so high. Not worth the money. Food is costly and spread limited. If you are a vegetarian, there are ample better and cheap option available near by. Room and bathroom are good in size and clean but with no view.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KKDaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROYALCOURT_TEAM, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Court, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at Hotel Royal Court.

It gives me great pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. Thank you also for your feedback with regards to a few minor issues that you faced in our Restaurant menu . This is feedback which I have shared with our team.

We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative, as this can only assist with our aims to provide an unsurpassed experience here at Hotel Royal Court. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Royal Court in the future.

Kind regards,
Bala.KN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    116
    58
    16
    22
See reviews for
101
53
27
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campanillas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

With the exception of the room attendant on the second floor, Selwar Muthi (I hope I have spelt it correctly!), the staff have not apparently learned to smile. Actually, a receptionist smiled at me on the third day! The restaurant is like the Curate's egg. The chandelier has as many defunct light bulbs in it as those incandescent. The maitre-ds are morose, and the commis are dressed in what are apparently football shirts. For two days the food was good (but only available in a buffet style), but on the third day it was luke-warm and dried out; at least on the vegetarian side. Having been told that I could sign the bill and have it added to the room account, on the last day of my stay I was chased into the lift by one of the morose managers who wanted to know if I could pay cash for my meal. This is the first time that I have been treated like this, and told him so in no uncertain terms. The account was added to my final bill! The roof terrace is dirty and unkempt, although the rest of the building is clean. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you do not want a room overlooking the railway station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadrePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramat hasharon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

It is the first time in my life that I write a "nasty" review.
The room was OK, sort of...
the balcony on the roof was so dirty, I went back down.
WIFI did not work at all. It seems that the front desk was used to that complaint. Immediately they gave me a new one that did not work either. Five times in a row.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanDollberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was my first visit to Madurai and the Royal Court hotel was an excellent introduction to the city. It is centrally located with very good food and a very courteous and helpful staff. It is well maintained. It is a bit noisy but this reflected its location on a busy city street. Departure from Madurai was easy since the hotel is located near to the train and bus stations. The fitness center was small but had sufficient equipment for my needs. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Might try for room that does not face West Veli Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROYALCOURT_TEAM, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Court, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your kind feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Royal Court, Madurai.

It was indeed our pleasure to see that our small Fitness center was sufficient for you needs and our location was high notes on your overall experience with us.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind regards,
Bala.KN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

this hotel is nice and has a great location. the best part of this hotel is they have 24 hours checkout if you check in by 8.00 pm you can check out by 8.00 pm next day.
the staffs are nice and polite and then food is also nice.near to railway and bus station .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ananjay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

It was very expensive and supposed to be a luxury hotel: well, the bathroom was bad smelling and the room was nothing special. Furthermore we had a negative experience with the Travel Desk: the responsible of the desk hasn't been clear about the rates of the journey and he tried to deceive us, forcing the driver to ask us for more money at the end of the trip. Unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is the first time we were staying in Royal Court and found it to be a fantastic experience (Dec 13-14). Led by the manager who helped us out when we were checking out the tariff, to the service staff who were courteous and helpful, the excellent maintenance of the well furnished rooms, it was a very satisfying experience. What stood out was the cleanliness at the property. Not to mention, was the proximity to the railway station, Meenakshi Amman Temple, and being at the heart of the town. We didn't try out the restaurant so can't speak for that. Our special thanks to the Sales Manager, sorry I am missing his name. Superb room, great staff and overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spy2k11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROYALCOURT_TEAM, Marketing Technologist at Royal Court, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Royal Court, we are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that the service was a highlight for you. We work very hard with all of the team to offer a warm, professional and courteous service whilst never being stuffy and unapproachable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Bala.KN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 54 in Madurai
195 reviews
2.0 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
179 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
2.1 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court

Property: Royal Court
Address: West Veli Street, Madurai 625001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description provided by Bala.KN Property : Location Located in Madurai, Royal Court is convenient to Meenakshi Amman Temple and Thirumalai Nayak Palace. This hotel is within close proximity of Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam.Rooms : Make yourself at home in one of the 69 air-conditioned rooms featuring 24hrs Room Service. Rooms have private balconies. Wireless Internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Conveniences include direct-dial phones, as well as safes and ceiling fans.Enjoy Dining At the end of the day a meal at a restaurant, or stay in and take advantage of the hotel's 24-hour room service.Business, Other Amenities Featured amenities include high-speed (wired) Internet access (surcharge), a business center, and audiovisual equipment, currency exchange and 24-hours Front Desk. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference/meeting rooms and banquet facilities. Self parking is available onsite. A roundtrip airport shuttle is provided for a surcharge (available on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing