We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip by Celebrity corporate club”
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Amazing trip arranged by Celebrity corporate club chennai.The specialty of Royal Court hotel is its location.It is near by Rly. Wow ! what a hotel. I was really stunned by the service provided by them.Thanks to Celebrity corporate club for suggesting me this Royal Court hotel.

Room Tip: Good Service for all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raghunadhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 393 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Price is high considering the amenities being provided. Location is excellent as it is very near to the Rly station and bus stand. Walkable distance to the Temple. The rooms are tidy. No LCD TV in the room, it is still old picture tube TV. Service is ok. Breakfast buffet is good.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JagsChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Planned to stay in Royal court for 4 days but checked out in a day. Frequent power shut down and the electric generator started few minutes later only. Since the hotel is owned by a Muslim man, many muslims were blocking the roads statrting from the hotel as they were housed in the reception area of the hotel..food and drinks were served to them. They were protesting against America for the film produced by US was insulting Islam. Hence I could not get in to the hotel easily.

Room was clean but food not enjoyable. Parking vehicle is another big problem. Not a good choice for family and pilgrims.

Room Tip: choose room facing road if you are not worried about vehicle movements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Omsanthi342000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A high end hotel that delivers at the price range. The service is very good as u would expect, spotless with excellent ac and big rooms. Breakfast and lunch buffet was good. The travel desk was friendly and useful and there is also free wifi in all the rooms. Overall a good luxurious choice

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baldeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We did not have a hotel reservation. Attracted by its brightly illuminated facade, we barged into this hotel. Later we found that they had perhaps balanced the power consumption by providing dim lighting in the rooms, which compounded by stale air laden with smell of food, gave a claustrophobic feeling. The food is spicy and tasty but it lacks Chettinad flavor; besides, its quality is suspect as some of us developed stomach problems. The TV has only a few non-Tamil channels. The hotel is overpriced for the kind of facilities it provides. On the positive side, the location is excellent as the hotel is close to the Temple and market.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhijit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel in Madurai on 28th august 2012 . It was excellent! The rooms were very good,the staff was very courteous and the breakfast was superb! The location too is very convienient. Highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasanti51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Recently I stayed in Hotel Royal Court, Madurai for a couple of days. When most of the Hotels were too busy to get accommodated, I managed to get an accommodation there which was my First Pleasant thing. The Hotel Reception was kind enough to receive me and I was ushered to my room, without waiting at all. The Food was quite good and the Lunch Buffet had enough of Non-Vegetarian dishes. The Room Tariff was quite economical for the price which we have paid.

The House-keeping was good and they have shown very good interest in cleaning the room. And the Room Service is also good and fast enough to bring my food.

The best thing I found in this room is that when you lift the intercom receiver, the volume of the Television goes to mute and reverts when you hang over the receiver down. The Wi-Fi is free and 2 MB speed is very good.

I took a driver and the Hotel allotted an Air-conditioned Driver room.

Overall, a Better Experience in Royal Court.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sajchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#3 of 54 in Madurai
1,449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
2.2 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#2 of 54 in Madurai
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#7 of 54 in Madurai
753 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Address: No 4 West Veli Street | opposite to Railway Station, Madurai 625001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $60 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Madurai, Royal Court is convenient to Meenakshi Amman Temple and Thirumalai Nayak Palace. This hotel is within close proximity of Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam. Rooms: Make yourself at home in one of the 69 air-conditioned rooms featuring 24 hr room service. Rooms have private balconies. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Conveniences include direct-dial phones, as well as safes and ceiling fans. Enjoy dining at the end of the day a meal at a restaurant, or stay in and take advantage of the hotel's 24-hour room service. Business, other amenities: featured amenities include high-speed (wired) Internet access (surcharge), a business center, and audiovisual equipment, currency exchange and 24-hour front desk. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference/meeting rooms and banquet facilities. Self parking is available onsite. A round trip airport shuttle is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing