We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and very bad”
Review of Hotel Chentoor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madurai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Chentoor
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed January 4, 2010

The so-called Deluxe room has nothing in common with luxury except its price. Indeed the room was dirty (walking without shoes in the room and you get your feet covered by black dirt, better not finding what it is exactly).
Then (but this is pretty usual in Tamil-Nadu), TV, AC and hot water were not working at all. So we've got the specialized staff come and go to our room to try to fix these (with the shoes please!). At last they explain that the hot water was only available between 4am to 7am which is very convenient.
Last but not least, we have no choice but to ask for a laundry there and despite the threefold price they request compared to usual guesthouse in India, we've got the pleasure to find a mark on every clothe done with an indelible felt-tip! Given that fact, I guess everyone understands it's meaningless to try to find a sense of basic service with this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chentoor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 92 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2009

We arrived in Madurai without a room reservation. We tried several hotels, some of which were fully booked, others were quite dirty with gloomy rooms. We finally found vacancies at Hotel Chentoor.

The first two rooms we looked at weren’t that clean. We finally settled on a room which had decent views (although not in the direction of the Sri Meenakshi Temple) and was acceptably clean although by no means spotless.

The room was comfortable enough and had a flat screen television. What we thought unacceptable for accommodation in this price range was the lack of 24 hour hot water, with hot water only being supplied in the morning. Also, the included breakfast was quite mean consisting of toast, juice and tea or coffee.

On a positive note we thought the waiting staff in the restaurant were quite friendly and so was the receptionist who signed us into the hotel. The hotel also has a tour agency and the driver we used for our onward journey was probably the safest we have used after 6 weeks of travel in India.

In summary, we think the hotel offers acceptable accommodation but that it is well over-priced when compared to other hotels elsewhere in India.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

A very bland hotel on a street of equally bland hotels. That said, the room was adequately clean. We stayed 1 night so it was very bearable. It's quiet for Madurai and within a reasonable distance of the Meenakshi temple.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zippylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

This hotel have some good and great staffes. I booked a Deluxe A/C room. The room and the toilets were clean and hygenic. But the room were i stayed was not spacious and it does not even have a shelf to hang my dresses. The food way satisfactory and overall my stay here was a good one.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank westbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Our room had been booked by a local friend but when we arrived after 24 hours of continuous travelling from the UK, they denied all knowledge of the booking. This later proved to be a lie.
Eventually, after 4 hours of waiting they provided a room.

We were due to return 10 days later and they promised that there was a firm booking for us but, when we arrived, they denied any reservation and we had to go and find another hotel.

They did not seem to care less and did not even apologise. Their attitude to customer care is simply appalling. Don't go there, if you can avoid it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2007

I had booked through Yatra.com and reached hotel around 7-8:00PM. I was told that they do not honor this booking since they had not received any intemation from Yatra!! It was a confirmed booking and I got a shock. I was with my family and the staff was so rude that they did not even felt like talking to us. Finally a locale person got involved and after many phone calls to "peoples" we were offered room which was horrible.

Later we found out that all the rooms are messy.

A very terrible experience.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.1 mi away
West Marret Hotel
West Marret Hotel
#21 of 54 in Madurai
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#46 of 54 in Madurai
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prem Nivas Hotel
Prem Nivas Hotel
#28 of 54 in Madurai
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Moskva Hotel
Moskva Hotel
#11 of 54 in Madurai
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
732 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Golden Park
The Golden Park
#44 of 54 in Madurai
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chentoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chentoor

Address: 106 West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $27 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Chentoor 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Chentoor Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing