We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For enjoying the splendor of temple city”
Review of Hotel Sangam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sangam
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Hotel has been on my travel plans for quite long time and this time also it never went bleow the standards which they are maintaining and as usual breakfast is superb.

Needs improvement in the Communication of their staff with guests as being a tamilian it works well for me but the same may not be the case for foreign tourists and non tamil speaking guests and it would be wonderful if Sangam has staff who know hindhi also to communicate and fluent english.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 158 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel has a very good ambience. Located in a scenic locality. The Breakfast spread is superb and it has a cool and calm atmosphere. The other restaruants also good. The Poolside is good. Closer to all amenites it is convenient to reach place. Staff members are obedient bu their internal communication should improve which will ultimately increase their services.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vairam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good place to stay ..
Very good ambiance..
Nice and big rooms...
clean toilets
good staffs.

Very poor dinner they provided..but they made the amendment with breakfast. It was nice.
dinner was only enjoyable for probably a few communities in India.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swarsenalx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at this hotel... Will remember the wonderful experience and ambience we had... Thx to the hotel staff who helped us in making our wedding a grand one...!!! Hotel tamilnadu is jus opposite to it which is very cheap for other guest to stay...!!! The hotel also has a very good lawn space too..!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nivasmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was on my Photography travel. I would say that my trip to Madurai would not have been as lovely as it was without the amazing staff at Sangam Hotel, that went above and beyond to help us and make us comfortable. The hotel was clean and welcoming, The breakfast was great, and the restaurant staff were great. The rooms were clean and stylish, comfortable beds. Above all though-it is the people that make this place worth the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aanavilasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We selected hotel Sangam based on tripadvisor reviews and were looking forward to our stay there. But we were in for a surprise.

The place was just terrible. The rooms and the hotel interiors are musty and ill- maintained and the staff is callous and unconcerned. The place gives you a feeling of a seedy lodge where people have no clue as to what customer service is all about. The property looks like it may have seen better days but is now definitely not very far from going to the dogs.

We were welcomed to our room with a dirty table and stained bedcovers. The hotel staff even tried to do a shoddy job of cleaning it up but failed miserably. Even after changing the room it was no better.

The mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Even the sheet covering the bed was too small to cover the bed entirely.

We thought the room would be the worst part of our stay. But we were to be proved wrong at breakfast. The breakfast was cold and bad tasting. I have never in my life tasted such pathetic food at a hotel. Not just was it bad tasting but I suspect they were trying to pass off stale dinner items for breakfast- bad tasting sambar, awful tasting chutneys and hard idlies. The continental fare - if you can even call it that, might as well have been from the local roadside bakery. To make it worse the staff wasn't even bothered to make your experience any better.

Overall, hotel Sangam gives you a poor 'lodge' experience at 'star hotel' prices. I wouldn't go near it with a barge pole!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thediscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SangamMadurai, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your valuable feedback on Trip advisor

A critical feedback such that has been received from you gives us useful insight in focusing on our deficiencies and chartering out a course in bringing up the desired improvements. I am grateful to you for having pointed out the above serious lapse in our service.

Kindly treat this incident as being solitary in nature. We hope that this does not deter you from using the services of Sangam Madurai in the future and we are sure that we can offer you a pleasant experience, which you would cherish forever.

We once again regret the inconvenience caused to you in this regard and assure you that steps have been taken to prevent recurrence of a similar incident in the future.

Thank you once again and look forward to your next visit with us

Rafiq Ahmed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had a quick one night stopover at the Ashok. While not a top end hotel, this was a solid, honest chain hotel with comfortable and clean rooms.

Four stars awarded in particular for the helpfulness of the staff, who went out of their way to make my stay hassle-free.

Probably worth exploring Madurai for evening meals, but the breakfast here was perfectly adequate.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.3 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#5 of 57 in Madurai
1,541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#1 of 57 in Madurai
648 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#28 of 57 in Madurai
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.8 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#7 of 57 in Madurai
762 reviews
1.3 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 57 in Madurai
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sangam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sangam

Address: | Alagarkoil Road, Madurai 625002, India (Formerly Madurai Ashok ITDC Hotel)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $56 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sangam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story hotel located near town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sangam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangam Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing