We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and recomending . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sangam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sangam
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Kerala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and recomending . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was with my friends for two nights stay in Madurai and we decided to stay in this hotel. It was my first visit to the place. The overall experience we had from the hotel was nice.

It is located very near to a shopping mall and about 3-4 km's away from the Meenakshi temple. It is on the way to Alagar Koil - about 17km's from the hotel. The property over all is very nice. Got a nice lobby, restaurant - they give good food. The service in restaurant was also nice.

The sleep quality was nice and we never felt exhausted after the sleep. We felt like during evening / night the house keeping guys and not responsive.

Over all it was a nice experience for us. The property can be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SangamMadurai, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your valuable feedback on Trip advisor

It was both our privilege and our pleasure to have you at our Sangam Hotel Madurai .We are happy to note that you were pleased with most of our services. We have also taken note of your suggestion on how to serve you better and we are confident of delivering the service standard that you are accustomed to.

We at Sangam Hotel Madurai sincerely look forward to your continuous patronage in the future and assure you of our best services always.

Rafiq Ahmed
General Manager
9585556435
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    60
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
46
40
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Spent one day in Madurai, well worth a visit. Sangam Hotel, satisfactory. Rooms clean and comfortable and good value for money, convenient to the city. Restaurant not great, service slow and staff didn't seem very enthusiastic, food not very interesting
Would recommend the hotel but not the food

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SangamMadurai, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your valuable feedback on Trip advisor

A critical feedback such that has been received from you gives us useful insight in focusing on our deficiencies and chartering out a course in bringing up the desired improvements. I am grateful to you for having pointed out the areas of concern.

Thank you once again and look forward to your next visit with us.

Rafiq Ahmed
General Manager
9585556435
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

On my visit to Meenakshi temple, i had to stay for a night and hence checked into this Hotel.
Okay for a short stay.Food in the restaurant was of great taste but had to wait for a long time, when ordered, in the room.
Room view was not that spectacular as it faced the road traffic.
All in all, a okay hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manish_s31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SangamMadurai, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your valuable feedback on Trip advisor.

The feedback has been shared with the team members and assure you that we will take all necessary measures to improvise on the areas of concern as highlighted by you. I really thank you for bringing this to our notice and welcome your feedback. This will help us in enhancing our service levels and exceeding our guests expectations .

Thank you once again and look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards

Austin Shu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Neat and tasty.I visited for a get together party.The staff are courteous and offered helping hand.The rooms are clean and spacious.The manner of reception as soon as we enter the hotel exhibits excellent hospitality culture of traditional sangam Madurai.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundar1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SangamMadurai, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mr Sundar

Thank you for staying with us and it was indeed our pleasure to have been of service to you. We sincerely appreciate you taking time to post a very positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that you found our room, services, food and all the facilities excellent.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Austin Shu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for a day,This hotel is next to Fortune Pandiyan.
The hotel is really nice, clean and well maintained, rooms are spacious and I like the Bathroom glass panels. Bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was good with selected items.
Room service was bit slow and had to wait for dinner.
Wifi dose not seem to be work good for me and staff did not seem to help much.
Except the non friendly behavior of front desk staff in the hotel and also I was charged for the cost of a bed spread (front desk staff said I stained the bed spread) up to me that was unacceptable and these are some cheap money made by hotel.
Overall compare to Pandiyan hotel, Sangam Hotel property is new but Staff needs more training on customer services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooldude100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SangamMadurai, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us. We also noted the area of concern, will take necessary steps to improve in all aspects.

We hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to Madurai again.

Best Regards

Austin Shu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a good hotel for a short stay. We stayed for one night and we had no issues to speak of. Room was clean and as expected. The door to the shower is not configured properly and water flows out of the bath area. I highly recommend they instal grab bars in the shower area as a much needed safety measure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atharvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SangamMadurai, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for your valuable feed back. We have repaired the door to the shower and assure you that we will look into the grab bars in the shower area at the earliest.

We look forward to your next visit & assure you of our best services at all times.

Warm Regards

Austin Shu,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Rooms are spacious, neat and well equipped.
With this everything is actualy said...
Breakfast buffet is not really tasty
swimming pool area is not really inviting
Staff is not really helpfull
So I suppose I have not really any intention to go back to this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G2_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SangamMadurai, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We assure you we will look into the buffet breakfast immediately and also speak to the concerned staff who were not helpful to you. The swimming pool will be taken for renovation shortly.

We look forward to having you with us once again on your next visit to Madurai.

Warm regards
Austin Shu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.3 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
2.2 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.3 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#6 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.2 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sangam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sangam

Property: Hotel Sangam
Address: | Alagarkoil Road, Madurai 625002, India (Formerly Madurai Ashok ITDC Hotel)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sangam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story hotel located near town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sangam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangam Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing