We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with family”
Review of Hotel Sangam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sangam
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here for four nights in August with my family, occupying two adjacent rooms with an interconnecting door. We are frequent travellers to India as well as many other places in the world. The comments below reflect our experience in relation to similar establishments we have stayed in elsewhere.

The hotel is located a few kms away from the bustling Madurai city centre, but in a convenient and pleasant area near several other large hotels. We had no problem in finding transport to/from the airport, or from the hotel to other areas.

Our rooms were spacious and clean. They were serviced well during our stay. The air conditioning was effective, and could be adequately controlled. We did have a few minor niggles (for example, one of the lighting switches did not work as it was supposed to) but these were quickly sorted out by the helpful reception staff.

The public areas of the hotel were tidy and well-kept. There is a small garden, and a swimming pool, both of which were easy and pleasant to use.

We regularly had breakfast in the hotel. The breakfast menu is truly excellent. Besides the wide-ranging buffet, we were invited to order south Indian specialties like dosas or pooris, as well as omelettes made to order. The quality was outstanding, as good as we have tasted anywhere in India. The restaurant manager Abu and his staff were consistently helpful without being intrusive. A big plus!

The Aathangudi restaurant was not open during our visit, but we heard very good things about it from others who had eaten there. These opinions were consistent with our experience in the breakfast restaurant.

The hotel staff were uniformly pleasant and tried their best to be helpful. As noted earlier, Abu and his restaurant staff were very very good. However, some of the bell staff were not as well trained as they might have been.

In summary - I think the Sangam represents an excellent choice for a 4* hotel in a city like Madurai (which is far less cosmopolitan or Westernized than larger cities like Bangalore or Chennai). Several aspects of this hotel are at least comparable with the best elsewhere in India, although it lacks the sophistication and some of the comforts you would find in the major hotels in big cities. The Sangam is far cheaper than those options, however, and so the price we paid per room represents excellent value in my opinion for what we experienced.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AVen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SangamMadurai, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Good morning sir,
At the outset let me apologize for the delay in replying to your review as i was out of town.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you or your friends with us in the near future. We have started training classes for our staff and assure you on your next visit you would notice the difference.

warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Madurai and i have to say this is one of the best. Please do not go by the pictures on their website as the rooms (or aat least the room i stayed in - 301) are renovated. The rooms are modern and functional. I liked the lighting controle console thing on the bed side which lets you control the lighting of the entire room from your bed side.

The food was very nice. I ordered room service and they were quick. Dont make the mistake of over ordering (i did) as the portions are big.

I do recommend keeping the curtains open as the room gets very dark and you dont realize when the sun actually comes up - or goes down for that matter.

The staff is good but do not understad english as well as some of the other hotels ive stayed at.

what i appreciated most about this hotel was its clean and tidy rooms. Even the bathroom had glass doors instead of those horrible shower curtains. For me the cleanliness of the bathroom is a priority and Sangam has maintained good standards.

Cons.
There was no star world on the TV. Not really an issue but there were really no other bad points of the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sahilaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Madurai was wonderful and I really enjoyed it. I have stayed in several ITDC hotels and have found them to be good value, though perhaps a little tired in appearance. The room was smallish, but adequate and clean. As usual in indian hotels, the staff could not be helpful enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve22England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed there Two night. It is really 4 star hotel with good service and friendly staff. spacious rooms and pleasant staff in the entire Team. W eliked the room a lot. All the amenities kept were very good. Overall it is great place

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodricksplatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

What saddened that inspite of reminding rooms not cleaned and beds not made on last day. Drinking water not provided on 2 days. However spacious rooms and very pleasant staff in the restaurant. AC perfect and toilets were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The Sangam is situated away from the centre of Madurai but was a good place to return to after a day of hot sightseeing.The rooms were clean and well appointed the food was good and the staff were friendly,and the pool area was nice to relax by.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank malcno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The hotel is part of the network - Sangam hotels are also Trichy and Thanjavur. We stayed there one night. It is really 4 star hotel with good service and friendly staff. General manager Mr. Askar was particularly helpful - he has given us several hours stay in hotel free of charge so that we could have some rest before further trip. He also arranged hotel car to Madurai (Toyota Innova) for the reasonable price.
Restaurant is quite good and prices are reasonable. Hotel has a pool.
This hotel is probably best choice to visit Madurai.

Room Tip: Try to ask rooms above ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.3 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#4 of 58 in Madurai
1,620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#1 of 58 in Madurai
670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 58 in Madurai
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
2.2 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 58 in Madurai
249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#27 of 58 in Madurai
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sangam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sangam

Address: | Alagarkoil Road, Madurai 625002, India (Formerly Madurai Ashok ITDC Hotel)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $56 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sangam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story hotel located near town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sangam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangam Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing