We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent in it's range ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kathir Palace
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent in it's range ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff were helpful. Walking distance to meenakshi amman temple. Room was ok. Free wifi was good. Bathroom was clean. Didn't have breakfast as we had to leave early. 8am is late for breakfast. Locality is not that great.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RealBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    43
    14
    15
See reviews for
59
21
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Kathir Palace done everything we needed. Room was clean enough, shower half decent, TV and wifi in reception (but not in room). Checked in 6 hours early and didnt get charged. Bar next door is handy but really cold!!!! Very good location, about 150m from west gate of the temple. Stay here if only in Madurai for a night!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I had been to Madurai recently. I booked this hotel based on the ratings available in Trip advisors.

The hotel stood up to my expectations very well behaved staff plus very well located. Walkable distance from Meenakshi temple. They do not have restaurant but they have arranged for breakfast from a canteen which had awesome food but the canteen was pretty small which can accomodate 25 people only. But south indian food lovers would appreciate the food very much. We were 15 of them when we went for breakfast it was jam packed but the food was good.

About the hotel the rooms were clean, but the AC functioning was having issues however we were provided with alternate rooms but i still feel AC effect could have been better.

The hotel is closely located to railway station as well as meenakshi temple.

Room Tip: I do not have much idea on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arpith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I had booked this hotel for a day just to fresh n up & visit Meenakshi temple. As per booking breakfast was complementary, however hotel has no kitchen, when asked reception informed that kitchen is under renovation. Response was more to manage customers. Was offered Rs 100/- towards breakfast which i have refused & had to inform them to arrange breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Pavan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Hotel staff is not proactive. Room is not cleaned during my stay. Bathroom experience is horrible. Restaurant is not operational, however they have arranged my breakfast from outside. I was aksed to pay for the tea, however after arguing about the package, they made it complementary. The A/C is not sufficient as only one ton and leaking very badly. No action was taken after informing the reception. Managed to stay for two days with bot A/C & fan as heat is terrible. Totally a bad experience and I do not want to recommend this hotel for lesiure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Purna Chandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is location- close to temples and walkable distance from railway station and you can pay by card.
The staff is not reliable at all- we booked a taxi to the airport for early morning- we confirmed twice if it is booked and in the morning, taxi was not there and we had to wait 30 minutes. You can get cheaper hotel in the same location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you are at madurai for visiting Meenakshi temple as a tourist and an one nighter, viable choice as it and surrounding market is at stone throw distance. Rooms and toilets of standard room category are very small!get up is awkward - Plumbing lines and electrical cables are visible inside the room! Wash basin is inside the room cupboard, seepage all over the walls! Furnitures, fixtures and fittings require renovation. Cleanliness and hygiene is below par. Restaurant is under shutdown and for plan meals you have to walk to a nearby south Indian eatery to whom the plan meals or even room service food orders are outsourced! One thing is appreciable - very hospitable and helpful staffs! Beside location that is the only plus point!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAURABH_PAL_MAPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#23 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#49 of 55 in Madurai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#24 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#7 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sree Devi
Hotel Sree Devi
#18 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kathir Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kathir Palace

Property: Hotel Kathir Palace
Address: 14 Hotel Kathir Palace Dhanappa Mudlai Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kathir Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathir Palace, Madurai is a great budget option in the temple city. Offering uncompromising comfort and convenience, this hotel ensures that guests stay is hassle-free and pleasurable. Perfectly located close to the iconic Meenakshi Temple and railway station, this hotel is an ideal option for frequent travellers and pilgrims.Location: Kathir Palace is situated on Dhanappa Mudali Street. Places close to the hotel are Meenakshi Amman Temple (Approx. 0.5km) and Mariamman Temple (Approx. 4km). The beautiful Meenakshi Temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and is an example of exemplary craftsmanship. This temple is thronged by many devotees during the annual festival in April-May. Other interesting places worth visiting are Alagar Kovil, Thenkarai Pond and Vandiyur Lake.Distance from Madurai International Airport: Approx. 12km Distance from Madurai Junction: Approx. 2kmHotel Features: Guests are offered convenience with room service, front desk, daily housekeeping, travel desk and 24-hour security. The conference hall and boardrooms are also offered to business travellers. The conference hall couples as a banquet hall as well which is an ideal venue for guests to arrange for social events. Its in-house restaurant is every foodie's delight. The restaurant serves Indian, Chinese, Continental, Tandoori and Mughlai cuisines. For enjoying a relaxing time amidst sophisticated ambience and sparkling cocktails, the bar is a great place.Rooms: Standard rooms, Premium rooms, Super Classic rooms, Classic rooms, Deluxe rooms Standard Non A/C are the multiple accommodation options offered at Kathir Palace. These air-conditioned rooms are simple in appeal and are ideal to experience home-like comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kathir Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing