We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget stay for a day or 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kathir Palace
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I had booked this hotel for a day just to fresh n up & visit Meenakshi temple. As per booking breakfast was complementary, however hotel has no kitchen, when asked reception informed that kitchen is under renovation. Response was more to manage customers. Was offered Rs 100/- towards breakfast which i have refused & had to inform them to arrange breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Pavan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kathir Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 126 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Hotel staff is not proactive. Room is not cleaned during my stay. Bathroom experience is horrible. Restaurant is not operational, however they have arranged my breakfast from outside. I was aksed to pay for the tea, however after arguing about the package, they made it complementary. The A/C is not sufficient as only one ton and leaking very badly. No action was taken after informing the reception. Managed to stay for two days with bot A/C & fan as heat is terrible. Totally a bad experience and I do not want to recommend this hotel for lesiure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Purna Chandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is location- close to temples and walkable distance from railway station and you can pay by card.
The staff is not reliable at all- we booked a taxi to the airport for early morning- we confirmed twice if it is booked and in the morning, taxi was not there and we had to wait 30 minutes. You can get cheaper hotel in the same location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you are at madurai for visiting Meenakshi temple as a tourist and an one nighter, viable choice as it and surrounding market is at stone throw distance. Rooms and toilets of standard room category are very small!get up is awkward - Plumbing lines and electrical cables are visible inside the room! Wash basin is inside the room cupboard, seepage all over the walls! Furnitures, fixtures and fittings require renovation. Cleanliness and hygiene is below par. Restaurant is under shutdown and for plan meals you have to walk to a nearby south Indian eatery to whom the plan meals or even room service food orders are outsourced! One thing is appreciable - very hospitable and helpful staffs! Beside location that is the only plus point!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAURABH_PAL_MAPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

very nice hotel, service is really good.
very near to the temple, just 5 min walk.
nicely greeted by the front office, only problem is they don't have a restaurant, i guess it was under renovation when we were thr.

Room Tip: we took two double bedroom deluxe room, they were neat and clean.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khushiqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel room etc was very good but the AC temp was set at 24 degrees it was not going below that and location is very near to west gate of the temple...........but the surroundings were not good it was stinking.....hotel could have taken care of that...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank D P Naidu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is at a walking distance from the West gate of the Meenakshi temple. The hotel provides good service and decent rooms at average price. We booked one 6-bed room for one night. The market is nearby and food is also available close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#25 of 54 in Madurai
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#49 of 54 in Madurai
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prem Nivas Hotel
Prem Nivas Hotel
#28 of 54 in Madurai
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#31 of 54 in Madurai
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
0.4 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kathir Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kathir Palace

Address: 14 Hotel Kathir Palace Dhanappa Mudlai Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $11 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kathir Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathir Palace, Madurai is a great budget option in the temple city. Offering uncompromising comfort and convenience, this hotel ensures that guests stay is hassle-free and pleasurable. Perfectly located close to the iconic Meenakshi Temple and railway station, this hotel is an ideal option for frequent travellers and pilgrims.Location: Kathir Palace is situated on Dhanappa Mudali Street. Places close to the hotel are Meenakshi Amman Temple (Approx. 0.5km) and Mariamman Temple (Approx. 4km). The beautiful Meenakshi Temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and is an example of exemplary craftsmanship. This temple is thronged by many devotees during the annual festival in April-May. Other interesting places worth visiting are Alagar Kovil, Thenkarai Pond and Vandiyur Lake.Distance from Madurai International Airport: Approx. 12km Distance from Madurai Junction: Approx. 2kmHotel Features: Guests are offered convenience with room service, front desk, daily housekeeping, travel desk and 24-hour security. The conference hall and boardrooms are also offered to business travellers. The conference hall couples as a banquet hall as well which is an ideal venue for guests to arrange for social events. Its in-house restaurant is every foodie's delight. The restaurant serves Indian, Chinese, Continental, Tandoori and Mughlai cuisines. For enjoying a relaxing time amidst sophisticated ambience and sparkling cocktails, the bar is a great place.Rooms: Standard rooms, Premium rooms, Super Classic rooms, Classic rooms, Deluxe rooms Standard Non A/C are the multiple accommodation options offered at Kathir Palace. These air-conditioned rooms are simple in appeal and are ideal to experience home-like comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kathir Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing