We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Kathir Palace Madurai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kathir Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kathir Palace
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Kathir Palace Madurai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I think this is a very good hotel for those who are budget conscious and who do not have plans of extended stay in madurai. Not a bad choice for one night - max two nights stay. The staff was very courteous. The rooms were adequate.
Two things to watch out for:
1. This place is near the west gate of Meenakshi temple and the roads leading to this hotel are very narrow. You miss one of the narrow lanes, you will be stuck in a maze of one-ways. So if you are driving yourself, have a good GPS or good communication skills to converse with people to get the directions.
2. The breakfast that is offered along with the reservation did not impress much. You will be denied if you asked for a second vada - so it is not a buffet breakfast - it is limited breakfast. I think the hotel needs to call this out at the time of booking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Aravind K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    43
    14
    15
See reviews for
59
21
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit to madurai and I find this hotel worth every penny spent. Though the rooms are small but for the money you pay is worth. The staffs are friendly and always wer there for help when asked. I would stay in this hotel only when ever I visit madurai!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hash13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Decent staff,
Good food,
Spacious room,
Cleanliness and well maintained.
Walking distance from temple. Which is the best point. I've visited the temple twice in a day for the same reason.

Love it and wish to visit again.


The only problem was that the wifi was not working in the room which on asking that some work is going on that. Wifi at the reception was available and speed was nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbshukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I should have read some of the recent reviews before I booked this hotel. I booked a non A/C room for a night with my family. I had paid Rs.990 for one night. The room was the tiniest ever it can get that only one person can walk around. There is literally no ventilation. When lights are turned off it is a dungeon. There is no night lamp. There is a wardrobe with one shelf and two big vent pipes protruding inside which prevents storing any big bags. The attached bathroom is 3 feet by 3 feet where they managed to put a shower and a western style toilet. There is no wash basin! Can you believe this?? If one takes bath, other cannot use the bathroom for two primary reasons. The toilet is all wet as the shower water is all over and water stagnates for 10 mins. Water even flows inside the bedroom! Bathroom had one switch that turns on a light and also an exhaust fan that is so noisy that you will get a severe headache even listening to that noise for 2 mins. You have no option but to listen with pain as there is no separate switch. We made a complaint and checked if there is a better room but the person said an A/C room would cost 1650 a night! He was not willing to comment on any of the complaints we had! Earlier in the day we ordered coffee and we got coffee in the smallest ever plastic cup that you get in a roadside tea stall for which the guy charged 20 rupees per cup. He even stood there for a tip! They managed to provide a temporary night lamp which is nothing but a bulb hanging on electric wires! The guy who came to put this expects money!! They don't ask but literally puts several salaams!! I don't know about their other rooms but my experience was terrible and they literally cheated knowing all the problems that they had. Thoroughly unprofessional. So Beware!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddy298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night in November 2013. The hotel is in a good location just a short walk from the Sri Meenakshi temple, the main reason for visiting Madurai. The room is ok for the price and has hot water. The wifi only works in reception. If you want to have any sleep at all then do not stay here. I was in room 107 and was woken at 430AM by what sounded like pots and pans literally being thrown around in the kitchen. This continued for the rest of the night/morning, I had no sleep at all. Even wearing ear plugs it was still very loud. I have never stayed in a noisier hotel than this! Then at 7am the receptionist called my room to ask what time I would be checking out, I said 12. He called back at 730am saying I had to be out by 8am because I'd checked in early the day before. This was not mentioned at check in. I explained that I'd had no sleep and would need the room till 12, I had to pay an extra 900INR for this despite my protests. I also asked reception to arrange a taxi for me to take me to the airport, they did but the rate was absolutely ridiculous. Unfortunately I had no time to sort out anything else so just had to pay. Avoid this hotel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajahmundry, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Recently from 21st Nov.2013 to 23rd Nov. 2013 we are nearley 19 people happened stay in this hotel. Reception response is very good. Room maintenance is good. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is just like our south indian food. This hotel is just 5mts. walk for menakshi temple. Room service is also good. Price is quiet economical. We feel 100% comfort of staying in this hotel. Railway station is also 10 to 15 mts. walk.

Room Tip: We occupied 3sharing bed rooms. all are o.k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green7772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The staff were very helpful and always helped my friend and I to find whatever we needed.The food was "ok", but the masala tea was excellent. We stayed at a Non-Ac room and it was perfectly fine at night. The sheets look a little dirty, but nothing you cannot handle.
It is five minutes away from the west temple and around 10-15 min away from the train station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaMLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#23 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#47 of 55 in Madurai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#20 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
0.4 mi away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#7 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golden Park
The Golden Park
#28 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kathir Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kathir Palace

Property: Hotel Kathir Palace
Address: 14 Hotel Kathir Palace Dhanappa Mudlai Street, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kathir Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathir Palace, Madurai is a great budget option in the temple city. Offering uncompromising comfort and convenience, this hotel ensures that guests stay is hassle-free and pleasurable. Perfectly located close to the iconic Meenakshi Temple and railway station, this hotel is an ideal option for frequent travellers and pilgrims.Location: Kathir Palace is situated on Dhanappa Mudali Street. Places close to the hotel are Meenakshi Amman Temple (Approx. 0.5km) and Mariamman Temple (Approx. 4km). The beautiful Meenakshi Temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and is an example of exemplary craftsmanship. This temple is thronged by many devotees during the annual festival in April-May. Other interesting places worth visiting are Alagar Kovil, Thenkarai Pond and Vandiyur Lake.Distance from Madurai International Airport: Approx. 12km Distance from Madurai Junction: Approx. 2kmHotel Features: Guests are offered convenience with room service, front desk, daily housekeeping, travel desk and 24-hour security. The conference hall and boardrooms are also offered to business travellers. The conference hall couples as a banquet hall as well which is an ideal venue for guests to arrange for social events. Its in-house restaurant is every foodie's delight. The restaurant serves Indian, Chinese, Continental, Tandoori and Mughlai cuisines. For enjoying a relaxing time amidst sophisticated ambience and sparkling cocktails, the bar is a great place.Rooms: Standard rooms, Premium rooms, Super Classic rooms, Classic rooms, Deluxe rooms Standard Non A/C are the multiple accommodation options offered at Kathir Palace. These air-conditioned rooms are simple in appeal and are ideal to experience home-like comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kathir Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing