We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”
Review of Phil's Bistro

Phil's Bistro
Ranked #9 of 226 Restaurants in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Phil’s Bistro, Italian American restaurant which is situated in Madurai. It is opened since September 2012, headed by Chef Philip and this is the first Italian American Cuisine in Madurai. The menu is vast and impressive showcasing traditional specialties as well as modern adaptations.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

The place in itself was quite peaceful and great and then came the food...I mean it was the real deal...
Ordered a roasted vegetable soup which was great but the stars of the show were the mains..the braised lamb shanks were stunning and to end it all was the beautiful blueberry panna cotta..
definitely worth a second trip

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AN2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    43
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Your Food Destination.”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Every food in the menu has very good taste. The restaurent Wonderful and romantic atmosphere inside.don't forget to try the fish fingers in your next visit. Keep it up Mr.Philip. the only thing is we have to wait much time for getting our food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bennzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My family and I visited Phil's Bistro during the week after Christmas. The atmosphere was peaceful and pleasant, the service good and the food (lasagna and the steak) awesome!!! ( I've been craving for lasagna since Garfield, the movie) Im surely planning another trip :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeneafer025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“American In India In Love!!!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

As an american spending a month in India, this place was heaven. Phil does such an incredible job and gets american italian food perfectly, which is not an easy task. I went twice and polished off a plate of Chicken Carbonara both times, as well as PERFECT pieces of key lime pie. Felt like such a piece of home right when I needed it! Very clean and nice facilities, which is a tough find in India.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilsBistro2013, Owner at Phil's Bistro, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for the valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best American Italian food ”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Awesome food , calm and lovely ambience and the best part is Philip the chef himself take the order and suggest food according to our taste .
my kids love to go to Phil's . They almost love all the dishes philip prepares . They just love the deserts . My daughter loves ice cream sandwich and my son likes lemon tart . My favorite is fish steak with butter sauce . It is the best authentic Italian restaurant we have ever been .

Helpful?
2 Thank tina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilsBistro2013, Owner at Phil's Bistro, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for the valuable feedback mam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Bistro also viewed

Madurai, Madurai District
 
Madurai, Madurai District
 

Been to Phil's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing