We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non veg...Treat for your stomach”
Review of Amma Mess

Amma Mess
Ranked #8 of 226 Restaurants in Madurai
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Non veg...Treat for your stomach”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Mouthwatering items and if you are a born non vegetarian one should enjoy all the extra items and finally one can go for some rice with rasam.Their creative stuff with bonemarroe omlette(Nalli omlette) is a class and really a filling one.One should start with Mutton Koooooooooooooola's and end with Nalli omlette.Their spicy stuffs are very very hot and enjoyable.Their hospitality is very good and it has become a LAND MARK in Madurai.
This is a very typical south style cusine and treat for your stomach.The finishing touch would be with a nice sweet pan.
The only minus point of this mess is want of space and lack of ambience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bala1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    81
    32
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Treat for Non Vegetarians in Madurai”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is strictly for hardcore Non vegetarians ,definitely the best mess in Madurai and it lived up to its reputation. This mess proudly displays photos of all the celebrities who have visited this mess,however the ambiance could do with an update. Their Seafood Omelet is a specialty ,Non Vegetarians in Madurai swear by this place and I am not surprised after a meal here. Awesome food and at surprising prices .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A treat for non vegetarians”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Vegetarians...keep away. The striking thing at this place is the warmth of the people who serve you. While i understand that some might get offended, that is how things are...they treat you like family and that is the way they have been able to do good business.

Food is extremely good and you should try and check out some of their spepcialities when you are there..Look out for the scroller..Crab omlette is one thing i found interesting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Did I run out of luck that day!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Having heard raving reviews of this tiny place in Madurai I decided not to miss it during my recent trip. Landed at the restaurant around noon.

The Mess:
A tiny place, I was lucky to reach in the noon and it was empty then. The place is cramped but even a blind man on the street can guide you to this place! The walls are decorated with photos of eminent personalities who have visited the mess. For those coming by their own transport there is a small open ground diagonally opposite to this hotel where you could park your car for a fee.

Food & Service:
To start with, I had high expectations and it was a disappointment for me. Mutton biriyani was just average. The quantity seemed too little for a decent tummy. I tried the fish fry- average, the marrow omlette-good, crab- poor, prawns- average. The disaster in the food was that the side dishes were definitely cooked in the previous days oil. The used oil left a strong flavor in the dishes which crashed my whole experience. The portion sizes are very less and each dish is just or less for 1 person.

Having heard of the great reviews of this place I do not know if that was my bad luck that day or if it is like this always. I sure would want to visit this place in the evenings once to try my luck again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Soubhagyanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best in madurai”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Amma mess is one of the best restaurant you can always choose for while travelling. The food tastes good. But the ambience is not fair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sansavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amma Mess also viewed

Madurai, Madurai District
Madurai, Madurai District
 
Madurai, Madurai District
Madurai, Madurai District
 
Madurai, Madurai District
Madurai, Madurai District
 

Been to Amma Mess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing