We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional property”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Duration of stay: Nov 23-24 2013
Property: Old structure but very well maintained. Some building are more than 50 years old. Style of architecture is of that era. Spread over a hill overlooking Madurai. Beautiful view of Madurai city. Meenakshi temple towers can be seen. Lots of peacocks roaming around.
Rooms: Well prepared with tranquile surroundings. Spacious. Rooms are in clusters spread across the vast property.
Food: Good but can be improved. Lawns outside the restaurant has beautiful view.
Service: Very good. Mr Sumant Khanna (Manager) was very helpful.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms that has view of the city or nearby hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vyzitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai !

It is a great pleasure to receive your valuable feedback for the hotel and for Mr.Sumant Khanna. We thank you very much for staying with us. We are delighted to know that you loved your stay and especially loved our spacious rooms and the panoramic view from the hotel.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    335
    86
    21
    5
See reviews for
316
300
83
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We just recently spent 2 nights there and it was absolutely divine!
Room 17 (in one of the two original buildings as we were told) was quite private, quiet and had its own little back"yard" with a small table and chairs. The room was large, very nicely furnished, windows on two sides, very clean, and the bathroom was luxurious.
The grounds are very nicely maintained, lots of greenery, and very quiet as you are up on a hill overlooking Madurai and surroundings. Great views.
We spent a day hanging out at the very nice pool.
The food was delicious (we enjoyed the buffet option) and plentiful. The staff at the restaurant and the hotel was very helpful and friendly.

I would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieLie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Madurai !

Entire team here joins me in thanking you for your great compliments for the hotel and the associates. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially loved our spacious room, cleanliness and the restaurant.

Thank you once again for the your compliments and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm regards

Devraj Singh
General Manager
devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My stay at Gateway was excellent. I stayed for couple of days during December second week 2013. I was surprised by immediate upgrade to good room by Vinpugal the manager. While taste of the food and price can be improved a bit to local taste and price (I know lot of local tasty shop as I was born and bought up there even though living in US for past 18 year), the courtesy and thoughtful extra accompaniments provided during our Rameshwaram trip by the hotel manager was great. My wife and kids really appreciated him and the hotel for doing it. My kids liked Peacock room area and natural setup pretty much. My wife enjoyed Ayurvedic massage. Gym can be improved a bit and a good running trail should be great addition.

Room Tip: pick the peacock area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhil v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Mr.Nikhil,

At the outset, we thank you for selecting Gateway Madurai as the destination for your stay in Madurai. It is a pleasure to receive your feedback for the hotel.

We are happy to know that you loved our hotel and the services. We thankyou for appreciating the efforts of Mr.Vinpugal in ensuring a comfortable stay for you.

It is the feedback from valued guests like you that enables us to keep improving to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The service at The Gateway was excellent. Helpful suggestions were made by the waiters and extra accompaniments were brought free of charge for the lunch a la carte meal. Both the buffet for dinner and for breakfast were of high quality with a vast array of well prepared dishes. The grounds are immaculate and very extensive with a superb swimming pool that was perfectly clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai !

It is a great pleasure to receive your valuable feedback for the hotel. We thank you very much for staying with us. We are delighted to know that you loved your stay and especially loved the quality and taste of food in the brekfast and dinner buffet spreads. Thank you for appreciating the cleanliness of our swimming pool.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Madurai, the city of temples, has so much to offer. A great stay while there is the Gateway Hotel, located on a mountain by the side of town. Even on hot days, the gentle breeze cooled us, while the beautiful pool relaxed us further. The height provides an expansive view of the city and temples. The staff and unendingly kind and helpful. The man who cleaned our room each day, Pandi, created beautiful sculptures from towels and wonderful scenes with flowers and leaves on the bed. Mathi, the chef, greeted us daily at the restaurant and often added special dishes to the already scrumptious buffet. We had amazing Indian food for all meals and never even wanted to try the western offerings. We highly recommend the Ayurvedic massages too, we had Sanu and Rekha do ours and they were masters. Finally, ask for Bala as a driver to take you around to the temples. He is a treasure trove of knowledge about Hindu spirituality. Our only compliant was that Wi-Fi is rather expensive.

Room Tip: 56 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 169KenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Mr.Ken,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Madurai !

Entire team here joins me in thanking you for your great compliments for the hotel and the associates. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially loved our food, services and the ayurvedic massage experience.

Pandi, Mathi, Sanu, Rekha and Bala will be duly recognised for their efforts in ensuring a comfortable stay for you. We are in the process of finalising a company wide initiative of providing complimentary WIFI to our guests in couple of months.

Thank you once again for the your compliments and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm regards

Devraj Singh
General Manager
devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is what makes Taj hotels stand out in the crowd! The warm welcome, and great hospitality. This is the first time we stayed here and I must say that we made the correct choice to stay here. The surrounding was so peaceful and we had a great view of the Madurai city. All the staff were very accommodating and the service level was beyond expectations. Don’t forget to take a round of the hotel with the help of Mr. Munuswamy who is the Green butler. You will find around 60-70 peacocks around the hotel. Great location and rooms were just out standing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deba991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mr.Nisikant,

At the outset, we thank you for selecting Gateway Madurai as the destination for your stay in Madurai. It is a pleasure to receive your feedback for the hotel.

We are happy to know that you loved our hotel and especially liked the concept of 'Green Butler'. We thankyou for complimenting us for exceeding your expectations on all fronts.

It is the feedback from valued guests like you that enables us to keep improving to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level 6 Contributor
620 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Taj Gateway Pasumalai Hotel is over 120 years old British era property spread over an area of 63 acres on a hill. The property is very well maintained and has conserved British era stuff very well. Its gives you a feel of being 100 years back in time. Very quite, peaceful and relaxing experience ! The cottages facing the city offer breath taking view of Madurai city and World famous Meenakshi temple. There are lots of peacocks and Mongoose roaming around freely ! The rooms are spacious and cosy. They have a huge balcony / verandah outside every room where you can sit and enjoy the view and have morning tea ! Sleep quality is excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages facing the city. They offer stunning view of Madurai city and Meenakshi temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai !

It is a great pleasure to receive your valuable feedback for the hotel. We thank you very much for staying with us. We are delighted to know that you loved your stay and especially loved the well kept colonial building, view from the spacious rooms and well maintained premises.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
4.6 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
199 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#5 of 54 in Madurai
317 reviews
6.4 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#7 of 54 in Madurai
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Property: The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Address: No 40 T P K Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hundred year-old celebrated colonial property is perched atop the Pasumalai hill, amidst 63 acres of landscaped gardens, colonial buildings and natural bliss. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the famous MeenakshiTemple, Madurai City and the Kodai hills. It is a 15-minute drive from the famous Meenakshi temple and City center. Accessible by road, air (Madurai Airport – 15 km) and train (Madurai Jn - 5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing