We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful retreat from mad Madurai!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
london england
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Blissful retreat from mad Madurai!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I think i have been staying here once a year since 2004 as got friends in nearby Rameshwaram island which is about 3hrs drive away. It is not Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai - this is Madurai! It is a blissful retreat from the main temple area. The hotel has improved in the last year or so with an effort to make it nicer: trees are named, there are more peacocks and a 'green butler' who will show you the owls. Good to see the same staff esp Bala and Swamy from the poolside. It noisy in the mornings: this is mad madurai at its blissful best! Go with the flow!

After ten years, i still get lost in this vast maze of a property: that's the fun of it!

If you wander around, you will notice only the 'guest areas' are kept spotless. please clean the entire property and do not leave rubbish just lying around the hillside, etc. This is easy to sort.

No need to feel trapped: walk down the hill using the staff exit, take the bus into town to see the temple. The bus is expensive: 10 rupees!!! Then have a beer in town from the rooftop of Hotel Supreme. Take a rickshaw back!

Thanks to all staff! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are large!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sinanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mr.Sinanan,

It was great pleasure meeting and interacting with you. Bala and swamy were so glad to see you back again.

Thank you for appreciating our efforts towards the improvements in the hotel. We have noted your feedback on the forest upkeep and we assure you that the same has been addressed immediately. The access to the forest got blocked during rains and we have cleared it now to ensure the areas are well maintained.

It is the feedback from our valued guests that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    338
    86
    21
    5
See reviews for
318
304
84
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The best possible location in the city of Madurai,property itself with its old world charm makes staying here itself a must in your itenerary. The usual Taj hospitality combined with the choicest of food and peacocks greeting you all around makes the bird's eye view of the city of Madurai truly memorable. Verdant green surroundings and spacious rooms with a huge balcony and every smiling staff all make for a superb holiday stay here. Would love to go back :)

Room Tip: The rooms which overlook the Meenakshi temple and the city are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahua-CCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Ms.Mahua,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Madurai !

Entire team here joins me in thanking you for your great compliments for the hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially loved our food, hospitality and view from the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm regards

Devraj Singh
General Manager
devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Gateway Hotel, aka Taj - Madurai has a splendid location, from where you can see the entire city. The hotel is peaceful & the staff is very very helpful. Would love to take a break from work here. However, the food is disappointing; moreover it is highly priced. It wasn't value for money, for me. I have not stayed here, so can't comment on those aspects.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeptamanMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mr.Mukherjee,

We thank you very much for dining with us and for your feedback. Thank you for appreciating the serviceos of our staff and also the peaceful location of the hotel. However, we had fallen short of your expectations on the food parametres and we would like to sincerely apologise to you for the same.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you dine with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The gateway is located in a park just ten minutes drive from town, and it is nice and peaceful with the building skattered around the hill. It is really paceful and beautiful and the staff is nice; but it is also quite faded and not the usual Taj standard. In some way it does not matter; the worn look also creates a homely feeling; but then the prices are the same as hotels with a much higher standard and care for detail, and that is annoying. I still think though that it is the best place to stay in Madurai, so you can moce from tranquility into the busy town and back again. The buffet is a bit boring, but as with most other restaurants, if you choose from the ala carte menu is much better value.You can get a good massage in the small spa, and there a autorickshaws readily available to go down to town. Beds are less hard than in many other indian hotels. And of course; the peacocks are wonderful, they beg at the tables.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopenhagenCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, we thank you for selecting Gateway Madurai as the destination for your stay in Madurai. It is a pleasure to receive your feedback for the hotel.

We are happy to know that you liked the staff services, location of the hotel and value for money in our ala carte menu. We have noted your feedback on the buffet and will certainly improve on the spread. We would also like to inform you that we are slated for the renovation of concerned areas soon.

It is the feedback from valued guests like you that enables us to keep improving to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodaikanal, India
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Taj in Madurai is a special place. It reeks of old world charm, a seemly time when things moved slower and more genteel. Taking a break here is a pleasure from breakfast to bed, with fantastic wooded grounds and a pool overlooking ancient and modern Madurai far below. Wonderful helpful staff, friendly and great supporters of the work the hotel does to encourage local and rural tourism development projects.
Best Experience: It was our wedding anniversary and the hotel not only baked a cake for my wife and I, they even arranged the band to play "Congratulations" during our wonderful dinner. As we looked out over the lights of the city and the temples in the distance, it could not have been better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sichot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai !

It is a great pleasure to receive your valuable feedback for the hotel and the team. We thank you very much for staying with us. We are delighted to know that you loved your stay loved our services..

It is the feedback from our valued guests that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the first time we stayed here and I must say that we made the correct choice to stay here. The first thing that amazed me here were the presence of peacocks at the vicinity. I was amazed with the number of peacocks that were loitering around the gardens. The surrounding was so peaceful and we had a great view of the Madurai city. We were given excellent rooms that were facing the pool. All the staff were very accomodating and the service level was beyond expectations. The restaurant staff were awesome and we were provided with great hospitality. I must recommend the restaurant at the hotel. Food was great and with lots of spread. We had buffet dinner which was value for money. Food was awesome and the chef was very friendly and likewise the staff. Very pleased with the ambiance, service and facilities. A great location for family holidays. We truly enjoyed the 3 nights stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Request for the room that is facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shankar_Nagalingam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Mr.Shankar,

We thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. Thank you for appreciating our quality of food and service and cleanliness of the rooms.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We weren't expecting to arrive in such a beautiful hotel after battling our way through the Madurai traffic. But here it was perched on top of a hill in its own splendid gardens. The room was enormous and very pleasant with all the necessary supplies for the dusty traveller. Excellent bed and lovely terrace overlooking the town. As the hotel is spread out, finding our way around was something of a challenge in particular for breakfast. In the evening, as it was New Year's eve, we had to have the special dinner. Not an experience which I would recommend : the food we had from the buffet was not particularly good and everything we ate was cold. Service was slow and the entertainment was dire for anybody with normal hearing. The compère blasted at us in a shrill voice and the music was so loud that I ended up stuffing bits of a paper napkin into my ears. So I regret not having the time to stay longer to enjoy the wonderful amenities - in fact we might have had to stay if we hadn't been on a private tour as it took nearly an hour for our suitcases to be brought up the hill from our room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, we thank you for selecting Gateway Madurai as the destination for your stay in Madurai. It is a pleasure to receive your feedback for the hotel.

We are happy to know that you liked our hotel and the view from our spacious rooms.

We sincerely apologise to you for the inconvenience you faced during the new years eve event. I have taken up the issue of temperature of food in the buffet and the music sound levels with the departments and the individuals concerned for corrective measures.
It is the feedback from valued guests like you that enables us to keep improving to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
4.6 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#5 of 54 in Madurai
334 reviews
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
205 reviews
6.4 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#7 of 54 in Madurai
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Property: The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Address: No 40 T P K Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hundred year-old celebrated colonial property is perched atop the Pasumalai hill, amidst 63 acres of landscaped gardens, colonial buildings and natural bliss. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the famous MeenakshiTemple, Madurai City and the Kodai hills. It is a 15-minute drive from the famous Meenakshi temple and City center. Accessible by road, air (Madurai Airport – 15 km) and train (Madurai Jn - 5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing