We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen Better Days!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A trun of the century house converted into a Hotel. Awsome location and great overall ambience. Lacks the restoration that is needed to make this a great property - wake up Taj!

The old wing is delightful but the furnishings a bit too spartan. The service is great and the food quite good.

Room Tip: I only tried the old wing - recommend these rooms to get a feel for the character of the place. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Softlanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards. We have noted your feedback on the restoration around the property and the furnishing work in the rooms. We assure you that this is in the plan of the hotel for the coming year. We thank you for appreciating our service and the food quality.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

The best aspect is the great out-of-city location. They have lots of newer buildings which externally are in keeping (did not look inside). I was pleased with the room in the old/main building (rooms 1-5 i think) which had a true colonial feel and commanding views. Otherwise just OK

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynCarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are old, the bathrooms are out of th sixties. But are still functioning, The food is clean but not the greatest tasting. The setting of room was idyllic, with peacocks roaming in the property. The staff were courteous and welcoming. The setting is of old colonial buildings, with the staff still having the RAJ mindset. There is not much to do on the property or in the city for kids except to see the Meenakshi Temple.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable time in providing us feedback. It is feedback like yours that helps us to improve on our existing standards of service.

It is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of Hospitality and Service, however, we seem to have fallen short of your expectations in the quality & taste of food. Please accept our sincere apologies. We have noted your comments and have taken up the same for corrective action.

We are confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the service provided by The Gateway Hotel in Madurai.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Basically the hotel is on a hill and the whole hill belongs to the hotel.Even if there are many things to see in Madurai there are tons in the hotel too.It is away from the noisy city.It has all the modern facilities yet the serenity of the hill-forest remains as it is.You can even find peacocks swimming in the pool!(Don't worry it's cleaned everyday.)
The room window directly opened in the forest we could hear the cries of peacocks.The room was clean ,the food was tasty ,the staff was helpful.it is a great hotel and if u visit Madurai it is the best option.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vvp7235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards. We sincerely thank you for complimenting our food quality, courtesy of staff and the cleanliness in the room.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
devraj.singh@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a great time staying at Taj in Madurai. We were upgraded to a suite being an inner circle member. What an ambience and service. One of the finest hotels to stay in terms of location, ambience and service. Taj Hotels are known for their personal service and yes, they do make you feel at home. What a view from the room and from the gardens. You are in a garden with birds and peacocks . Food Quality and Service excellent in their restaurant. Everything is great except they make you pay for internet which should be automatically included with such high room rates. I dont know why they treat you so well and then charge you Rs. 200 per hour for internet. Dont use the hotel car service which is 3 times the price . Call a call taxi like Fast Track and you can get much better rates. Please check you bill when you check out to make sure that they have not made any mistakes. If you are smart you can get a great experience and a great stay at Taj in Madurai.

Room Tip: Rooms at the same level as the main lobby if possible , then you dont have to walk too much to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N.SURESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Mr.Suresh,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards. We sincerely apologise that the difference in the tax structure was not informed to you at the time of check-in. We have corrected our process based on your feedback about the billing process.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
+91 84899 14252

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Madurai is an amazing town with its phenominal temple. But its also noisy, busy and dusty. So it is lovely to escape the town to this beautiful hotel. Its on a hill top (with great views) a few km outside the town surrounded by luscious gardens with peacocks everywhere. The staff are very helpful (if slow with the room service) and the food was gorgeous. The towel origami was something to behold!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrOpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great Location, Lovely view of the city from mountain top both at the day time and at night, Very good food excellent service, must visit when in Madurai. Nice big rooms, Being on mountain top very peaceful.

Room Tip: Room no 7 is the best room in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajmadurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for staying with us.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards. We thank you for your compliments on food, service and the spacious rooms.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
devraj.singh@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#5 of 57 in Madurai
1,540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
4.6 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#1 of 57 in Madurai
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 57 in Madurai
433 reviews
2.3 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#7 of 57 in Madurai
762 reviews
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 57 in Madurai
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Address: No 40 T P K Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $150 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hundred year-old celebrated colonial property is perched atop the Pasumalai hill, amidst 63 acres of landscaped gardens, colonial buildings and natural bliss. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the famous MeenakshiTemple, Madurai City and the Kodai hills. It is a 15-minute drive from the famous Meenakshi temple and City center. Accessible by road, air (Madurai Airport – 15 km) and train (Madurai Jn - 5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing