We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a good experience”
Review of Hotel Germanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Germanus
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed in Germanus for 1 night as i had to visit for a wedding reception. The stay was comfortable and room was classy. Breakfast was satisfactory and quality of food served was good.
The location of the hotel is well accessible and lies on the entry to the city which is good.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sree316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 221 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. On arrival you receive a welcome drink. The towels in your room are folded to make animals or flowers, nice touch. Be warned if sending off laundry, a pair of my $$$ shorts were ruined with a hot iron, which the house keeping manager tried to tell me was already there. Good choice of food for breakfast. Good location

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Anette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a good hotel with pleasing hospitality and nice food. The rooms are spacious and good. We get the right kind of reception and service till we leave. Food is good and fantastic for any one who want to check madurai dishes.. The one thing which the hotel has to replace the size of LCD tvs in the rooms which are very small to view from the Bed..Overall good experience I had in my couple of stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zakir239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Located at the entrance of Madurai 5 kms from Fatima college an ideal hotel for business travelers who drive around town. Rooms are well maintained,slightly outdated but still at this price value for money. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, its time they updated the decor of the rooms ,having said that its still a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is probably exactly how it was 20 years ago. The decor, the menu, the staff, everything except the tariffs are like they would have been in a 3-star hotel in India the early to mid nineties. The room is comfortable and clean, service is efficient and friendly, food is reasonably good, there is a gym with some basic equipment and a swimming pool appears to be under construction. The design and aesthetics of the place is very dated and it's crying out for a redesign. With a moderate amount of effort this could be a truly excellent property.

The major drawback is that the shower doesn't always have hot water, even though it's supposed to have 24 hours hot water, how hot the shower is will depend on time of day and the alignment of the stars and so on. This for me was irritating, and even though their "engineers" tinkered around for a bit it seemed to be a hotel-wide issue. Apart from this, you would most likely have a comfortable and satisfying stay in this hotel, particularly in a place like Madurai where there aren't a whole lot of options to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I loved the plate of fruits and freshly baked biscuits which welcomed me. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was good. The beds were comfortable. The hotel is centrally located - my only gripe was the level of efficiency in terms of producing bills in the restaurant and the liaison between the restaurant and hotel reception - it seemed to take aeons to sort out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuddersfieldNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

this was one of the hotels we came across during our trip as the other hotel we wanted to stay at was fully booked. We spent a night here.
The room was rather musty, and the bathroom was rather old looking. We also had a lot of mosquitoes in the room despite having the mosquito repellent on.
the food in the restaurant was also rather unsatisfactory. Overall was a poor experience and Would definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PremBhavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.7 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#3 of 54 in Madurai
1,434 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.3 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#5 of 54 in Madurai
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
752 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#2 of 54 in Madurai
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Germanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Germanus

Address: 28 By Pass Road, Madurai 625010, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $59 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Germanus 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Germanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Germanus Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing