We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth going again”
Review of Hotel Germanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Germanus
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth going again”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

i was given the welcome diwali gifts (fruits, dryfruits & sweets) on arrival but were taken back from my room without informing me, on asking the reception why was it done , they said house keeping must have done that we will come back but nothing happened.
Mosquitoes we could get away with good night but 2-3 cockroaches had to be killed by us

Otherwise the stay was OK.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashant4021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    97
    55
    21
    6
See reviews for
52
52
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was on Business Trip and stayed for 1 day during Oct 12 , It was a worst experience , Rooms they offered were not Clean and Facilities were awaful including Breakfast , Staff were rude and i dont reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raghupk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Madurai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A nice place to stay in when you visit Madurai.
The muti-cuisine restaurant dishes out tasty food, whatever be your palate.
If you just want to hang out with your friends, choose its mini-restaurant - the ' Side Walk'.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McClane200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times. The rooms are very comfortable. The reception is welcoming. Its located in a prime place. Opposite to the regional office of my previous company. The breakfast is both western and Indian style. Most foreign tourist prefer this hotel. I prefer staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnestJeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Very nice welcoming but once inside, dirty chorridors, very very smelly air conditionner once in the room (had to open windows and switch it off right away), dirty paint, very hard matresses and at night, noisy chorridors. Poor choice in breakfast and tasteless food.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

It was a decent budget hotel with basic amenities. Its far from city centre so not recommended without easy transportation. Food was awful...even the Tamil breakfast was bad. Staff was friendly and helpful. The telephone outside the room kept ringin, which was annoying

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhusu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Had basic amenities, friendly staff. The room was clean but kind of worn down. Strange smell that didn't bother my friend but bothered me. Food is awful. Not close to city attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ks521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.7 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 54 in Madurai
195 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
1.3 mi away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#6 of 54 in Madurai
297 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Germanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Germanus

Property: Hotel Germanus
Address: 28 By Pass Road, Madurai 625010, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Germanus 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Germanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Germanus Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing