We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst food ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meenakshi's Sunshine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Madurai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I must protest the recent degradation of food quality in ur restaurant. I stay nearby so used to visit the restaurant often. Recently the food quality is getting bad to worst . Previously when ordered a salad or sandwich it would be great. Recently not only ur chef has almost reduced to half the quantity , but also quality getting worst. The other day i ordered a chicken club sandwich- they gave me a small cold egg sandwich full of only mayonnaise. When I politely pointed out there was no chicken !!! they took it away only to bring in the same with one microscopic chicken bit implanted ( really very small-no kidding) and added more mayonnaise to technically call it a chicken sandwich. Its really sad to see demise of a great food joint. I vowed not to visit the food joint again. may be the chef could go to Puppy;s or any other place to see the diffrence.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank npanda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 123 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for a weekend away although a little out of town you get value for money. Very comfy bed, great shower and nice communal area outside of rooms. Nice funky madurai style bar. The Breakfast could be better but would recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JennyandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had booked this hotel through Goibibo at a very reasonable price. I visited Madurai on 16th and checked in the hotel same day. Hotel is excellent and well maintained. Rooms are very clean and good service from the Room service department. However I was very disappointed with the Front Desk staff as I had asked for Cab facility to visit Madurai local sight seeing and also 3 days tour to Rameshwaram and Kanyakumari. I would have followed up for atleast 5 times. But i did not got any response. Finally i had to call up Justdial and get the cab providers and booked one of them. Also i had requested for a wake up call at 4am and this also did not happened. I realised the front desk staff is just totally absent minded people.

Room Tip: I had booked Luxury room and was quite satisfied as we were 3 adult and a child. The extra bed is go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is not a hotel for tourist. Only inpatient relationsof the meenakshi hospital can stay there. Not a single chair or table inside the room. Very worst room designing. All the fittings and interior is good. But due to poor room design everything wasted. Hospitality and food is good. Staff are courteseous. Unfortunateley a worng place to stay.

Room Tip: please avoid this hotel unless if somebody is admitted in meenakshi hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAMODARAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed with my extended family for two nights and found this place a great value for money. The service was good, and the rooms were clean! It's a little distance from the attractions and you should have your own transportation. The free breakfast was good. I wish the approach road to the hotel is a little wider. I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank ilango_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 24/5/2013 during our 10 days tour of South India. Very good hotel, Clean, comfortable and good service. Fast check in and also room service response. Contemporary rooms with unique setting of sofa and a small dining space for spending time outside the room. Good for families that require several rooms in one go.

Breakfast was not bad. Hotel is located a short drive away from city center with no activities within walking distance. Good for folks travelling on their own leisure time and vehicle. Staffs were good and shared information about town and places to visit.

Need to improve on the WIFI service. Unable to log in from my room or at resting area outside the room. Signal was too weak. Otherwise, this was the best hotel we stayed based on our budget) during our 10 day journey of South India.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronin2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I am travelling in south India and this is my 5th hotel.
I might have have been lucky to find a friendly front desk staff who was ready ro am extra mile to meet my needs. Her name is Sangeetha. After all other members of staff turned out to be very good. Now about the hotel:

Rs 2000 plus tx for a delux ac room

Room is clean. Bed is good. Bed sheets are.clean.

Bathroom is clean. Hot and cold water with good force. This is the first hotel that provided me with a complete bathroom kit: soap shampoo tooth brush tooth paste powder and even a comb!

One major drawback: there is no luggage rack. You will end up spreading your stuff on the floor!

Good Wi Fi on the first floor!

Recomend staying here if you have your own transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egleview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.4 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
193 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#3 of 54 in Madurai
1,362 reviews
4.0 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#5 of 54 in Madurai
360 reviews
1.3 mi away
The SPK Hotel
The SPK Hotel
#15 of 54 in Madurai
109 reviews
5.3 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meenakshi's Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meenakshi's Sunshine Hotel

Address: No 14 Meenakshi Mission Road | Lake Area, Madurai 625107, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Madurai
Price Range: $31 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meenakshi's Sunshine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Class Hotel at Economy Rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Meenakshi's Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing