We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Star Residency
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“star”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

good hotel with good staff and well minted rooms nice food.
nice choice to select this hotel.the service is quite fast and
next time. .Nice choice to select this hotel.
i will choose this hotel for my stay in madhuri

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adi_das007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    45
    12
    9
See reviews for
64
31
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I would actually admit that the room ie bed and toilet and shower is acceptable compared to other places we’ve stayed in South India. What really is the downer of this place is the swarm of mosquitoes that really greets you as soon as you walked in to reception and room. We’ve personally annihilated about 50 mosquitoes in our room and have used anti mozzie incense to get them out of their hiding places. After all that dead mozzies they seem to still come out and you’ll have to kill them as you see them.

We’ve had two room service dining as we couldn’t face eating in their roof and swatting the mozzies at the same time. Food admittedly was very good and enjoyed it. If the mosquito issue was eradicated it would be a recommended place to stay and if they can also clean their general toilet in reception as mozzies were flying everywhere there too!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babydoll_Nexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at star Residency Madurai for one night . The rooms were exorbitantly priced. We expected our room to be of real 4 star standards , but it was just OK types . The reception did not answer the phone till 2nd or 3rd try and the kitchen staff was without any facial expressions and serving guests in buffet seemed a burden to them. This was unusual compared to other places in Kerala & Tamil Nadu where staff is usually very friendly and efficient. All in all a not worth experience. You can try other options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I write this from my noisy room at Star Residency in Madurai. I'm on a family holiday in south and by far this has been the worst place we've stayed at. Located near the Anna Bus Stand, the hotel is in the heart of the city BUT its on the main road. This makes the place unbearably noisy. To begin with, we were given dirty "standard rooms" on the first floor. The bathroom stinks. After making some noise about it they agreed to change the room to "delux" on the 3rd floor. The beds were with broken mattress springs and the staff refused to give us in room tea kettles (which is standard everywhere now). After once again shouting about it, they changed the mattress but refused the tea! The restaurant "Dakshin" is overpriced and really nothing worth writing about. The hotel staff refuses....please hear refuses to understand Hindi! We can barely manage to get even a morning cup of tea without raising our voice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anandberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice hotel, nice service, food a little bit pricy, but good for lunch and dinner, you can find cheaper is you go outside. The breakfast was a big let down in my opinion. The room service also doesn't seems happy when I give them 40 rupees for bringing my luggage to my room...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rimz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I ended up at this hotel because all hotels in the city were fully occupied as it was an auspicious day and there were hundreds of weddings at meenakshi temple. I realised thet this is an overpriced hotel when i mingled with the locals. The service was terrible. The doorman and the security will insist on tips. Room service is slow. Sometimes they don't respond. No complimentary breakfast. I vacated and went to another hotel at 60%the price with complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raysonray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had a booking with this excellent hotel (Showed in pics on the site). I reached Madurai and the Cab from the Hotel came for the Pick-up also. I went to the hotel but the rooms were full. The receptionist wants me to fill the reservation form. I did the same and asked us to wait for a while. Ten minutes later the receptionist informed that the rooms are full and were not vacant. We became blank. The feeling was terrible. We were cornered. There was no place to stay then. One more important thing is that WE WERE NOT GIVEN ROOMS BUT WERE ASKED TO PAY Rs. 250/- FOR THE CAB PICK-UP. Pls if you cant give proper service to Corporate clients, Pls dont take bookings.

For Business Visitors,

THEY ARE GIVING CORPORATE DISCOUNT OF 30% BUT NO ROOMS BOSS...

TAKE CARE

Room Tip: Pls dont go to this hotel if you are given discount and Mr. Fron office manager mails you for the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.3 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Northgate
Hotel Northgate
#14 of 55 in Madurai
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#7 of 55 in Madurai
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
The SPK Hotel
The SPK Hotel
#11 of 55 in Madurai
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
MMR Gardens
MMR Gardens
#16 of 55 in Madurai
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Residency

Property: Star Residency
Address: & 44 No 43 Star Residency Collector Office Road | near Anna bus stand, Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai 625020, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing