We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Okay hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madurai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel The Metropole
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have to say, it is a great location. Its NOT too big a hotel. Wifi wasn't there and breakfast was bad. The stay wasn't a disaster but the staff were only okay.. Not very well trained for providing service. It's still an okay place to stay in if you want to live in that location of Madurai. We did arrange for a small function and that went on okay. They have a small hall in the first floor which seems to be okay for a short get-together. Food here was okay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed_Farouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 80 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We conducted a 50 members meeting here with dinner. For that meeting preparation I asked them to offer a room for one night. They replied said no rooms were available. But when I search some other hotel nearby in Cleartrip, I found a room available in Metropole itself. I am not sure how it is possible. It seems like they are following over booing policy expecting that someone may cancel their booking.

At the time of check in, they asked us to wait for around 30 mins to make a room ready. And we got a key just nearer to conference room which was very much convenient. A happy beginning. It's a decent sized room with limited furniture and toiletries. There is not controller for A/c unit, even they don't have on/off switch. We feel freezing in night and asked service number to make temperature high around 22-24. But they simply switch off the A/c unit and we started sweating. That was a very very bad night for us.

Morning breakfast was not up to the mark but okay with basics.

And finally we had a terrible experience while check-out. We fully paid in cleartrip while we made booking; but cashier asked us to pay the rent again. I think I am the first person to book their hotel through online. She asked me to show my credit card statement.. unfortunately it was not updated; everyone knows it will take 3 days to get updated in online statement.. but she doesn't agree with that. Then I logged into cleartrip and shown the payment voucher. After various phone calls, she finally agreed. Almost it took 45 minutes for my check-out (Note: 30-mins for check-in)

They should have to improve their booking system.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundar_amu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our room was at the front of the hotel and the street noise could be heard but did not keep up awake. The room was clean but we had to ask for toilet rolls every time we needed them ! There was no wifi which was a nuisance as we had to find an internet cafe. The buffet breakfast was good especially the Indian options. There is a large hall on the corner nearby with concerts, some of which are free. One morning as we were passing we were invited to watch a wedding ceremony taking place in the hall. There is a very good sweet stall almost next door.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I think if we ever went back to Madurai, we would stay somewhere else. Having looked at its website we had gained a slightly misleading impression. The room was pretty clean, but the bathroom had a fairly strong, rancid smell, we couldn't tell if it was the drains or the shower curtain.

The windows in our room didn't fit properly in their frames, so we could clearly hear the busy traffic outside and the constant honking.

It is a good way out of the centre of the city, you need a tuk tuk to get to the temples. However, the Gandhi museum is only a 10-15 minute walk away.

The staff were ok, but not as friendly or welcoming as other places on our trip. The breakfast food was again only ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel; there is a busy roundabout at the front of the building wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank number51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Pros: Clean, in a quiet part of town, an eatery right outside, probably among the top 10 hotels in Madurai
Cons: Very very poor bathroom, fast-dating infrastructure
It must have been a good hotel when launched but looks like they are not maintaining it well. If you can afford the better hotels, should skip this.

Room Tip: Avoid 211. The bedsprings are coming out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRJha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We chose this hotel based on good reviews in Trip Advisor. We made a booking for 4 rooms about a week in advance and the people who spoke to us confirmed the booking 2 times. Again before leaving from Chennai we called the hotel and confirmed our arrival and again there was a clear commitment on the booking. Although we insisted on advance payment to avoid any confusion or some booking reference or mail confirmation from them, the hotel person promised that the booking was confirmed and there was no need for any other mode of confirmation as they don't have one other than phone confirmation.

Here is a shocking surprise when we got into the hotel. The receptionist casually said rooms were not available and the rooms booked for us were allocated to someone else as we couldn't be reached in that morning over phone. There were no missed calls in the mobile. He said with ultra cool that the staff called land line which we never gave as a contact number so it was clear that it was an excuse to justify as they never called but casually sold the rooms for someone else.

13 of us were stranded (including kids) and very disappointed that we had to search for another accommodation, late in the evening, in an unknown city. So we had to go around the city and find another hotel. (Good news anyways is that we had better options so we were very happy that we didn't land in this hotel)

My experience is limited to the booking process only so please be careful on the booking process with this hotel. I can't offer any comments on the quality of the hotel as we didn't stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank esvelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here after reading the various reviews. It is very much in the heart of the mid town, just 4 kms away from Meenakshi Temple and about 5 kms distance to Railway Station, Bus station. The hotel was very clean, surprisingly quiet at night, and the staff was super helpful. The location is perfect - close to everything. The room was very clean and fully equipped, including free wi-fi., the bathrooms are clean with hygienic . I loved that they handed me chilled bottled water. I also loved that the room had a usable refrigerator! The hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, and hot breakfast in the morning, and quality of food is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JAYSHBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.6 mi away
West Marret Hotel
West Marret Hotel
#24 of 54 in Madurai
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
The SPK Hotel
The SPK Hotel
#14 of 54 in Madurai
109 reviews
2.8 mi away
Weshtern Park
Weshtern Park
#20 of 54 in Madurai
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heritage Residency
Hotel Heritage Residency
#34 of 54 in Madurai
66 reviews
2.0 mi away
Moskva Hotel
Moskva Hotel
#11 of 54 in Madurai
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
MMR Gardens
MMR Gardens
#15 of 54 in Madurai
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Metropole

Address: 17 Melur Road | Opp - Raja Muthiah Mandram, Madurai 625020, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $29 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing