We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Day and Night at Madurai”
Review of Hotel Northgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Northgate
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed at Hotel North Gate for a day and a night.
Had booked the room through one of my friends. Booking was done over phone.
No hassles in checking in and entire affair was over in less than 10 minutes.
The best part of the Hotel is its prime location.
To any part of the city one can get a public bus, and this being a city that does not go to sleep, coming back at any time of the day or night is not a problem.
Only one liitle drawback that I saw was that the pillow cases were torn and were not replaced and the mineral water bottle too - used by the previous occupant was left in the room.
Otherwise the room was clean.
Food is expenssive. But one can get very good Madurai food in various restaurants at very low prices.
To repeat the best part of the Hotel is its location and its ample car parking space.
In short, A good hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Please take the road facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyril F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHotel, General Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay experience at North Gate.

We are delighted to read your review in the trip advisor about our hotel.At the same time we had paid very close attention and noted our lacking.

Our lack of attention to details with our pillow cases has also been discussed at great length with House keeping team.

Your Valuable feed back has been reviewed by our top management and please rest assured that all the possible improvements will be made.for the rectification.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Regards,
Mari Raja A
General Manager
Mobile +91 9791876223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 183 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

I booked this hotel for my parents . Initially, they had issues with the bed spreads . But upon calling the room service, they did promptly change the bed cover. When I wanted to extend my parents stay by a day and at the same time, not bill my parents, the manager Mr. Raja was very understanding and offered to wait patiently for me to transfer the funds to Hotel North Gate. I faced delay in transferring funds to pay the bill owing to money transfer regulations, but Mr. Raja was very keen on being patient and at the same time delivering extreme good service to My parents while they were there. I really appreciate it.

As for the rooms are concerned, my parents indicated that they were clean and nice. And they said there was good parking space.

Room Tip: Get in touch with the manager. he will work wonders for you with good rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharath Subramo... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHotel, General Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor , which we appreciate all feedback in order to continually improve our service.

We are delighted to read your great review upon your Parents stay in North Gate . It gives us great pleasure to know that your Parents had thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us.

We look forward to your Continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services , facilities& hospitality , which our team is committed to delivering to all our guest.

Thank you for your special comments on Manager , as one should understand the situation and the same was applied and handled by Manager.

We are sure that your feedback would motivate us to strive for even higher standards of excellence.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back to NorthGate .

Regards,
Mari raja A
General Manager
Mob ; 9791876223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We enjoyed the stay at Hotel North gate. It was a pleasant experience. The rooms are neat and clean. Room service was also good and prompt.. The complementary breakfast is excellent. It is buffet with very good variety of dishes. good

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sreenivasan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHotel, General Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for staying at hotel North Gate on your recent Visit to Madurai, it was indeed pleasure to read your comments about our hotel.
It has always been our pleasure to offer you an enjoyable hospitality and we are delighted to know that we have met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Mari raja A
General Manager
Mobile +91 9791876223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Had stayed here many times. But unexpectedly it is seeing a down slide now..
Buffet breakfasts were good in the past. Now they serve cold Indian food. Even the boiled eggs were not washed property.
Rooms are good. Free toiletries mean a small piece of soap, a toothbrush & 5 ml of shampoo. It was generous earlier.
Still value for money..with a nice aircon and car park. But competition is not far away..

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank shrinagesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHotel, General Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay experience at North Gate.
We are delighted to read your review in the trip advisor about our hotel.At the same time we had paid very close attention and noted our lacking.
Our lack of attention to details with our breakfast food has also been discussed at great length with kitchen production team.
Your Valuable feed back has been reviewed by our top management and please rest assured that all the possible improvements will be made.for the rectification.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Regards,
Mari Raja A
General Manager
Mobile +91 9791876223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

It was a preferred hotel once but that's not the case now I guess. There is nothing much to complain but at the same time nothing much to praise too. Don't expect anything new or fancy. The rooms are spacious but that's about it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Bagavath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHotel, General Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in North Gate.

We are delighted to read your great review posted about your stay in North Gate.

At the same time, we have paid close attention to all your comments. I assure you that we will do all we can to improve the matters in making our hotel more fascinating.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in North Gate.

Regards,
Mari Raja A
General Manager
Mobile +91 9791876223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I came to stay at the hotel for 3 days on a business trip. I hadn't chosen the hotel, but the reservations were made for me by an associate. I got here at 3am from my bus trip to find the office staff attentive and courteous as they showed me to the room. The morning breakfast buffets had good selection, and variety on different days. The room that I had was single occupancy, was clean, very cool, and bathrooms were updated. Staff were very attentive throughout the stay, and very responsive to my needs. Overall I would say that I was pleasantly surprised, and would definitely stay here again if the need should arrive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franklin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHotel, General Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for staying at North Gate Hotel and giving us the valuable Comments.

We are delighted to read your great review up on your stay in North Gate . it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us .

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Regards,
Mari Raja A
General Manager
Mobile +91 9791876223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

stayed a day on 18 th night stayd dble room with xtra bed for my family of 4 size adequate
AC GOOD
Walkable distance is (500m) is Gandhi musreum,
situated just opp to american college and thamukkam maidan 2.5 km to temple and naiker mahal
the famous amma mess and kumar mess is just walkable distance of 3 min
andhra curry restaurant is 900 meter
overall it is nice place good breakfast
the negative point is bathroom is bit old rusty look theere were no toilet papers the dust bin lid not working the rusted screws were projecting

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sivaortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHotel, General Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for staying at North Gate Hotel and giving us the valuable Comments.

We are delighted to read your great review up on your stay in North Gate . it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us .

Also we have noted your comments on our rest room maintenance and lack of attention to details with our housekeeping toilet papers which has been discussed at great length , please be rest assured that ,all the possible steps will be taken at the earliest for rectifications.

We hope that you will consider staying at North Gate again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known for..

Regards,
Mari Raja A
General Manager
Mobile +91 9791876223

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 57 in Madurai
239 reviews
1 mi away
Moskva Hotel
Moskva Hotel
#13 of 57 in Madurai
165 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 57 in Madurai
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MMR Gardens
MMR Gardens
#11 of 57 in Madurai
87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#7 of 57 in Madurai
762 reviews
1.1 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 57 in Madurai
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northgate

Address: 23 Pattaraikarai Street | Opposite American College, Goripalayam, Madurai 625002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $28 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Northgate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Jewel Of Temple City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Northgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing