We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Hotel Northgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Northgate
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I went to madurai with my parents. This hotel is located just 2.7 kms from hotel. The hotel ambience is good. The rooms r well maintained.the staff are corteous and well behaved.i had a pleasant stay there and would definitely recommend the hotel. Its best value for money you can get.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Sandeep I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 182 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is good. Nice location close to Meenakshi temple . However the lunch and dinner menus left much to be desired . North Indian dishes needs a lot of improvement . Staff and service were very good .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bommahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were there during the second week of August 2013. The hotel is just opposite American College. quite accessible on the main road. The rooms are decently big. AC's were in working condition and room service was decent. They have a good DG backup as well to take care of any power cuts. Decent car parking space considering the location of the hotel in a busy locality. Their breakfast was disappointing. its better to have it in any of the famous Madurai humble outlets.
Overall, it was worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Though i stayed just for a night in this hotel, it really impressed. To start off, this hotel is in a very good locality and can be easily traced. The hotel staffs were really helpful and well behaved. We were three of us and we were put into a standard room however the rooms were really spacious and it looked like a deluxe room.
Breakfast is complementary and you have plenty of options to choose from.
The room pricing was also not that expensive , we paid Rs.3000 for a night.

One thing which they can improve is to add a nice shower or a bathtub.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santosh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeDominicRichard, Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in North Gate. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review upon your stay in North Gate. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.


We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in North Gate.

Regards,
Joe Dominic Richard
Operations Manager
+91 9840888450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at this property for 4 nights. Very good hotel. Staff were very helpful. Big, clean and comfortable rooms. Quick check in check out. Decent breakfast spread. Food quality is decent. Overall would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Preetham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeDominicRichard, Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in North Gate. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review upon your stay in North Gate. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.


We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in North Gate.

Regards,
Joe Dominic Richard
Operations Manager
+91 9840888450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for a night.. spacious and clean rooms and a courteous staff. The location of the hotel is also good, right on the road

The restaurant was a surprise with excellent food, probably can have more South Indian varieties.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeDominicRichard, Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in North Gate. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to read your great review upon your stay in North Gate. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.


We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in North Gate.

Regards,
Joe Dominic Richard
Operations Manager
+91 9840888450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited Madurai in July 2013 and stayed at north gate for one day and 2 nights. Hotel is well accessible, very good ambiance. Courteous staff and good room service. This is one of the best places in Madurai to stay. Only a slight disappointment was the non-veg food ordered which were tasteless. This place is recommended for all families, couples etc. Staffs were very helpful in getting transportation to various places as we visited 2-3 places in Madurai.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeDominicRichard, Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in North Gate.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in North Gate. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

At the same time, we have paid close attention to all your comments. I assure you that we will do all we can to improve the matters you have brought to our attention.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in North Gate.

Regards,
Joe Dominic Richard
Operations Manager
+91 9840888450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saratha Rajans
Hotel Saratha Rajans
#42 of 54 in Madurai
87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
742 reviews
0.9 mi away
MMR Gardens
MMR Gardens
#12 of 54 in Madurai
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Moskva Hotel
Moskva Hotel
#14 of 54 in Madurai
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#11 of 54 in Madurai
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
The SPK Hotel
The SPK Hotel
#15 of 54 in Madurai
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northgate

Address: 23 Pattaraikarai Street | Opposite American College, Goripalayam, Madurai 625002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: $25 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Northgate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Jewel Of Temple City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Northgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing