We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Northgate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sangam(Madurai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MMR Gardens(Madurai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moskva Hotel(Madurai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
53
82
36
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
82
36
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamerican collegevalue for moneygate hotelmeenakshi templefacing the main roadample parking spacecomplimentary breakfastsmall problempoor wififamily hotelneeds renovationnice servicebathrooms were cleandecent hotelparking facilitywould stay againroom service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 187 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Restaurant is very good, as is their complimentary breakfast. We stayed only for a night, so we didn't really care for the service. But the service is very slow. For simple things like tea and blankets, we had to make repeated calls to the reception. Our window opened to a dump yard, ask for better located rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravellerIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeDominicRichard, Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at North Gate. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We are very happy with all your positive comments about several points as you mentioned,. We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve, Again, please accept our apologies. I assure you that we will do all we can to improve the matters you have brought to our attention.

We hope that you will consider staying at North Gate again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known for.

Regards,

Joe Dominic Richard
Operations Manager

+919840888450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

helpful polite staff, clean big rooms, wifi works perfectly in the rooms, food in the restaurant was good enough, big selection, restaurant looks clean. Some rooms have no view.
Very decent bar attached to the hotel.
Highly recommend. Great value for the money, good for business and leisure trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeDominicRichard, Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in North Gate.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in North Gate. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we have the chance to serve you again sometime soon.
Regards,
Joe Dominic Richard
Operations Manager
+91 9840888450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice Place..ambience ok...
Parking ..enough space..
Location ..a little bit away(~2Km by walk) from Meenakshi temple...you can take auto rikshaw...charges huge greater than 60rs..especially if you are a traveller....if you are ready to walk...you can see /buy fruits/items from the market..There are direction signs within market to the temple...

Big rooms and good enough channels on tv though they are mainly Tamil... rooms are clean . but not the bed..they replaced the covers...

room service : poor... Have to call in almost 3 or 4 times for each services...and even some of the stuffs went unattended. (asked for a mug and never arrived..) ..our stay was short so we didn't mind it.

complimentary buffet breakfast:- Its the best part...nice variety of Indian south/north available...
its focused for all...enjoyed this one..
front desk:- they are happy to help us and giving directions....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swarsenalx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeDominicRichard, Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback regarding your stay at Northgate.
First of all, on behalf of all our team members, I would like to present our apologies for not delivering the service you were expecting.
I have shared your comments regarding the lack of follow up and attentiveness of our team members especially at room service & housekeeping with their respective Managers as indeed this is not acceptable, in the hope that your next stay with us will exceed all your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Joe Dominic Richard
Operations Manager
+91 9840888450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had left behind my laptop adapter at HNG at the end of my visit there. The Hotel located it and sent it to me. I was very happy about their service.
I like to stay in HNG since it is centrally located. The staff do make mistakes but are prompt to apologise. After all, they too are human.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sundar_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeDominicRichard, Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in North Gate.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in North Gate. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

At the same time, we have paid close attention to all your comments. I assure you that we will do all we can to improve the matters you have brought to our attention.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in North Gate.

Regards,
Joe Dominic Richard
Operations Manager
+91 9840888450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a very good hotel. The rooms are comfortable, service is excellent. The complementary buffet breakfast is one of the best I have ever had in such range hotels. The location is probably the only disadvantage if you would like to make frequent trips to city centre / bus - railway terminals, but close to Meenakshy temple.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joekerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeDominicRichard, Manager at Hotel Northgate, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in North Gate.

We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in North Gate. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we have the chance to serve you again sometime soon.
Regards,
Joe Dominic Richard
Operations Manager
+91 9840888450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews