We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option”
Review of Hotel Vijay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vijay
Lubbock, TX
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 3-4 nights during our trip to Madurai. Don't expect the taj mahal when you book this place. However, it's acceptably clean and in a good location. The room is a bit of a cell, but this is common for most budget options in India. It's within walking distance of the train station which is a plus. The lobby and common hallways were not impressive and at night are infested with mosquitoes because of all the open windows without screens. On the negative side there was no restaurant on site.

If you're looking to save money in Madurai it's not a bad choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasonandPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Foreign Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

Special thanks for your recommendation and for the title “Good Budget option”.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry @ low budget tariff.

The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you

Manager,
Hotel Vijay, Madurai
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    37
    12
    14
See reviews for
66
18
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manipal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed with my family members for a day in hotel vijay.Rooms are neat and clean.Location is very good. But with out knowing the location we went up to new bus stand, while coming from Kodaikanal. It is better to inform the nearest bus stop to help the travellers in your web.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room no 306 and 313 both of them are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksprao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your encouraging comments with my Staff and they are all very happy.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry @ low budget tariff.

The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you
Manager,
Hotel Vijay, Madurai
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. The lobby is not impressive but the service is really helpful. The rooms are neat with all the facilities(Tv,hot water , great ac,WiFi) . The location is good , close to bus stand and train station. Definitely will recommend staying.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LevinY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

I have shared your encouraging comments with my Staff and they are all very happy.

We are happy to get high ranking feedback from a 'Contributor'

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry @ low budget tariff.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Special thanks for your recommendation and for the title “You get more than you pay for.”

The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you
Manager
9443312021
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imphal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Staying at Hotel Vijay, Madurai was excellent at an affordable rate. The rooms are clean and its near the railway station and Meenakshi Amman Temple that adds to the advantage for new comers at Madurai. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chingkhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

I have shared your encouraging comments with my Staff and they are all very happy.

Thanks once again for providing us 5 star rating. Your feedback will serve as a source of inspiration for us.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry @ low budget tariff.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Special thanks for your recommendation and for the title “Neat and clean room”.

The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you
Manager
9443312021
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Only the location of the hotel is an advantage, I stayed in a Deluxe Non-AC room, restroom flush is not working, no hot water facility after 9 a.m or so, and water leak which is disgusting. Also TV remote is not working. If we ask for a water bottle or any service, the room service boy asking money (which is more than the MRP of the product) on the delivery time itself, which is annoying.
I do not wish to select this hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Ananth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
We have paid close attention to all your comments. I assure you that we will do all we can to improve the matters you have brought to our attention.

Thank you
Manager,
Hotel Vijay, Madurai
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have spent about three days in this hotel and we were a group of joint family we booked two rooms one is delux and other one is non delux through cleartrip we all from andaman and we visit madurai for treatment purpose at arvind eye hospital all over our trip was very good and hotel manager and staffs were found by us very cooperative and helpfull good hotel for comfort stay according to us .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank S.rahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry @ low budget tariff.

I have shared your encouraging comments with my Staff and they are all very happy.
The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you
Manager,
Hotel Vijay, Madurai
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our train arrived very early in the morning, so we booked for 2 nights. However, when you check in early in the morning, the first night is passed already. Because of their policy of 24 hours check-in, we had to leave again after 24 hours. So, pay for 48 hours and get only 24 hours. Terrible and undiscerning.
The room was oke with hot water.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Johannes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time in completing Hotel Vijay, Feedback form in Trip Advisor.

Hotel Check-in and check-out policy is 24hrs. Your reservation was made via cleartrip. clear trip standard check-in policy is 12 to 12. You can change the check-in and check-out time by mentioning in special request at the time of reservation. We kept your room ready as per your reservation time.

Due to late train and as you requested checkin time was extended by me (17th February 6:50 am to 18th Feb 6:50 am.)

We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

Wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Hotel Vijay.

Thank you
Manager,
Hotel Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#25 of 54 in Madurai
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#36 of 54 in Madurai
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#49 of 54 in Madurai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prem Nivas Hotel
Prem Nivas Hotel
#28 of 54 in Madurai
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#29 of 54 in Madurai
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vijay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vijay

Property: Hotel Vijay
Address: 122 Tpk Road | Near Periyar Shopping Complex Bus Stand, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vijay 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Hotel(Lodge)located at the heart of the city, near to Railway station, airport. Very near to Meenakshi Amman Temple. Centrally located to other tourist spot around Madurai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vijay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing