We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat and clean room”
Review of Hotel Vijay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vijay
Imphal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neat and clean room”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Staying at Hotel Vijay, Madurai was excellent at an affordable rate. The rooms are clean and its near the railway station and Meenakshi Amman Temple that adds to the advantage for new comers at Madurai. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chingkhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

I have shared your encouraging comments with my Staff and they are all very happy.

Thanks once again for providing us 5 star rating. Your feedback will serve as a source of inspiration for us.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry @ low budget tariff.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Special thanks for your recommendation and for the title “Neat and clean room”.

The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you
Manager
9443312021
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    37
    12
    14
See reviews for
66
18
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Only the location of the hotel is an advantage, I stayed in a Deluxe Non-AC room, restroom flush is not working, no hot water facility after 9 a.m or so, and water leak which is disgusting. Also TV remote is not working. If we ask for a water bottle or any service, the room service boy asking money (which is more than the MRP of the product) on the delivery time itself, which is annoying.
I do not wish to select this hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Ananth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
We have paid close attention to all your comments. I assure you that we will do all we can to improve the matters you have brought to our attention.

Thank you
Manager,
Hotel Vijay, Madurai
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have spent about three days in this hotel and we were a group of joint family we booked two rooms one is delux and other one is non delux through cleartrip we all from andaman and we visit madurai for treatment purpose at arvind eye hospital all over our trip was very good and hotel manager and staffs were found by us very cooperative and helpfull good hotel for comfort stay according to us .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank S.rahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry @ low budget tariff.

I have shared your encouraging comments with my Staff and they are all very happy.
The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you
Manager,
Hotel Vijay, Madurai
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our train arrived very early in the morning, so we booked for 2 nights. However, when you check in early in the morning, the first night is passed already. Because of their policy of 24 hours check-in, we had to leave again after 24 hours. So, pay for 48 hours and get only 24 hours. Terrible and undiscerning.
The room was oke with hot water.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Johannes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time in completing Hotel Vijay, Feedback form in Trip Advisor.

Hotel Check-in and check-out policy is 24hrs. Your reservation was made via cleartrip. clear trip standard check-in policy is 12 to 12. You can change the check-in and check-out time by mentioning in special request at the time of reservation. We kept your room ready as per your reservation time.

Due to late train and as you requested checkin time was extended by me (17th February 6:50 am to 18th Feb 6:50 am.)

We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

Wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Hotel Vijay.

Thank you
Manager,
Hotel Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Decent enough room. Central location walking distance to sights and good places to eat enroute. Window view of wall was a bit of a shame though and shower wasn't great but bearable. Would recommend for a cheap short stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank laj_graffiti_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you
Manager
9443312021
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed there for a week. Hotel is acceptable but no service. No bedsheets changed. No soaps. Dirty towels. No cleaning of rooms while u stay. Wifi is wrongly advertised. Password is given for 20mb for your entire stay, but never worked. Managers are useless lot. Owner not available at any time. Language big problem with staff. No heed to complains.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nadeemkazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your first review in tripadvisor.

We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry @ low budget tariff.

The wifi we offer is 20 mb per day. In the voucher that we provided we have mention the same ‘20 mb per day’ I think that is sufficient amount to surf and check email. For example if you stay for a week you get 20X7-140 mb. If the guest request we provide them 50mb per day additionally. This limitation is made so that guest does not misuse the network. We checked with our wi-fi log and you have used out service. Now we are offering 100 mb per day.

Rooms are cleaned when guest request to clean or replace towel etc. Your room was cleaned 2 times and shifted from Ac to non Ac

The house keeping staff can understand only local language (Tamil). Front office staff can understand and reply you in English and Hindi.

Wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Hotel Vijay.

Thank you
Manager
Hotel Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

It took us 7 hours to get a room here and we had booked months ahead. The problem was, nothing worked and all the rooms were filthy (we looked at several) The scum in one bathroom looked like something out of a sci fi movie. Also blood stained sheets (bed bugs) and thick dust all over every thing.

The staff were abrupt and the bigger of the two managers even shouted at me at one point for trying to get a refund so we could stay else where.

The guy that opened the door to our room (and that is all he did) then said "tip tip" in an abrupt manor and stood in the door way shaking his opened palm. trying to get out of it without causing a another problem I said "no change" to which he pulled out a wad of tens and said "I have change give me tip" at this point I told him to clear off.

Upon leaving the hotel the bigger guy forcefully kept us at the hotel till we paid an extra 440 which I refused until I had literally no more time to argue as our bus was arriving.

My partner and I both felt gutted after a short stay here not only that we felt conned.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leighleigh269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, General Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Foreign Guest,

We are sorry that my hotel did not meet your standards. (foreign guest).

First I would like to convey you that my hotel is budget hotel and we have basic amenities. It is not a star or luxury hotel as you expected. And this might led you to give feedback like this.

We offer best services and hospitality that we can do.

The first line of your feedback itself explains that this feedback is fault information. You have conveyed that it took 7 hours to get a room. My hotel is centrally located (5 mins walk from Railway station, Adjacent to Periyar bus stand) I don’t know what made you to take 7 hrs to locate my Hotel. You would have called us via phone to help you to locate or asked a cab to take you.

Your check-in time is 6:00am which you have mentioned in hotel voucher and the room was provided as soon as you reached the hotel by 6:00am (Kindly refer the voucher)

This room was booked through our partner website and in the voucher they have clearly printed that you have booked a single room for 1 person (Refer voucher). But you came along with your partner. We don’t allow two persons in one single bed room this was explained to you at the time of check-in. We provided you double bed room and the difference amount was Rs. 440 ( 2 days) You can check this with the agent you booked. After one day stay you have requested for refund which is not possible as this booking was not done directly with us. You would have called the toll free number given in the voucher and request for the refund instead you started to shout at us for refund which is worst part. We don’t have any bed bugs in our hotel. Pest control is done regularly and no hard dust in the rooms.

(Second day) Upon leaving the hotel, you and your partner left out of my hotel without any prior information, without settlement of balance rupees, my staff running back of you to collect the balance and to complete the checkout formalities which was the worst experience we had.

If you feel we have collected extra amount then check with the agent you booked and find out the charge for Double bed non Ac rooms. Also cross check with them whether 2 persons can stay in the room that you have booked (single bed non Ac room). If not email us so that we can explain you again.

We have paid attention to all your comments and we will do the best that we can.

Thank you
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#25 of 54 in Madurai
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#36 of 54 in Madurai
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#49 of 54 in Madurai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#29 of 54 in Madurai
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prem Nivas Hotel
Prem Nivas Hotel
#28 of 54 in Madurai
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vijay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vijay

Property: Hotel Vijay
Address: 122 Tpk Road | Near Periyar Shopping Complex Bus Stand, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vijay 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Hotel(Lodge)located at the heart of the city, near to Railway station, airport. Very near to Meenakshi Amman Temple. Centrally located to other tourist spot around Madurai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vijay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing