We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Vijay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vijay
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The checkin process was very quick and rooms were neat and clean with hot water facility. Room service was good. Excellent location, close to Meenakshi Amman temple and railway station. Overall nice budget hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Anand N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you
Manager
9443312021
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    36
    12
    14
See reviews for
65
18
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Rooms were small but clean. Front desk staff were helpful and helped me a lot for travelling to Rameswaram and always helped me. But room service is not good, that is the only thing this hotel has to improve.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Amay Kumar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to leave your feedback in tripadvisor regarding your stay at Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

I have shared your comment regarding lack of room service. Step would be taken to speed up the room service.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you
Manager
9443312021
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 4am from a night bus. They let me in immediately and informed me booking is 24 hrs. Good thing, I did the have to wait for check in time of 12 noon.
Clean enough, basic. Don't expect much assistance from staff though. Not a place to linger. A passable place to rest before exploring the temples then catching the next night bus.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kareeza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

Our sincerest gratitude for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry.

The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Regards,
Manager
Hotel Vijay
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Value for money. very good/maintained rooms. No restaurant in the hotel but in the vicinity you have plenty. Very good attitude of the hotel staff. I was in touch with Praveen till my check in (booked the room one week before). A/c, room cleanliness, lift everything was good.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a value for money/ budget hotel, go for it. Walkable to Meenakshi temple and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vinod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

Our sincerest gratitude for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback.

I have shared your encouraging comments with my Staff and he is very happy

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Special thanks for adding room tip " If you are looking for a value for money/ budget hotel, go for it. Walk-able to Meenakshi temple ...."

The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Regards,
Manager
Hotel Vijay
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for one day to visit meenakshi amman temple.



Plus

Location- near to temple and railway station

Price – searched many hotels but I couldn’t find a Double bed Ac room for Rs. 990

Rooms- Newly renovated rooms.



Minus

No restaurant. But Restaurant is available opposite to hotel

Limited car parking

11X11 room size

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjunsingh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Vijay, Madurai.

Our sincerest gratitude for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team at Hotel Vijay would look forward to welcome you back.

Regards,
Manager
Hotel Vijay
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

service was worst. front office staff never smiled nor shown any courtesy to the customers. wi fi was not available; house keeper was drunk during day time itself. though room interior was good, the same could not be enjoyed for the worst service and other value added facilities. even for a bed sheet, it was to be followed up and reminded.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, General Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

First I would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate for bringing to our notice directly with us when you were here at Hotel Vijay and we accept all form of feedback that will help to improve our service.

When you reported that bell boy was drunk the front office in charge immediately took necessary steps. As the Front office was handling this situation he failed to smile at you. Later bell boy was replaced with another person and this took little bit time to provide you bed sheet. Please accept our apologies.

Happy to know that you loved room interior. Hotel rooms are newly renovated.

Assure you that necessary steps and training to staff will be conducted to avoid such re- occurrences in future

Sincere apologies for not being able to stand up to our commitment of service. Hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you.

Feel free to contact us at +91 94437 11234

General Manager
For Hotel Vijay
04522336321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was a solo female traveler visiting the city only for a day for the temple. hence i decided to go for an economical option which was near to the railway station. It is about 10 minutes walking distance from the station and about 1 km from the temple. Exterior of the hotel is not very promising and it looked scary from outside. I got scared from the safety point of view. room was ok but not very clean. it was value for money overall but with jittery feeling for few hours.

Room Tip: go for AC room and not facing the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenakothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel17, General Manager at Hotel Vijay, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for sparing your time in completing our Feedback Form in TripAdvisor.

At the time of your arrival exterior painting work was going on. We apologise for the inconvenience that this may have caused to you.

Hotel building is secured with CCTV cameras and full time staff is available at Front office who watches these security cameras.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors

If you have any clarification please don’t hesitate to call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#22 of 54 in Madurai
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#34 of 54 in Madurai
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#26 of 54 in Madurai
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#49 of 54 in Madurai
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vijay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vijay

Property: Hotel Vijay
Address: 122 Tpk Road | Near Periyar Shopping Complex Bus Stand, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vijay 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Hotel(Lodge)located at the heart of the city, near to Railway station, airport. Very near to Meenakshi Amman Temple. Centrally located to other tourist spot around Madurai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vijay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing