We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Awesome”
Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heritage Madurai
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The stay was good . Never have we expected to see a pool in the cottage. The place was green and clean, also spacious. The staff were helpful but they lack the common language, English .
The service was slow even when the tables were empty .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Mr. Abhishek,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!!!

Thank you for staying at Heritage Madurai recently and we are indeed delighted having you with us. The entire team and I strongly believe that it is only through comments like yours that will give us the opportunity to improve and becomes the best.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Madurai. Your comments are very enlightening and inspiring and will be a foundation of motivation for us as we try to achieve even higher standards of impeccable service we cater to our discerning clients.

Best Regards,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Unfortunately we only had one night here. Our standard room was in a two storey villa and I would guess was originally bachelor quarters for expatriates working in Madurai. Our room was large, sparsely, but adequately furnished, with a huge shower room and toilet facilities. access to the bedroom was from a communal verandah serving the two rooms which came off it. The ceilings were high reflecting the colonial pre A/C era when coolth was achieved by shade, high ceilings and fans. Having a beer on the verandah evoked the spirit and feel of the era when the buildings were new.
Wi-fi in our room was at first non-existent, but after we informed reception of our problem, someone came around and rebooted the system in our villa. Wi-fi then worked, although not that well, but I suspect that the problem was with the internet provider not the hotel.
The hotel could do with a tidy and paint job as it was a little run down, but in a way this added to the feel of heritage and history.
Dinner and breakfast were buffet style and good although not outstanding.
I would have liked to have seen the rest of the property, but unfortunately we arrive when it was almost dark and left after breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your valuable review on TripAdvisor about Heritage, Madurai!

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel and that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.

We value your feedback; as it is feedback from esteemed guest like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

Your feedback is most valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit assuring you of our best services and personalized attention at all times.

Best Regards,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Resort is good. When you read the history of the Heritage Resort, it makes you feel better. But all said and done, it is a little over-priced, guess all heritage resorts are. The cottages are huge and beautiful. There are small private splash pools, which are actually too small. The food was surprisingly good and so was the hospitality. It definitely is a good place if one intends to spend good quality time with family and friends. One feature which was quite unique for the resort was the toilet and the bathing area. These are next to the splash pool and are open (without a door). It sounds a little weird, but the experience is quite liberating.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bigger splash pool if you like your own private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anamica_Banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!!

We are happy to know that, you had a very pleasant stay and heritage experience during your stay at our resort.

While taking your positive comments on board, we truly value your feedback that will enable us to know how our services are evaluated and where attention and improvement are required to get our Valued Customers satisfied in accomplishing our commitment towards Customers Satisfaction. We will certainly try our best to improve on the aspects as suggested by you in your valuable review.

Assuring of our best services at all times, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a nice stay for a couple of days when checking out Madurais temples. You get good service, good food, and probably good value for your money. Its also close enough to the scenery. My whole family enjoyed it.

Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henning K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHeritage, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!!

We greatly appreciate your valuable time to post your wonderful review in Trip Advisor. We are also happy to know that your Family enjoyed the stay at our resort. Thank you for your nice compliments about rooms, food and services.

We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great property to stay on a visit to Madurai, pretty close to the center of the city and the Meenakshi temple. Stayed in a deluxe room which was huge complete with separate dressing and large bath. There is a temple tank like pool and a spa. There are also villas in the grounds. The food in the restaurant is amazing. Do not go for the buffet which is a selection of mostly international food, they have authentic madurai food if you care to ask the staff waiting on you. Breakfast was a mix of good spread too. The staff are pretty attentive and efficient.
Things that need to be improved..
1. The toilets need a bucket to cater to local people as there is no hand shower or shower cap.
2. Toilet flooring needs a good scrub
3. Room positively needs a fan
4. Gardens are huge with a lot native plants and trees. Maintenance is poor though, baring the front areas where there are lush lawns and water bodies.
5. Noise in the rear area of the property from the factory behind is annoying
6. Mattress is very hard
7. Something should be done about insects invading the room.
Overall experience was good though it would be a lot better if some effort was put into rectifying the glitches.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHeritage, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!!!

We sincerely thank you for taking your valuable time to post your review in the Trip Advisor.
We honestly believe that it is our customers' feedback that helps us to improvise on our services and really welcome your feedback.

We would also look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for a refreshing Heritage Hospitality Experience when you visit to Madurai next time.

Best Regards,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a lovely resort not far from the heart of town. Having stayed in numerous hotels, I am always on the lookout for properties such as the Heritage Madurai which is unique in so many ways. This is on a huge 17 acre plot consisting of bungalow style cottages and rooms. I am told that this once used to be the club and guest house of a large corporate. The entire place has a British colonial feel fused with the local architecture. The rooms are large but look stark and dull owing to the lack of color. The bath is also huge, but the granite floor is badly stained. However, the rooms and bath are clean. Reception is slow but friendly. The large temple tank style pool, the reception area, the outdoor restaurant, the stone column corridors are all magical and truly transform this place.
On the complaints section - There is a factory on one side of the property and it is very noisy in the night. Also the outer aircon unit 'sneezes' at regular intervals throughout the night and is a sleep killer. The bed is hard and the quilted blankets are too thick. There are no fans in the rooms and mosquitoes and insects raid the room in the night. WIFI is unbelievably slow.
Despite all this, the Heritage Madurai is a magical place. In the right hands this could be an outstanding place!

Room Tip: There is a factory on the left side of the property (on the left) avoid rooms that are close to this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHeritage, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings for the Heritage Madurai!!!

We are happy to know that you had a fantastic and heritage experience during your stay at our hotel.

We, the entire team of Heritage Madurai glad to know that overall you had an enjoyable experience with us. I would like to thank you for your positive comments with regards to the resort and its facilities which you found to be clean and well maintained, as well the swimming pool which you felt was great.

Your feedback is extremely important for us allowing us to continually improve our services. I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, and please rest assured that I have personally discussed this with the respective department heads for immediate attention in order to avoid similar recurrences in the future.

Regards,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel with historic charm is spread across many acres of green lands, hotel buildings, a huge pool, main reception area and more including its own small temple. We received a warm welcome upon entering including refreshments and flowers. Our rooms were spread out throughout the grounds mostly in multi-level bungalows or villas. The room 3207 was located far from the main reception site and the hotel internet did not work in the room. You could 'borrow' wifi from somewhere. The bathroom was huge with shower and foot shower only. A/C worked well. The atmosphere of the hotel is old-world South India and overall it has a luxury feel and provides an enchanting environment at the end of the day. The coffee shop service was very very slow. Best to do a buffet if dining there. Note: reception is open and no A/C.

Room Tip: The distance from the rooms to the reception can be quiet a ways. You may want to ask for something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHeritage, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

Heritage Madurai is an example of unique creation and one of the major attractions in Madurai.

We are very concerned to read your review with regards to your overall experience with us, as we value all our guest feedback I would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak to you personally and request you to contact us directly on gm@heritagemadurai.com. Your comments with regard to the service at the coffee shop & Wi-Fi connectivity have been noted for further execution.

Once again, our sincere apologies for any disappointment caused and I truly do hope that your experience on this occasion will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#1 of 57 in Madurai
649 reviews
2.2 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 57 in Madurai
433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 57 in Madurai
240 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#7 of 57 in Madurai
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Address: 11 Melakkal Main Road, Madurai 625016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madurai
#3 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#3 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range: $79 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing