We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritage Madurai
Nearby Hotels
The SPK Hotel(Madurai)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$47
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$62
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,750)
Filter reviews
1,750 results
Traveler rating
935
549
169
62
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
935
549
169
62
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolluxury villatemple tankbanyan restaurantgeoffrey bawabanyan treean oasisbusy citymadura coatschef mra la cartebeautiful propertysouthern indiarooms are largedeluxe roomold world charmindian food
Filter
Updating list...
1,178 - 1,183 of 1,750 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Room OK, dark and old, but OK. Plunge pool uninviting to say the least - not quite sure when last cleaned. Restaurant designed to amplify sound. Head waiter apologised twice for slow service. Next day lunch we ate outside, very few guests around. A cold beer took 20 minutes, a bowl of packet soup 30 minutes and a samosa cooked to cannonball consistancy on the outside and cold inside took 40 minutes. We ate elsewhere in the evening. The pool is a white marble lined hole in the ground that reflects heat from every direction. The pool attendant was positively venal. The spa was closed but someone appeared from somewhere and said that they'd open it. No thank you. On check-out the questionnaire form allowed only "excellent/good/average" - no wonder nobody rates this as bad.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richardxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings of the day!!!

While we thank you for taking out your time to voice your concerns, we are extremely sorry for all the inconveniences caused to you during your stay at our hotel. We have taken up your issues to the concerned department heads for taking necessary steps for rectifying them. We sincerely invite you to visit to our hotel again to experience the real Heritage Hospitality that is being cherished by our many esteemed customers.

With Best regards.

Neranjan Morais
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for two days with my parents. Thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, and the excellent service provided by your staff. Will definitely recommend to others visiting Madurai. Breakfast was excellent, and we appreciated the landscaping and effort to preserve the old banyan trees.

Room Tip: Personal swimming pool for luxury cottages
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinu31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

We feel happy to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with your parents here in the hotel. We are also grateful to you for recommending others to visit this place through the Trip Advisor.

We would look forward to welcome you back to Heritage Madurai in the near future.

Kind regards.

Neranjan Morais
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you are a fan of Geoffrey Bawa, this hotel will provide an opportunity to experience one of his designs. Use of granite is excellent, pillars, bathrooms, courtyards etc. Although situated in the city itself, once you enter the vicinity of the hotel, a sense of tranquil pervades and helps to calm you down after a day out in the city sight seeing.

We stayed in the luxury villa which came with it's own plunge pool. Interior of the room was tastefully arranged. only complaint I have with the hotel is mosquitoes. You can't have your meal outdoors as the mosquitoes will eat you alive. Other than that, service was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

We tried the spa (head, foot and full body massage), the masseurs were excellent. Their techniques were excellent, put you to ease and you come out refreshed.

Restaurant food selection can be further improved. i would have preferred if frying of dishes could be done outside of the restaurant as the smoke tends to linger in and sticks to your clothes.

Room Tip: If you are getting a villa, get one that's far away from the perimeter of the hotel else you will be exposed to road noise. Corner villas have all round windows hence much nicer.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shankark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Esteemed guest,

We are really happy and grateful for your pleasant and narrative review in the Trip Advisor of our hotel’s architecture, room interiors, plunge pool, restaurant service and refreshing spa services. Heritage Madurai is a Resort in the Temple city of Madurai and it has the pride of architecture by the renowned Sri Lankan architect Geoffrey Bawa.

Taking your positive feedback on board, we would like to say that we have taken all precautions to reduce the mosquitoes menace to larger extent; nevertheless we shall keep on putting our hard efforts to drastically control the mosquitoes. We believe that it is our customers' feedback that gives us immense strength in our commitment to get our customers satisfied in our services at all times.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to experience Heritage Hospitality again in your next visit.

With best regards.

Neranjan Morais
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Checked in at night and quite impressed with the reception and main block. The rooms were situated in independent blocks away from main reception.
Each block had a handful of rooms, spacious clean and well appointed. Ordered traditional Indian food from the rooms. Service was good and food was great, though a bit spicy.
Next morning took a pleasant walk around the property and went for breakfast at the main block. Enjoyed breakfast inside, since outside was humid.
After that kids enjoyed traditional pot making and weaving. Swung from the long vines of the old Banyan trees. Also enjoyed the swimming pool shaped like the traditional ponds of Temples of Madurai.
Staffs were courteous and alert.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank najmudin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Esteemed Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had great times with your family & kids at Heritage Madurai. We are thankful for your nice comments about our rooms, food, service and staffs. We will strive hard to deliver the best to get our customers satisfied in our services at all times.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again,

With kind regards.

Neranjan Morais
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is one of the best resorts I've ever seen and a lovable one too. It has an awesome gigantic swimming Pool with an outdoor coffee shop where you can enjoy the beauty of nature with your loved ones.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Reginald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews