We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“magnifique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Madurai
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“magnifique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Most beautiful hotel , with a pool in room! loved every day spent here.
Staff are helpful and very nice. Food is also the best for the entire holiday we have had.
Pool has ozone water which is good for the skin.
Quite , beautiful garden with lot of old trees.
Good spa

Room Tip: room with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the hotel and we our delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a refreshing Heritage Hospitality Experience when you next visit Madurai.

Kind regards,
Neranjan Morais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    425
    119
    39
    18
See reviews for
336
485
52
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Well we travelled to madurai for a relaxed holiday and to celebrate my daughter's bday .... My stay was good ... But there were a few set backs ... Firstly I asked the front desk to give us a 1 hr extension to check out that is 12 noon .. But their response was like sorry maam we are running full and that nothing can b done about it ... We had booked three rooms .. One luxury pool villa and two deluxe room ... I was really angry because I had travelled with my in laws n told them that they were specific that they wanted to leave only after 12 because of Rahu Kalam as it was a Friday ... Secondly delay in finalizing my billing it took them more then an hour ... The billing was a mess ... I was asked to initially pay n extra of 29750 Rs and then I asked for a detail billing after verifying it the bill was drastically brought down 14750 Rs ... And then asking us to pay for coke which we had already paid when it was delivered to the room itself .... I was not happy at all ... Except for d time I spent swimming n doing other activities like pottery n saree weaving

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabithaReddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

At the outset, we would like to express my thanks to you for posting some positive comments in the Trip Advisor regarding your good times in swimming, pottery and saree weaving. Simultaneously, we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your check-out.

With all reverence to you as our valued customer, we would like to submit that all this mishap happened in the billing process due to the sudden technical problem that crept in the system which was entirely out of our hands. We have taken up the matter with the concerned technical person and got it rectified immediately. Further, we would like to inform that we were expecting a group arrival by 12 noon that day and we had to make up our rooms ready for them. That is why we could not extend your stay beyond the time. We are very much apologizing for all the inconvenience caused to you in this regard.
We always believe ‘The customer is king” and truly follow the Sanskrit verse ‘Athiti devo Bhava’ which is tag line of India’s Ministry of Tourism’s campaign. If your experience is different from what we practice, it is matter of great concern to us.

We are also greatly grateful to you for all your valuable comments and we shall ensure that we sincerely strive hard to our best to get our customers satisfied in our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you to our Hotel again,

With kind regards,


Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We least expected such a wonderful resort in the heart of a bustling city.Its more beautiful seen than it is in the photographs.
The gardens are truly the highlight of this hotel. They are green and charming with birds, squirrels and butterflies! We had to tear ourselves away from nature gazing to take a tour of the city.
The food and service are of high standard.The rooms are gloriously decadent with pools and deep mattresses.We were very pleased with our stay here and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The large rooms with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday in India and for sharing your experiences on Trip Advisor.

Looking forward to see you again very soon at our resort & kindly recommend us among your friends & relatives.

Kind regards,
Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The setting is delightful with rooms dotted around a park like setting. Most rooms had their own plunge pools and modern wet room style bathrooms. The rooms themselves were palatial. Staff were friendly and efficient and the chef went out of his way to satisfy the culinary needs of our party.
For us a highlight was spotting a family of mongoose just outside the restaurant by the pool.
The fitness room was a bit basic but this is a small quibble in what was a very pleasant and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the distance from the main block. Some rooms ar near the busy side street . Ask for a centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had a relaxing and pleasant stay in our hotel. Your feedback gives us a great boost in our commitment to serve our customers still in better ways.

As this property is meant to be eco-friendly, we have a village style set up full up of gardens with domestic birds in natural atmosphere inside the hotel. Thank you for comments and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.


Kind Regards,

Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

After reading several reviews we decided on Heritage madurai as it had good feedback from travellers and from the pictures seemed captivating.
We had booked a taxi pick-up from the airport as we wanted a reliable service. The hotel had arranged for this. The driver was courteous and knew the city. We were given a refreshing welcome drink and checked-in to the villa room. This was the great surprise!! Two large spacious rooms with a private splash pool.The temple tree in the pool gave it a truly idyllic experience.
The restaurant serves excellent food and we tried the famous dosas and crab curry. This was moderate and not too spicy. The serivce was good and the staff helped with suggestions on the menu.
We spent a whole afternoon in the pool which is a sunken pool and has granite steps like a temple tank. The place is very quiet and you forget that you are in a bustling city. But nature is all around you and the birds call through the day. We were booked for 3 days but could have spent a whole week.
The rates are moderate and general service is good. A great value for money!!

Room Tip: villa rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alagu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stays with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an excellent choice. The hotel is located on the grounds of a former British country club, not far from the city center and the temple. Some buildings are renovated club structures, some are architect designed to match the style. A new swimming pool resembling a traditional step well is fed with artesian waters and does not appear to use chlorine. While all rooms we have seen were very nice, one must be aware that the hotel property borders a transmission belt factory and the factory noise is definitely bothersome in some rooms. When we complained about it, the manager found us a quiet room which also happened to be an upgrade (at no additional charge) . The next day we realized that we need a day room since our train did not depart until 11PM. Again, the manager, Joby Jose, agreed to let us keep our room until late that evening at a very reasonable rate. The food at the hotel is good and after trying a highly rated downtown roof top restaurant the night before, eating at the hotel turned out to be a pleasant surprise.
We recommend this hotel as a great place to retreat from the congested streets of Madurai. The hotel management is responsive, friendly, and helpful, and the accommodations are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the transmission belt factory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMOK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are delighted to note that you have had a comfortable stay with us and your appreciation motivates us to scale new heights.

We look forward to your return with much excitement!!

With kind regards,

Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The whole resort is built in an outstanding manner and is an oasis of peace. The villas with their spacious rooms and the plunge pool are brilliant. The common swimming pool built like a temple pool looks/feels much better than can be gauged from photos. The coffee shop is a pleasant place to be where one can hear birds chirping. Maintenance of the rooms and whole place is well done. A place worth visiting/revisiting.
Some negative points which we experienced. 1) The reservation process was very poor. I had done by phone/email and I had to do multiple follow up and some movement happened only when I wrote to the corporate office. 2) being more convenient, we had hired a car in the morning for a tour. The charges are double of what the charges were when I booked a car through Fasttrack in the afternoon. Higher charges are ok and expected, what is not expected is dishonesty at a resort like this, even if amount concerned is small. After the trip, reception called me and informed me of the charges. As I was aware of the exact kilometres/time taken, I pointed out. Immediately the reception changed the amount. Not sure whether the travel agent or reception desk is skimming off. 3) Christmas Eve dinner had a broad spread, but food quality was average 4) poor service from reception overall. Even for checking out, there were delays in sending the buggy (same is needed as car park a distance away) or bell boy to help wit luggage ( even after I gave feedback to a lady at the reception).

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Venkatesht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time in writing a review about our hotel stating it is an oasis of peace.
With regard to your negative experiences, we are truly concerned about the matters and we are extremely sorry for all the inconvenience caused during your stay. The matters were thoroughly discussed with the concerned heads of departments to have them rectified.

As a matter of fact, we have been always striving hard to our best to get our esteemed customers satisfied in all aspects. We always believe ‘The customer is king” and truly follow the Sanskrit verse ‘Athiti devo Bhava’ which is tag line of India’s Ministry of Tourism’s campaign. If your experience is different from what we practice, it is matter of great concern to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel to experience the true Heritage hospitality,

Kind Regards,

Neranjan Morais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
2.3 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
#15 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Property: Heritage Madurai
Address: 11 Melakkal Main Road, Madurai 625016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#2 Family Hotel in Madurai
#3 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing