We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic comfort”
Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Madurai
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic comfort”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

An oasis of comfort in Madurai. It was apparently the old Madura Coats Club and has retained its old courtliness and grandeur. Fantastic suites with private plunge pools.Wonderful large swimming pool, a great golf simulator, interesting Chettinad Village with a person to help initiate you into pottery. Good gym, table tennis and activities for everyone. The authentic Chettinad food was the high light of our stay. A must repeat for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girishpunja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Mr. Girish Punja,
Greetings from Heritage Madurai !!!!
We are delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay at Heritage Madurai. Entire team at Heritage Madurai joins me in thanking you for giving us an opportunity to serve you.
Our service philosophy focuses on ensuring that our team is committed to provide personalized experience with care and comfort to our guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your near future.
Thank you,
Kind regards...
Joby Jose
Asst. Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    448
    132
    43
    19
See reviews for
356
503
57
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Went in November, travelled with a friend. Rooms are very spacious and confortable. Swimming pool is fab. Staff always very courteous and helpful. Would recommend more choices of international food at the restaurant though - we went for vegetarian for starter and main course and unfortunately it was way too spicy... Overall we were very happy with the hotel and would definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: if you are lookin for a quiet spot in Madurai, definitelly the right place to go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai !!!!

We sincerely thank you for your review from your stay at our hotel. Entire team at Heritage Madurai delighted when we shared your valuable review. We looking forward to welcome you at Heritage Madurai with your Friends and Relatives.

Kind Regards...

Joby Jose
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
230 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Overall, we were pleased with the Heritage Madurai. It was certainly a calming oasis, with lots of greenery, flowers, beautiful trees. The buildings are quite lovely, and we enjoyed a swim in the huge pool. The staffs were all very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. The buffet was certainly adequate and food tasty. But there were some minor misses - lots of mosquitos in the dining area for one thing. Also, as we arrived early one morning by train, we were requested to pay for an extra 1/2 day in order to check in early. This we did willingly, but were then told we needed to pay extra yet again to partake of the morning breakfast buffet. We went to the front desk to complain, and the breakfast buffet was then provided as complimentary. However, when we requested airport transport upon leaving, we were aghast that we were charged 700 rupees for a 40 minute taxi ride. This was almost double what any other hotel charged us in India. Most of the better hotels provided free airport transport. If we go back to Madurai, I would probably stay here again, but would definitely arrange for my own transport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eramakri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your review from your stay at our hotel. Although you seemed to enjoy most aspects of your stay, we take our guest's feedback seriously and therefore would like you to know that we have investigated all suggestions of your stay to help us improve our services!

With regards to our Airport transfer prices we feel it is very reasonable for the levels of comfort and overall Safety we offer from a 5 star standard hotel and I understand you felt the prices for the same is double charged.

It was just 13 $ including Govt. Tax which is very reasonable cost for the 40 minutes drive.

For your valuable suggestion with regards to Breakfast on your departure day , we have given the necessary training and coaching and this would not be repeated in the future.

Our service philosophy focuses on ensuring that our team is committed to provide personalized experience withe care and comfort to our Guests.

Heritage Madurai is renowned for its great services and our team will strive hard to maintain our standards at all times.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Thank You & Kind Regards....

Joby Jose
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The location of this hotel is near the main tourist attraction which is minakshi temple. the food is good . Tell in advance if you need Jain Meal . Cool place to stay and rest . Service is good and room size are moderate to fit for family of 3 person. In all this is value for money and good hotel for a place like madurai.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VVVVYAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai !!!!

We sincerely thank you for your review from your stay at our hotel. We are at Heritage Madurai Happy to hear that you are impressed with our hotel, Food and services. We certainly looking forward to welcome you at Heritage Madurai with your Friends and Relatives in near future.

Kind Regards...

Joby Jose
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is my second visit to the hotel and it has transformed beautifully!
I was first here when they opened in 2009 and what then seemed like a potentially good place has become a gracious world class hotel.
I traveled with my parents and children on a 7 day temple tour , 2 days of which were spent in Madurai.The hotel is grand and spacious, with tropical gardens. The rooms with the private pool are stunning. We spent quite a lot of time relaxing and being pampered. The spa is very good too.
The staff were very helpful, helping us carry our bags, offering assistance to my parents and going out of the way for their special requirements.The food is excellent, lots of variety and they have chaat!! which we all love.
We would definitely like to come here again on a family vacation.

Room Tip: a truly fabulous property
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Heritage Madurai !!!!
We are delighted to note that you had a nice & comfortable stay with us and your appreciation motivates us to scale new heights.
Our service philosophy focuses on ensuring that our team is committed to provide personalized experience with care and comfort to our Guests.

The Tropical trees inside our campus are very old and there is a Banyan Tree near to the Restaurant which is more than 300 years old.

Heritage Madurai is renowned for its great services and our team will strive hard to maintain our standards at all times.
Chef and his team are delighted when we share your comment about the food.
We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in near future.

Thank you
Kind Regards...
Joby Jose
Asst. Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend and I were breathtaken by the rooms with the private pools, i would recommend to everyone looking for a place to stay in Madurai. The staff is very helpful and speak reasonable english. The food is good, a nice variety between indian and continental dishes, there is enough choice to satisfy anybody at dinner or breakfast. The pool is amazing and the bar has a nice choice of alcohol :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SirReviewalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Max & Celia,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai !!!!

We are delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stays at Heritage Madurai. Entire team at Heritage Madurai joins me in thanking you for giving us an opportunity to serve you.

Our service philosophy focuses on ensuring that our team is committed to provide personalized experience with care and comfort to our guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your near future.

Thank you,
Kind regards...
Joby Jose
Asst. Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a wonderful and memorable experience during our stay at The Heritage in Madurai. From the moment we set foot at this beautiful serene resort to the time we departed the whole experience was truly enjoyable. The gracious Reception we received upon arrival, was warm and friendly. The staff catered to all our needs and requirements with a smile and were extremely hospitable. Special arrangements were made for sight seeing, and personal travel arrangements. The food was delectable and the chef was glad to cater to special requests. The suite was very spacious, clean, furnished beautifully and equipped with a private swimming pool, which was the icing on the cake. This is truly one of the best resorts we have stayed at. I would recommend it you to stay here if would like to have a great experience in Madurai.

Room Tip: Request for the suite and book your rooms in advance since this resort is booked soon by the discrim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SChalasani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neranjan M, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Heritage Madurai !!!!

We are delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay at Heritage Madurai. Entire team at Heritage Madurai joins me in thanking you for giving us an opportunity to serve you.

Our service philosophy focuses on ensuring that our team is committed to provide personalized experience with care and comfort to our guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your near future.

Thank you,
Kind regards...
Joby Jose
Asst. Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
2.2 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
3.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 54 in Madurai
196 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
#16 of 54 in Madurai
65 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#6 of 54 in Madurai
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Property: Heritage Madurai
Address: 11 Melakkal Main Road, Madurai 625016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#2 Family Hotel in Madurai
#3 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing