We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roof with a view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)

Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)
Ranked #11 of 225 Restaurants in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are located in Hotel Supreme. 1. The 1st open-air Roof-Top Restaurant in the city, located on the 7th floor. 2. A/C Restaurant located on the ground floor. 3. The 1st and still the only premium veg. Restaurants in the city. 4. Multi-Cuisine 5. Breathtaking view of the world famous Sri Meenakshi Temple. 6. We serve Jain food also.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
379 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Roof with a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at 6pm so we could see the sunset and the gopurams of the Meenakshi Temple light up and we had a great view, in fact most of the tables have a view. An added bonus was the ice cold beer and the food was better than average for a city business hotel too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Restaurant. We are pleased that you had a great time at our Restaurant. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    70
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent food and view...wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

all the food was yummy...couldn't finish everything! View of Temple was amazing and wonderful to witness at sunset. And, we were lucky enough to be there to witness fireworks at the end of a festival weekend!! Great night all the way around

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shadow_shadowboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Restaurant. We are pleased that you had a great time at our Restaurant and enjoyed our food!

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best way to spend an evening in Madurai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited the Surya restaurant based on the TripAdvisor reviews and the restaurant really justified the reviews. The view of the Meenakshi Amman Temple is truly amazing. I could not find a better way to spend the evening in Madurai.
Regarding the food, most of the dishes were tasty and perfectly cooked. The ambience of the place is top notch and is a perfect hangout place with friends.
The only drawback is the mosquitos. Damn! There were a lot of mosquitos and it really spoiled the mood. The prices are nominal considering the ambience and the view. The best time to visit is between 6-7PM.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arvind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Restaurant. We are pleased that you had a great time at our Restaurant and enjoyed our food! Yes, mosquitos are a major menace in our city and based on your complaint we have already taken steps to install machines against them. Looking forward to future visits from you.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent View in Madurai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really enjoy the view madurai Sri Meenakshi Temple excellent view from here if i suggest better go for evening and order something and get snap tatsol.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradeepthiagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Restaurant. We appreciate the same and welcome you to our Restaurant in the future. We will strive to exceed your expectations during your future visits to our Restaurant. Looking forward to serving you again!

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karaikal, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Visit for the temple view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have visited here only because of the temple view and view was amazing. But as for as the food is concerned it was very average and some were not good at all. Since it is continental cuisine, we ordered veg spring roll(average), Baked Potato with Garlic sauce(Not Good) and Triveni juice(average). One can visit this place only for Temple view, nothing else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Restaurant. We are indeed surprised that you found our dishes below your expectations. We have had mostly positive reviews from Trip Advisors for both the view from our Restaurant as well as the taste of the items in our menu. Nevertheless, we will strive to improve our taste so that we can exceed your expectations during your future visits to our Restaurant. Looking forward to serving you again!

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme) also viewed

 

Been to Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing