We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am coming back”

Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)
Ranked #12 of 227 Restaurants in Madurai
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are located in Hotel Supreme. 1. The 1st open-air Roof-Top Restaurant in the city, located on the 7th floor. 2. A/C Restaurant located on the ground floor. 3. The 1st and still the only premium veg. Restaurants in the city. 4. Multi-Cuisine 5. Breathtaking view of the world famous Sri Meenakshi Temple. 6. We serve Jain food also.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I am coming back”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

February 2012 we spent two days in madurai. We were taken to this roof top restauarant by our guide Vasanth.
This was a beautiful venue overlooking the temple with cool breezes and food and service equally as good. Everythig he ordered for us was outstanding. So much so that this February 2013 we are returning and shall be there again for sure. I hope i can talk to the chefs about the foods, what they were and ingredients if they have the time. Love learn more tamil cooking. Delicious.
thank you so much your restauarant is fabulous

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G-clayton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of our Restaurant. It's heart-warming when the efforts of the Management & Staff are appreciated.

We look forward to your visit again in February and urge you to try our other dishes too. We are confident that you would find them exceeding expectations. Time permitting, our chefs would be more than happy to share their knowledge.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    73
    27
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madurai, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Restaurant with different atmosphere.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Due to my one of my friend's advise I had been to the referred Hotel. Really, it is one of my best experiences with this HOTEL.They serve the best, delicious and fresh foods to our table. Our entire family enjoyed very much and pressed me to take them out for every weekend. I thought of my purse !!!!! But, due to their Hard work in our Home, I agreed and almost we have visited 3 times. I request others also to visit and convey to others.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThangamRegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest review! We strive to excel in service & quality and are pleased that our efforts are recognized. We welcome you & your family to our Restaurant and will strive to exceed expectations during all your visits here.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surya Restaurant”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not very crowded. Got a table quickly for lunch. Good Thali meals. Close to Park Plaza where we stayed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RSR_srini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest review. We are indeed pleased that you had a good time and appreciated our Thali meals, which is a speciality of our South Indian Chef. Looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca de Juárez, Oaxaca, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“surya restaurant in madurai”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I liked very much Surya. In the mornings they offer a very good buffet (south indian).Friendly and attentive staff. In the evenings is very nice at the top of the building....the air is fresh , you can see the sunset and temples

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to learn that you had a good time at our restaurant. We welcome you to visit us again during any of your future trips to Madurai.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Roof Top restaurant - Good views”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a place that can be visited once during your stay. Coming here in the early evening is perhaps best as you get a bird's eye view of Madurai.

A nighttime visit is OK, but not for the views - as the city is not well lit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gopal-Venkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Regret the late response!

We appreciate that you liked our Roof-Top restaurant and the view that it offers. We invite you to visit us again in your future trips to Madurai.

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme) also viewed

Madurai, Madurai District
Madurai, Madurai District
 
Madurai, Madurai District
 

Been to Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing