We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Central Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treebo Simap Residency(Madurai)(Great Value!)
$37
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moskva Hotel(Madurai)
$37
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
5
0
5
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
0
5
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslast monthstayed hererailway stationratesproperty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 17 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was by far the worst we stayed at in India. Dirty sheets, dirty room, bathroom had NEVER been cleaned, shower was a hose coming out of the wall. Reception staff were appalling. so unhelpful and rude. We asked for a towel and they bought us some that were so dirty we refused. The only good thing was that it was 24 hour check out so we were ok to leave our stuff there until our night train. The worst part about this hotel is that it was the most expensive! 1500 rupees for the 3 of us. We did shop around but alot of hotels were full and was late. had no choice but to take it. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickglenn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

To begin with the photos above (unless tripadvisor has removed them) are not of Grand Central Hotel.

I picked this hotel out of the L.P which lists a number of places in the area. With retrospect I probably should have checked some others but I was tired and couldn’t be bothered traipsing around.

My 420R room was not particularly clean. As is typical the double bed was two singles pushed together. Mattress' were in a bad way, pillow cases ripped. There was cable tv not that I watched it.

The bathroom was grim. Had obviously not been cleaned properly since... ever. The shower pressure was absolutely pathetic. I had to press myself against the wall to get under it.

Reception staff were ok but you're not gonna make any friends here.

One good thing about the hotel was the fact that checkout is 24 hour - you get the room for 24 hours.

I asked to keep it a couple of hours beyond the 24 (and offered to pay something extra) but was told I'd have to pay for another night.

There are plenty of other hotel options on this street as well as restaurants and internet cafés.

If you want to eat meat you could try Mahal Restaurant on Town Hall Rd (L.P listed.) The tandoori chicken was good. Though annoyingly the waiter stood over me waiting to see how much of a tip I was going to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews