We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with Disturbances and without Neatness” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saratha Rajans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Saratha Rajans
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Hotel with Disturbances and without Neatness”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in a double deluxe here for five days. The booking was done over the phone, and an email confirmation was received. We were picked up from the Madurai Railway Junction by a car sent by the Hotel but outsourced. The driver had problems of locating us and it took nearly half an hour for us to identify him. The car he had was a ramshackle Tata Indica, although, we had requested for a bigger vehicle. The journey to the hotel from the railway station took about 30 minutes. The hotel is located near the Madurai Rajaji General Government Hospital. As the room was not ready we were asked to wait. During this time we had snacks in the attached restaurant. The items were not up to the mark, and the coffee, tea and milk had an odour. After an hour of waiting we were ushered into our room. The first impression on entering the room was the smell of nausea that emitted from the attached bathroom. The room was large with a thoughtful wooden table on one side and a small wardrobe. The bed was king size. The sheets were dirty white. The mattress was hard, and the pillows too. The intercom was placed in a small table beside the bed. The toilet was unbearable with the western commode having stains, and a water flushing system that I had not seen anywhere in the world during any of my travels. It consisted of a knob that needed to be moved towards the left and had to be held for the water to flow. If it was released the water would stop. Hot water was not available, and I was told only from 0600 to 1000 h. Even during this period it was just lukewarm. WiFi was very efficient. The LCD TV was of good quality but spoilt by a local TV signal. There was no coffee or tea maker in the room. The room service was lax and had to be reminded again and again. On more than three occasions they had forgotten my room number. Laundry service was washing the clothes by hand, and we decided not to give. The hotel has two restaurants—one for vegetarian food and one for non-vegetarian food. We had food in the vegetarian restaurant during our stay. The vegetarian restaurant provided complimentary buffet food in the morning. This comprised of very basic south Indian food that were tasteless. We had to ask repeatedly for coconut chutney and other items. Bread was kept open and it was collecting all the dust. Leftovers in the breakfast were served during lunch and leftovers of lunch were served in dinner. Lunch options were costly ala carte and thali, whereas dinner was ala carte. The food was of poor quality. And what irritates the most is the waiter or the manager coming and opening up a conversation (how was the food, where are you going today and how was the trip yesterday) and us not being left alone. The personnel in the reception were also interested more in your local trips, thus bugging you. Chances of picking up an infection were high both from the room, the restaurant and the food. We picked up mineral water bottles (5 litres or 10 litres) from the shop outside as the hotel had only 1 litre bottles. Travel desk was most inefficient. The car they provided did not have a functional AC and we had to ask for another. The driver had problems of long distance driving beyond a certain period of time. The car provided to us on the four days were not fit to be used as cars for tourists. The proximity to the Hospital resulted in the sounds from the sirens of the ambulances disturbing all through the night and the day. The split AC was efficient in the room. And do tell the housekeeping and front desk not to clean the room in your absence. The check-in and check-out is 24 hours, and the hotel accepts all credit and debit cards. They supply a complimentary newspaper every morning, and do tell them the paper that you wish to get. The hotel is located about 7 km from the Madurai Railway Station and about 20 km from the Madurai Airport.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the kitchen side to avoid smoke in the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cancer_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSR, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Saratha Rajans, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Respected sir,
i kindly let you to know that we are very much disturbed by your review. and also i add that we have considered your review and we made lot of changes in our property . like now we using separate closed box for breads , and we are not renting cars from outside , we have our own cars with own hotel drivers , we have FIRST CLASS INNOVA , MAHINDRA VERITO, TOYATO ETIOS . we are very much learned by your review . we are not very close to the station but also we are not far . from the station to our hotel is only 3 kms . it takes hardly 10 to 15 mins . Airport is away from the city by 14 kms . we are only 14 kms away from the airport. i am begging your pardon for the attitude of our staffs by not letting you alone ,., i promise that this will not happen in future . Regarding food , we never compromise on the quality of food. we are well known for our thali meals in madurai . our thali meals are economic. no other 3* hotel in madurai will give at this low cost . normal thali meals 95 rs . special thali meals 125, madurai thali meals for 90 rs . its comprises , soup, two poriyal, two kootu, one chappathi, dal, one variety rice, sambar, rasam, puli kulambu, set curd, payasam, kesari, papadam, pickle . unlimited white rice. . we never rechaffaeing the foods, we maintain our hygiene standars of preparing food . chefs in the kitchen are more than 20 years of experience . they are employed from the begining of the hotel for 10 years . our sheets were white only sir, our lightings in the rooms was not white its LED LIGHT. the intercom was placed near the bed for easy access to it sir. we definetly change the settings of our flush systems sir,.hot water in the tap was only available in the morning from 4 am to 11 am the rest of time we use to give in manually by tubs .our complimentary break fast doesn't comprised of only south indian food . we provide fresh juice, breads, corn flakes, chocos, jams , marmalades, cutfruits, eggs on orders , and followed by idly, dosa, daily specials like idiyappam, aloo roti, etc , pongal, sambar, kesari, or asoka halwa etc . we are using strictly pest controls since we need more hygiene standards, so there are no chance here to get any infections sir. i am very much eager to make your stay comfortable in future . This is for your kind information and assuring you a best service in the near feature.thanking you sir .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
16
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Karur, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

A decent Hotel to stay for a short trip. Bit pricey though for the service they offer. Food was not that good, though I liked the "Bread Halwa" for breakfast. If you are but late, parking might be a problem.

Located in the centre of the city and is convienent to travel within the city.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Niranjan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Fully furnished rooms, staffs with helping mentality,good service,, especially their restaurent GOWSIKA -- what a food,,superb, .. We were spend 2 days , room no 311,408&403 we r 11 persons including 2 child ,, we get good service and food.. If i come back to madurai my choice is only SARATHA RAJANS --

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sangeethputhanveetil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

we wanted to stay on the north bank of river vaigai due to the festival in the temple located in south bank.

every thing about this hotel was good.
room and bath room were clean.
bed was clean and well made.
restaurant atmosphere was good.
the complimentary breakfast was nice and sumptuous.
dinner could be better.

the lacation of the hotel was convenient and had good secure parking place.
the shopping and sight seeing places can be easily reached.

over all this a good hotel to stay in madurai for a short stay.

Room Tip: higher floors will have less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margikrishtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

After reading the great reviews for this hotel, we decided to book a night there to do a bit of sight seeing in Madurai. The room was very large and had a flat screen television (if you're into that...we don't really care about t.v.) although it was definitely tired and a bit shabby. The plywood furniture was stained and the bathroom could really use an update. The breakfast was okay - acceptable but nothing to write home about. The location is within 15 minutes walking distance from the Gandhi museum but 3-4 km from the Sri Meenakshi temple meaning a rickshaw ride is necessary to see that part of the city. We were consistently charged 50 INR for the ride (I'm sure it was overpriced) and after making the trip a few times, we realized it would have been better to spend that money on a nicer, more central hotel. One saving point to the hotel is that it is in a quiet area and there is a great restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenAnnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Madurai was the 7th stop of our two-month South-Indian trip, so by now we are used to Indian standards and well adjusted for dissapointment...
But Saratha Rajans was such a welcome surprise! Well over our standard backpacker budget (we payed around 1800 Rs for a nice double room) we certainly never regreted the choice. Apart from the fact that it's a bit far from the centre, everything else was just perfect: excelent breakfast choices, good restaurant, complimentary AC ride to the railway station.
Room was clean and large, huge bed, large clean bathroom. Staff was excellent. Wifi works in the rooms and has good speed.
Me and my wife spent two very relaxing and enjoyable days here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I found this hotel on cleartrip website, saw reviews here on tripadvisor and booked Double Bed AC Deluxe Rooms. Later, we found It was a fantastic choice! Rooms are cozy and service are satisfactory. Breakfast was buffet, complimentary and they prepare variety of dishes in Breakfast. They have in-house veg and non-veg restaurants and quality of foods are ok. The receptionists can arrange for sightseeing and they have their own cars. But hiring their car will be expensive and it will be better to look for other local travel agencies or even hiring a auto-rickshaw may be good decision if you plan to visit the Meenakshi temple and the Thirumalai palace.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AajkerNayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Northgate
Hotel Northgate
#14 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#24 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Golden Park
The Golden Park
#28 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#18 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#35 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saratha Rajans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratha Rajans

Property: Hotel Saratha Rajans
Address: 27, Panagal Road | Shenoy Nagar, Madurai 625020, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saratha Rajans 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saratha rajans offers the ultimate in economy and convenience for visitors. Our hotel is located in the temple city of Madurai at 27, Panagal road, Shenoy nagar. A business class hotel which fulfills all your needs and comforts.We at Hotel Saratha Rajans offer a wide range of personalized services and facilities to help make your stay in Madurai a memorable occassion. It is a place for vacation as well as business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saratha Rajans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing