We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, dated rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Padmam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Padmam
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shabby, dated rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here one night here and found this hotel overpriced for the dated rooms on offer. All the money spent in the last couple of decades on updating the rooms on the hotel seemed to have been spent on the giant flat screen tv. Otherwise, the rooms seemed in need of a paint, mattresses needed replacing (ours had a huge lump that protruded into my back) and refreshing - the smell of cigarette smoke lingered throughout our room.

On the plus side it has a good location a short distance from the Meenakshi temple. Also a staff member(owner?) who was keen and attentive to hear our feedback on our stay. And a good breakfast at the rooftop cafe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramprabhu, General Manager at Hotel Padmam, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your precious time on the review. we are happy on the positive side feedback. we have taken your views on renovation front and have set up a plan on improving. you can expect a better stay on you next visit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    40
    17
    7
See reviews for
43
24
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The only thing this place has going for it is its proximity to the Meenakshi temple -- apart from that, it is quite over-priced (although very clean). You can only get hot water for a couple of hours in the morning (although, given how warm Madurai is even in December, you might not miss it); the "rooftop restaurant" is a joke, as is its supposed view of the temple (you cam make out a couple of towers, but it's not something worth going to the building's terrace for; and the lane the hotel is in had (at least when I visited) a sewage problem -- in stark contrast to others in the vicinity. That being said, if one wants to stay at a 5 minute-walk from the temple (as I did), perhaps one needs to suck it up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Umair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramprabhu, General Manager at Hotel Padmam, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for the feedback. we have taken the point on the roof terrace restaurant and are making necessary steps to improve it. regarding the over priced feeling , it is based on the demand supply equation and competitors. however we have priced it quite reasonably as mentioned by fellow tourist in other reviews. we would like to serve you better in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madurai hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is located right at the heart of madurai, 10min auto distance from the bus stand and temple.Had visited this hotel with my friends.From outside its located on a very dingy road and looks shabby.It is nested within a complex with many shops.During checkin the staff showed me into the wrong room, when i insisted that i had booked and paid for a deluxe double room they then shifted me. The deluxe room was decent with clean bathrooms and a neat bed.It had a balcony with view of the temple.The morning breakfast was quiet tasty.Its walking distance from all major attractions.Good place for business trips and overnight stay.

Room Tip: Dont go for anything below the deluxe double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnkottaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramprabhu, General Manager at Hotel Padmam, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

we thank you for the review. we are highly motivated on your positive feedback and would like to serve you much better on your future visits.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Good Value for money. Lil old and bad location. But compared to price , its nice overall. In the market. Walking distance to meenakshi temple.in te heart of the city. Clean but old fashioned. But thats the catch , u pay too less an get a decent deal

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
5 Thank Naresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramprabhu, General Manager at Hotel Padmam, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your time on the review. the location has improved now as the Thar roads have been replaced with hollow blocks. we would like to serve you on your future trips also.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The room was dark, dirty and noisy. Most of the power outlets didn't work. Hot watet was only available in the morning. The staff kept offering to sell us over-priced bottles of beer. We had breakfast at the roof restaurant and wish we hadn't - the kitchen looked filthy. We were due to spend two nights here but just couldn't bear it so we transfered elsewhere on the second day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramprabhu, General Manager at Hotel Padmam, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

we thank you for your precious time to review our property. we have taken action on the staff on overpriced beer. we do not have a bar in hotel as Madurai is a pilgrim tourism. however staff will get you on the request. liquor shops shut down by 10PM. and that's the reason on the overpriced beer as per the staff who served you.we are taking steps to improve our restaurant. we hope that you stay on the next hotel was pleasant, as we understand how it would feel when we are not happy during a tour.we wish to serve you better on the next trip.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is at the heart of city and walk-able from famous Meenakshi temple. We went there in the days of Deepavali and the place is much crowded. The hotel gave enough help to reach and staff were all helpful and courteous. The approach road to the hotel is narrow and crowded most of the times, but they do have a seperate safe car park. Food was ok, but you may try better outside and hotel was a little aged. Value for money I'd say.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VBijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramprabhu, General Manager at Hotel Padmam, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for spending your precious time in reviewing our hotel. we are highly motivated on your feedback. and would like to keep it up. we have trained our staff based on previous feed-backs and improving our hospitality. we would like to serve you in future also.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guipuzcoa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

It is a very well located hotel but quite noisy, old rooms, dark and not too clean. The stakk is not very helpfull except to get a beer. it is very well located, close to the train station and close to Sri Meenakshi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramprabhu, General Manager at Hotel Padmam, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

we thank you for a honest review. we have taken necessary action on the staff who seemed to be unfriendly. the cleanliness of the room which you stayed is rectified. the city might have been noisy because of the festive season and that's what you can expect in a old and traditional city like Madurai. we would like to serve you again in a better way.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#34 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sree Devi
Hotel Sree Devi
#18 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#7 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
0.1 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#24 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Padmam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Padmam

Property: Hotel Padmam
Address: 1, Perumal Tank West Street | Town Hall Road, Madurai 625001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Padmam 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city and very near to Meenakshi Amman Temple, Thirumalai Naicker palace,Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam, Gandhi museum. The Railway station and Bus station are within walking distance from the hotel. A All rooms and suites have direct dialing telephone facility, color television, attached bathrooms with western style toiletry and running hot and cold water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Padmam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing