We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Cbe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hi frnds,for those of u contemplating which hotel to choose for a short stay with family or on business visit....we can recommend this. This is just 4km to the northern gate of the famous Madurai Meenakshi Temple. ( we recommend you to go by a normal auto or a driver as you might end up in some good traffic.

My hubby and I stayed for two days and one night.We had taken a superior ac room which had a king sized bed,a 21"LCD.Had a study table,mini fridge,an electric kettle,coffee powder,tea bags, sugar,an electronic safe,but had no remote for the AC which was little uncomfortable.

One more thing to add here is that the room was not carpeted, for the money they charge they can surely carpet the room as it helps in holding the privacy of talks right inside your room.

The bathroom was small and the WC was a little lowly placed. There was a bath tub which was a small sized one(may be people who are not below 5'feet would find it apt but for me(5"9 and my hubby 6'2) it was little difficult fitting in.

Just make sure to call them a few hrs before u check in and find out if they have arranged for a king size bed for double occupancy especially if u are travelling with ur wife/hubby/kids. We are suggesting this as when we checked in they offered us a room which had two single cots away from each other and later joined in a lousy way.

After we told them that "is this they way they treat couples", they asked us to wait. So we decided for having our lunch as we were very hungry and asked them to keep our rooms ready in the meantime.....

We went to their restaurant called "AHARAM" which was just opposite to the front desk. Their was a buffet lunch going on which was very sumptuous. The buffet was 749/-rs per person inclusive of all taxes. Their was a large variety of Indian menus and yummy sweet dishes/ it was very good and tasty. Would give them a 4/5 for the food and 4/5 for the hospitality and prompt service.

Finally after lunch they provided us with a room on the third floor with a KING sized bed.

TIP 1: do remember to keep your doors locked as soon as u enter as they can come barging into ur room even before u answer your door.(this happened when we had told them to that we were checking out and this room service girl did not wait for us to answer the door and came barging in) thank god we weren't caught unaware....LOL.......

TIP 2: To save yourself from being disturbed while packing request them to call u on and ask if they can send someone to check you out. (this is generally the procedure in all hotels but some dont follow or remember)


Over all it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Make sure to call them a few hrs before u check in and find out if they have for a king size bed fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraswatiMahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.We also reviewed the area of concern through training and make sure such lapses never occurs.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    252
    76
    15
    10
See reviews for
176
134
40
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

A decent hotel with all the basic facilities. Hotel staffs are good. Morning breakfast menu wide limited but food wise idly is a must try. But the main problem with the hotel is the location which is around 20 km away from the airport. Very difficult to access..Apart from that it would rate as a decent to stay hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Senthil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a transit to Rameshwaram and it is a great hotel.

I had booked it via Agoda. The best thing I liked about the hotel is prompt service. Our every request, from an extra bed to transportation assistance was done in a timely manner with no hassle at all. The staff is very hospitable and always smiling.

Here is what I like best about this hotel:
1. Big Rooms. Big enough that even after putting a full sized extra bed there is enough space to walk around and you wouldn't feel cramped.
2. Extra Bed. Hotel provides a full size single extra bed for an adult, unlike many hotels that have what looks like a baby crib. This bed comes with similar spring mattress as on other bed in the room.
3. Travel assistance. For within city or airport pick-up the cars are decently priced. For outstation, I think the price was a bit too high though, hence we didn't take their car. The cars are clean, stocked with water bottles.
4. Food Quality. From breakfast to lunch and dinner, the quality of food is really nice. Indian food quality is just like at home and was perfect for us who are not fond of overly spiced or greased food.
5. Bathroom. During our second stay, we were provided a Deluxe Room that had a much better and contemporary bathroom as compared to Standard Room earlier. Standard Room had bath-tub and shower combination which I am not really fond of. Deluxe Room, on the other side, has no bath tub and fixtures are new and well maintained.

Hotel also has a pool, health club and ayurvedic spa. I booked myself for an Abhyangam with Steam Bath and it was a really wow massage.

Even though it is not a five star hotel, in terms of service they could compete with any. From offering cold towel on arrival to placing extra towel and soap in room for additional occupancy, everything was so good.

Totally recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaghavY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Sir

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. Feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. Look forward to welcome you again at our hotel on your next visit to madurai.

K.Muraludharan
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms here with 3 persons in each room. The rooms are spacious enough to accomodate an extra bed. The swimming pool was little disappointing as it was not clean. On bringing it to their notice, they cleaned it.
The restaurant at hotel serves complementary breakfast and had good variety of veg-Nonveg items. The lunch also has good spread however found it little expensive (Rs 700 per person).
There are plenty of options for food in Madurai and one should try local restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamirP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

What is good: Food, friendly staff

What is Bad:
Rooms are very small in size and definitely not fit for a family of 3.
Swimming pool cannot be used by children as it was not clean and there is NO BABY POOL ! Huge disappointment Does not give the feel of a relaxed/hotel stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are small irrespective of the price....Was ready to pay higher but was informed - no big r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeritageTripA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear sir,

we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. We do not have family rooms, all rooms are designed for double occupancy .Thanking you for the feedback,We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Muralidharan K
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel has a great restaurant... serving authentic South Indian food...befitting the golden capital of South Indian taste - Madurai!
Good place for business stay..might not be so great for a leisure holiday - as there is not much scenic beauty inside the hotel premises.
The rooms are good.. slightly narrow pathways... not completely acoustically isolated rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nouveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hospitality was par excellence.Was visiting from USA and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel.Better then any motels or inns in US.Staff was always smiling and courteous.Food was excellent.Would like to come and stay for a longer period.Will recommend to family and friends.Thanks for a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchhabra60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
1.0 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
5.5 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#6 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels

Property: Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Address: 38, Madakulam Road | NH7, Palanganatham Signal Junction,, Madurai 625003, India (Formerly GRT Regency)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Madurai
#4 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels is an elegant three star business class hotel with all the facilities for the discerning business traveler as well as the tourists located just a short drive from the exquisitely detailed Madurai Meenakshi Temple, Thirumalai Naickar Mahal and 15 minutes drive away from the airport. Its food and beverage outlets rate amongst the best in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Regency Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing