We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel With Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Hotel With Excellent Service”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

GRT Madurai is a good and clean hotel having very efficient staff providing very prompt service.
Rooms are clean, nice and well kept. Though the location and area surrounding the hotel are not great, but the hotel interiors are immaculate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    260
    78
    15
    10
See reviews for
188
139
42
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I happenend to stay at this Hotel recently and enjoyed to its best with the services provided. Rooms as always good and clean.The Staff - Very kind and always "greet with a smile" which is good see. Tasty and delicious food leads to a reason to visit this hotel time-an-again as it gives you an opportunity start the day with a "heavy breafast" due to its taste and a lot of varities offered.

To make it short, I would recommend to those who would like to have a pleasant & peaceful stay irrespective of business or vacation trips.

Thankyou GRT for giving me an enjoyable stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

the ambience was good. they haven overdone it;). Reception, esp with the scorchin sun outside, was wonderful n much thought has gone into it.. evidently.. the cold towels in eau de cologne, n a welcome chilled non alcoholic beverage. The staff were courteous, the rooms spacious enough. The gym was equipped well, but a lil maintenance could keep it in good stead. I'd forgotten my soap, n it was a horror to c that the complimentary soap box had only air in it. Same story with the comb. Apart from these li'l inconveniences, (which i believe can b improved upon ),however, the short stay was pleasant n relaxing, and a good stress buster. Very transparent billing policy, Overall, felt very welcome and at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyobeinalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is my fifth time to stay at this hotel since 2003 and each time my stay is excellent. The staff is professional and polite, the rooms are very nice and clean with everything you need from A/C to King size bed to a desk are available. Room service is also excellent from having your laundry picked up and delivered back to your room the same day or having a quick breakfast sent up. All with a pleasant smile. The staff at the front desk is also very pleasant and helpful with all your needs. You need not open a door anywhere because it seems there is always someone there opening it for you greeting you with a smile. As you can tell i have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. Also breakfast is free and delicious as all the meals are.

Room Tip: You don't have to bring anything. if it isn't in the room. They will get it for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel has great architecture. Rooms are great as well, having all facilities, except Hindi/ English cable channels (mostly regional channels were all you got to see)
The breakfast buffet was very well stocked and the service was superb. Really enjoyed the stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReluctantTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in a ‘superior king-bed’ room, booked through the website Venere.com. We paid the equivalent of about US$82 (including taxes) per night which I thought was very good value. The price included an excellent buffet breakfast.

The hotel is located a little away from the central area. It is too far to walk (especially in the heat of the day) but a rickshaw only costs INR 50 (US$1). Very cheap. The approach lane to the hotel (about 100 metres in length) is a little off-putting – an above ground roadway is being built above the approach lane and there were piles of rubble everywhere (however once inside the hotel grounds everything is okay). This above ground road is being built very close to the GRT Regency and may pose noise issues as it is being built, and in the future of course when it is in use. While we were at the hotel there were no road works taking place and everything was quiet.

Our room was very good – clean, spacious, king-size bed, writing desk, a double lounge chair, flat screen TV, refrigerator (stocked with water, soft drinks, and beer), a safe, tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was a good size and everything functioned okay - but it was in serious need of a makeover . Complimentary wifi was available in the room and reception was good.
We had one dinner in the hotel’s restaurant. This was a buffet and was excellent with 2 soups, a wide range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes, salads, desserts and fruit. Cost, including taxes, was a very reasonable US$15 per head. A second night we decided less food was appropriate and as we didn’t want to wander around outside we ordered room service. That was also good.

The staff at hotel reception, and other staff in the hotel, were professional and helpful. Sufficient English was spoken so that language was not an issue. We found out the night before we were due to leave Madurai that our flight had been cancelled and the hotel arranged at very short notice, and at reasonable cost, a car to take us to an alternative destination.

We had an extremely pleasant stay at the GRT Regency and wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us. The Bridge near the hotels leads to the village near by , will not have any distrubance the guests.
We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Overall: Would recommend to business travellers for its decent service and free wifi, especially those who are not looking for luxurious excess. If you like your hotels shiny and beds large, look elsewhere.

Pros: Excellent front desk staff, good attitude and extremely helpful. A very good check in experience, was served a cold drink and wet towel upon arrival, demonstrating great empathy for guests. Asked for WiFi for duration of stay, frontdesk jumped through hoops to get it done. Attended to all requests with patience. Autos instantly available at valet counter.
Overall a very good effort from the frontline staff, probably one of the best efforts in Madurai.

Cons: GRT Regency is an old property. You can feel its age just by entering the hotel lobby. Maintenance staff struggle to work with what they have, but a lobby lacking ventilation, yellowing on walls and unpolished marble surfaces detract from the overall experience. Rooms and beds can feel small, especially to well-built individuals. Hotel restaurant food are of a decent quality, but lunch and dinner dining feels overpriced for even simple fare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken. We continue to upgrade the property , the latest upgradtion done at the Multi cuisine resturant "Ahaaram"


We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.7 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#5 of 54 in Madurai
334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels

Property: Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Address: 38, Madakulam Road | NH7, Palanganatham Signal Junction,, Madurai 625003, India (Formerly GRT Regency)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Madurai
#4 Family Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels is an elegant three star business class hotel with all the facilities for the discerning business traveler as well as the tourists located just a short drive from the exquisitely detailed Madurai Meenakshi Temple, Thirumalai Naickar Mahal and 15 minutes drive away from the airport. Its food and beverage outlets rate amongst the best in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Regency Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing